We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friday Night Chaos” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ship Inn

Ship Inn
Ranked #89 of 179 Restaurants in Paignton
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Northampton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Friday Night Chaos”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We have been to this pub/restaurant several times when in Paignton and have always enjoyed the food and service, unfortunately this visit didn't meet the standards we have enjoyed in the past.

We arrived at about 8pm on Friday night, the pub was busy, but not over crowded. We were told that there would be a 30-40 minute wait for food so we said that was okay. More than an hour later and after asking the waitress to find out where our dinner was, it arrived. We had the steak and ribs combo. Whilst my steak was cooked as requested, the ribs were almost impossible to eat. Burned and more bone than meat.

We appreciate it was a busy evening, but we were disappointed considering that we had previously eaten there and enjoyed it, hence going there again.

Not sure if we will return now though.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JackieNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    86
    36
    22
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hour wait for food .........”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Visited the Ship inn Paignton for my birthday as a treat by my daughter evening of the 18th sept. Yes she overheard that there was a wait on food, a grumpy bar man told a previous customer. Then they were served by this man who treated them no different, did not seem happy at all !!! My daughter had been here before and told there would be a wait on food but had not waited too long. We thought that the same might apply last night. But in the end it was over an hour !!! Yes the food wasn't too bad when arrived hot etc. although both the burgers were well done. It was food and we were very hungry by this time.We would have stayed for a desert but it was too late and i think the kitchen had closed. Just be warned that if they say there will be await get confirmed how long .... Medal to the poor waiter who was running around like crazy, he certainley earnt his money last night, well done him.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sapael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Birthday meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Went to the ship for my daughters 16th bday meal yesterday excellent food great atmosphere very good value for money

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ajhmint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very nice meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Just eaten at the ship. Lovely meal
and hot. Great service as well. Had steak. My boy had meal for a pound.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank giz0201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Inexpensive, but busy and long queues”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

My family and I dined at the Ship Inn during our recent visit to Paignton. As it's a proper pub, there is not a tremendous amount of seating for families with children, but we managed to find a nice waitress who cleaned off the table for us.

Food orders had to placed at the bar. It was very hectic at the bar, between people just wanting beverages and others wanting to order dinner. It would have been good to have separate queues, rather than having people with beverage orders trying to cut in saying "oh, I just want a beer."

Although we were warned that the food could take up to 45 minutes to arrive, it was there much quicker, and good for the price we paid. My husband and I ordered the special summer cocktails (2 for 5 pounds) which were really not terribly nice, but I guess you get what you pay for!

The next time we are in Paignton, we would likely return, but would try to go at a time when it was less hectic/busy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Holly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ship Inn also viewed

Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Been to Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing