We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap Food & Drink”
Review of Isaac Merritt

Isaac Merritt
Ranked #57 of 186 Restaurants in Paignton
Price range: $4 - $16
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed April 30, 2014

It does what it says on the tin, not always the best but price wise what can you expect. The brunch burger is a must and my fave!

Gets busy over a weekend with the pub goers so not always the best if you are wanting food, but this is also to be expected.

Thank Travel_Bugboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
p515, Manager at Isaac Merritt, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Thank you for your comments. We do try our best to ensure customers have a pleasent experience when visiting us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
There are newer reviews for Isaac Merritt
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 153 of 191 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2014

Visting Paignton again so we had a few evening drinks in here (great choice with the International beer Festival running) and also a few meals.

My wife rates the latest salad choice with salmon and I was impressed that the fish & chips offered had fish landed locally at Brixham and was sometimes Haddock instead of the listed Cod. This traceability and local sourcing is to be recommended and I hope it is universal throughout the chain. I had an example of both cod & haddock during my visit and both were very well cooked - as good as I've had in Whitby & Oban at more expensive fish restaurants!

The only downside was that the beer of my choice ran out after one night but there were still plenty of others to try and the staff will always recommend to your taste and give a small sample to ensure you like their recommendation. Always drink in here when we visit Paignton as it is very good value for money and will do likewise when we revisit in October.

Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Been here loads of times, good choice of beers and food, very reasonable prices as with all of the Wetherspoons. never had a bad meal here, pub gets busy at the weekends, seems to be a popular local.

Thank ste451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
p515, Manager at Isaac Merritt, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Thank you for you review.


Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This is a Weatherspoons Pub and I have found it very good value for Food and Beer. Also the beer is kept in god condition

1  Thank DelB0y1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
p515, Manager at Isaac Merritt, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, hope to see you again soon.

Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Can anyone really come up with an original review for a Wetherspoon's pub? You get what you pay for ........... sometimes it can be the best value meal you've ever eaten, the next time you go in you could order the same food and it will be the most uninspiring food on the planet! However, on the plus side I would claim the desserts are exceptional value for money if they have been given long enough to thaw before reaching your table.

1  Thank asid67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
p515, Manager at Isaac Merritt, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Thank you for your review, as always we do strive to provide quality meals and desserts

thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isaac Merritt also viewed

Paignton, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Been to Isaac Merritt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing