We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Location, location, location”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Paignton, English Riviera, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sue43434
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed May 1, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at High Gables while visiting friends in Paignton for 4 nights. The location of this property is excellent, close to beach, walking distance to shops and overlooks the park. It is a quiet location despite being so close to the railway, good for watching the steam train passing. The apartment was clean and well appointed, modern with all facilities except dishwasher. Needing a little tlc as obviously very popular but very comfortable. The parking space allocated is not obvious it is directly opposite apartment but marked as reserved nursing home. All in all great place and would stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helen a
Abertillery, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cosy and convenient apartment.”
Reviewed November 11, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Although disappointed on arrival to find apartment had not been cleaned, beds changed etc and having to go elsewhere and wait until done, went back to find a lovely clean apartment with high spec finish.
Few minutes walk to beach and convenient for main routes to other nearby towns/beaches etc.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen and living room.
Liked least: The fact that cleaners had not been notified by Blue Chip that we had booked apartment for that weekend
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicky B
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent apartment with amazing views, location location location !”
Reviewed September 27, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just back from a weeks break at this apartment with husband and our 2 children (1 year and 2 years old). We all loved the apartment, very high standard of apartment well worth the 4 stars it's been given.

The location of this apartment cannot be beaten, it's situated on the corner of a quiet lane opposite a free attraction , this being the GWR steam railway line, meaning you get to watch the steam train go by for breakfast lunch or tea depending on when you are in :-) seriously you cannot beat the viewing point being on the top floor of this apartment you look down on the railway line. Don't worry though there are hardly any other trains that pass (we saw 2 in our whole stay) and these are so quiet you don't notice them.

For us we were looking for convenience with having to small children with us, we didn't fancy driving much, staying here you cannot be better situated. Within a 5-10 min walk is:
Very nice beach with amazing rock pools, peddle boats, windsurfing, arcades etc
View of the steam train from the beach
2 restaurants
Boating lake
Wildlife sanctuary with swans and other birds
Very nice park
Play park
Mini quad bikes
Crazy golf
Go karting (in season only)

On arrival we met the owners and they had provided coffee , nice touch :-)

We would love to go back and stay again but it appear very popular and is fully booked so not sure when we will have the chance.

Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth J
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent apartment!”
Reviewed August 23, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have used Blue Chip for our holidays on previous occasions and all of the apartments have been fab, and this was no exception. The location of the property, was tucked at the end of a quiet road looking on to Young's Park, with all beach amenities close to hand. The apartment itself had all we needed for our two week break, and was very much home from home, with a high standard of decor. The private parking spot was very handy. The added bonus was being so close to the steam railway which both our kids loved!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing location.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing