We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent surroundings, food and always made very welcome”
Review of The Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Sands Hotel
Ranked #81 of 96 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2010

You are made welcome from the moment you arrive. Food is excellent and plenty of it.
Rooms are Modern and always clean. Great sea views and a few minutes from the town. Lots of places to visit in surraounding area.
Will definately go again soon

Linda & Geoff, Birmingham

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for The Sands Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 108 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2010

if you want the best welcome ever visit THE SANDS Brian,Lorraine & Jonathan are fantastic hosts .We thoroughly enjoyed our four day break it was like visiting your own family, the food and service was exceptional. Rooms were very clean and comfortable , We knew by the other guests that the welcome is extended to everyone. They even helped to celebrate my birthday, you can stay and have a drink in the bar and then just go to bed. Everything is within walking distance so you do not need to use a car once you get there.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

We have just returned home from 3 days spent at The Sands in Paignton. Believe me, you just cannot fault this hotel - the whole place is immaculate, the breakfasts are huge (if you want) and delicious, the location is perfect, everyone who works there is friendly. Brian, Lorraine and Jonathan (NOT forgetting the legendary Scooby!!) are such nice people and really take the trouble to make sure your stay is comfortable and relaxed. Perfection!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaggieWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for a week over the Bank Holiday at the end of May 2010 and we had a fantastic holiday. The breakfasts were lovely (very filling & tasty and we loved the coffee as well); the room was great, very clean & spacious, nice sized lovely clean bathroom and a fantastic view across the bay. Brian & Lorraine are lovely people, very friendly, always ready for a chat, and the nice thing was they treated all their guests the same (different to other hotels we have been to). The next time we are in the English Riviera we will definitely be visiting this hotel again and would recommend it to anyone, go and stay there you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maxine31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2010

We have just returned from The sands hotel in Paignton which we stayed for 10 nights as we found that 5 nights was simply not enough. The reason being our luggage was carried to our room by the propitier, the rooms were immaculate and the breakfast was outstanding whether you went for a continental or a full English. And the fully licensed bar was not only fully stocked but it was also very good value.
We know that Brian and Lorraine and their son Johnathan have been running this guest house for a considerable amount of time, their knowledge of the area and things to do for all ages is priceless due to their amount of repeat custom , we are able to relax in the evening, swap stories and ideas with other guests for our next days entertainment, therefore we highly recommend if holidaying in Paignton if there is any rooms available. then stop at the Sands Hotel, sands road, Paignton.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mellymelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2009

I have to agree with what everyone else has said here fantastic hotel, clean, tidy and spacious rooms, friendly owners can’t say a bad word. Hotel is close to the beach in fact if it was any closer you’d be on the beach its self and if you are lucky enough to get a sea view the views are fantastic.

The area around the hotel is very clean and tidy and there is no noise during the night, everything is close to the hotel by foot and the harbour is 5 minutes walk around the corner should you wish to go on any trips. We chose this hotel after searching the internet for ages and emailing some local hotels, only one other hotel other than this one got back to us and they cost more and couldn’t accommodate the days we wanted e.g. Sunday-Sunday as they only did the standard Mon-Fri and Sat-Sat.

Brian & Lorraine the owners within reason will accommodate any day/s you want which you can’t get better than that.

The only downside was for me was they don't do a credit/debit card payment to pay for the room and only accept cash or cheque, maybe to keep costs down as they were one of the cheapest hotels around but maybe in the future they will get this up and running.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gavin-Maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2009

We have just returned from paignton from the bikers weekend where we stayed at the Sands Hotel for 2 nights... The service was fantastic that we recieved the hotel was clean and the full English breakfast was everything you could wish for we would highly recommend staying here and will be booking again next year without a doubt ....

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLW_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.3 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
340 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#3 of 17 in Paignton
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 17 in Paignton
288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
518 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Torland Hotel
The Torland Hotel
#15 of 17 in Paignton
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands Hotel

Address: 32 Sands Road, Paignton TQ4 6EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range: $89 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sands Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sands ideally located in magnificent position on Paignton Seafront just a few yards from the beach, green and harbour, and only a short level walk to the town centre. Efficently run in a friendly manner. We have gained a reputation in ensuring everyone is made to feel welcome and relaxed during their staywith us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing