We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of Torbay Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Torbay Court Hotel
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Arrived at the hotel on Friday 22nd March and stayed for 3 nights with GB Tours. First impressions from the outside - looked like it needed some TLC. Our cases were unloaded and taken to our rooms. As we entered the hotel we were given our keys and shown the direction to our rooms. We asked for a room on the first floor or a room near to a lift, also a walk in shower and we were given exactly what we requested.The hotel was a lot better on the inside and looked like it had been refurbished. We had time to unpack, shower and get ready for evening meal. It took us a while to get the right temperature on the shower, but once it was OK it didnt alter. The water was hot in the hand basin too. Our room was quite nice, refurbished and always warm, just what we wanted with the weather being so cold.
There was a choice of starter, main meal and dessert and the food was really nice, Yes, sometimes we had to wait but the staff worked really well and on the second night we all applauded them for doing a good job. We wern't in a hurry to go anywhere and we enjoyed getting to know the people that shared our table, If there was any problems, or if we needed more of something, the staff would do their best to make sure that we were happy.
All the staff that we saw in the hotel were friendly and helpful.
Next comes the entertainment, the first night was 1 game of bingo followed by a Singer/Comedian and he was brilliant. The second night Bingo then a Quiz which went down really well (especially because we won lol). George, the Bingo come quiz master come Barman did a great job. We had to wait halfway through the quiz so that he could serve the drinks but we didnt mind.On the third night was Bingo and another Singer/Comedian who was also really good.
We had a really good weekend and met some lovely people, thanks to everyone in the hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 5 which had the walk in shower. A nice light room with a big bay window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1947Jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 294 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

we have just returned home from the torbay court hotel after spending the weekend there.on the 1st.night it had good service and we had to give our choice of evening meal beforehand.everything went well. the following night was hectic.service was delayed because the chef had forgotten to put the bread rolls in the oven.the food was not of a good standard and the next morning tea and coffee was brought out a long time before orders for food taken.instead of using a tray to bring food out the staff were carrying one dish at a time mostly.we seemed to be lucky with our room but our bus driver was woken up about 3am because paper was falling off the wall.

Room Tip: work is still in progress so I don't think it matters which room.we had 43.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mamgu10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

lovely hotel, currently refurbishing, went on break with GB tours 4th - 8th March, excellent value -- but the service in the dining room was a shambles,no organisation and understaffed,.ran out of orange juice and milk one morning and Salmon ordered for Dinner did not arrive, offered plaice which was very nice but had it the night before!Food was always hot though and as we hadn't anywhere else to go or do there wasn't any problem with it. Staff helpful and friendly. bar a bit on the small side for pre-dinner drinks. Entertainment quite good.No problems with accommodation. Would definitely come again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

My friend and I had a superb hol in Torbay Court Hotel! Excellent food,staff,entertainment,at a superb price.Worth every penny and more! Went with Gibbons coach Holidays TREHARRIS South Wales.Picked up by feeder mini bus in Swansea ,picked up nr Newport in main coach.Really just a cracking Holiday.Sincere thanks to all! Jeff Ripton Swansea

Room Tip: If you are not Happy with arrangements ,See the Manager,Excellent service from all staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeffripton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I were also on the recent GB coach break from 4th-8th March and I was interested to read the review already on the site. As stated, the price charged for this coach trip was exceptional value but the reviewer obviously thought he should have had five-star quality for a budget price!!! Unlike him, my husband and I did eat at the hotel each evening and, yes, there were some problems with the service but we just laughed about it and enjoyed having a good natter and laugh with the people on our table - and the adjacent tables. We didn't hear anyone complaining - in fact, the atmosphere was very good. When the food did arrive, it was very hot and very palatable.

Likewise, the food at breakfast was presented well and when we asked for a variation, there wasn't any problem and the food arrived exactly as we had requested it.

Also our bedroom and shower room were exceptionally clean, and the bed was extremely comfortable.

Alll in all, we had a thoroughly nice stay at the hotel and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again!!

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room with shower and were allocated Room 34. It was quiet unless we opened the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IreneRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The title of this review may seem strange, but I think it is a valid comment. It may help others in choosing future tours or package holidays

My wife and I went to this hotel on a package deal coach tour from GB coach tours based in Birkenhead and Birmingham. The price was hard to believe for the package provided. We paid a mere £119 for a trip to Paignton from North Wales including 4 nightshalf board in a hotel and 3 excoursions. This seems a really good deal, and I must admit, the cost makes it difficult to complain.

However, the hotel was not at all adequate, and there is no way it was a true 3 star. The hotel room was basic, but OK and clean, but the bathroom was poor. It had an electric shower that only delivered 2 temperatures: freezing and scalding.! The correct temperature resulted in a series of useless small drips only.

The dining was a joke, 1 sitting only, at 6.30 PM. This is far too early. We left the dinners completely and dined out at extra cost as we cannot eat so early. After talking to a number of the other guests, we realised that we had done the right thing! The dinner was reported to be a complete shambles, totally disorganised, with some people getting served almost an hour and a half after entering, whilst others were served way before them. I make no comment on the quality of the food other than to say that the people we spoke to said it was reasonable for the cost.

This reported shambles proved to be the case and our experience at breakfast, where the staff although reasonably polite and probably well meaning, were completely overworked because of understaffing and were obviously very inexperienced and untrained. There was no order to the service and as reported by those at dinner, many people were ignored at the expense of others who arrived later. Suffice it to say, that on the final day, even the coach driver was complaining! It seemed to me that there was a complete lack of proper management and supervision.

I am sure that this hotel got the business because it offered the tour operator a price that could not be refused. However, as always, you get what you pay for, and the price obviously reflected the overall poor standards of the hotel. I would have preferred to pay more and have a hotel of an adequate standard. Hence the title of the review.

I am not going into detail regarding the coach tour, as it is not relevant to the hotel. We were not satisfied as it seemed very disorganised regarding the excursions and the timings, but others were, so I suppose it's down to personal preferences. I hope this review helps others to choose a satisfactory package. My advice is to pay a bit more as it's better than wasting money on an unsatisfactory experience.

Room Tip: Don't try, it seems that there are none in this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tony_de2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We had been informed that this hotel was under renovation, and on arrival that our room had been renovated. Arrived by coach to find difficult access, and no car parking space. The trip was to meet up with relatives who would arrive that evening by car. Kerb appeal not good. Plastic flowers in hanging baskets. Hotel looked neglected. Reception area needed updating by at least 40 years. Our bags were to be brought to our rooms 15 mins after our arrival. The door lock was faulty and difficult to operate. The room was small and dark, with only 2 tiny ceiling spotlights.
After 45mins I found that the bags had been left outside the door when I decided to go to Reception to enquire about bedside lamps. I was later told no lamps could be obtained until morning. I told them this was unacceptable and, on returning after dinner, found one outside our bedroom door. Another one appeared next morning, with a broken shade. The double bed was hard and uncomfortable, and the headboard wasn't attached properly. There was a well-stocked tea tray, with kettle, but no plug socket nearby. The kettle had to be put on one of the small bedside cabinets. There was an uncovered wall socket with bare wires showing. There was a new carpet fitted.
Access to bathroom was by sliding door, which hung at a precarious angle, as it did not locate in the lower runner. It was fitted with 2 wobbly door knobs, and afforded no privacy. A brand new shower curtain hung from a rusty rail. Shower was fine if you weren't taller than 5' 6". White toilet seat very loose, fitted to avocado toilet. Bathroom floor stained and looked unclean. Radiator was rusty at the bottom. Whilst partner was in bath a slug began climbing up bath panel, causing her to rapidly evacuate the bathroom before it jumped in with her!
Rigid mealtimes did not prevent delays. Meals were bland. Some food was served raw, namely carrots first evening, sausage last breakfast. This was drawn to the attention of the waiting staff, who weren't that bothered and just said they'd mention it to the kitchen staff. Limited choice of meals. A carvery would have been better, as service was slow.
Entertainment on both evenings was good. Roy Cody and a young female singer.
Overall, we enjoyed our Paignton visit, but the hotel was very disappointing.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KevtheExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
405 reviews
0.7 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
346 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
529 reviews
0.6 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#10 of 17 in Paignton
291 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#3 of 17 in Paignton
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torbay Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torbay Court Hotel

Address: Steartfield Road, Paignton TQ3 2BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Paignton
Price Range: $78 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Torbay Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Torbay Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbay Court Paignton
Torbay Court Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing