We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view is an obvious draw.”
Review of Shoreline

Shoreline
Ranked #17 of 183 Restaurants in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The view is an obvious draw.”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Its just nice to sit and eat straight forward good food looking out over a beautiful bay. Nothing fancy here but if you want great quality fish and chips or burgers you are in the right place. We seem to often end up here with our boy at the end of an active day. The only nearby alternatives are low quality chain pub type venues.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JMW186260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    192
    94
    46
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Really good place to eat”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

WWe are regulars here, either for just a cuppa, a drink, a snack or a full blown meal. The service is good, prices are very good and the food is very good too with a nice specials board consisting of local fish and meat. I have been a regular for 5 years now and always consider Shoreline as first option for when dining with friends. The view of the sea is absolutely fantastic whatever the weather. Give it a try sometime, I doubt you will be disappointed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Good Value”
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Just arrived home after an excellent family lunch at Shoreline, our first visit for a while. 6 adults and two small children, we were welcomed on arrival and efficiiently shown to our table. The restaurant was extremely busy but service was good throughout. All of the food was very good, well cooked and nicely presented. Three of us had the sunday roast, which really was excellent. Equally good were the other dishes our party ate including the surf and turf and scampi.

All in all a very good dining experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mulhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice food, sometimes a good view”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Nice food with a good selection. Lots of drink choice. depending on where you sit, could be a view of the traffic lights, park or the sea

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank westonracing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bright, spacious with lovely views”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

The beach at Paignton is a busy, interesting space and Shoreline is a lovely place to watch it from. We often go there for a quick lunch or before going to the cinema. The food is tasty and the service is quick. It's not a gastro pub and the menu is limited, but it is highly recommended for light snacks (fish is always on the menu and has been very good and freshly cooked). The interior is big and welcoming and seems to be good for larger groups as well as couples. There's a couple of big squashy sofas on a raised platform in the centre, but otherwise there are no obstructions to detract from a great view from every table. Plus they have daily papers as an added bonus!

Just a note that access is via a flight of stairs so I don't think it would be suitable for disabled persons or buggies.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shoreline also viewed

Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Been to Shoreline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing