We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home”
Review of The Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sands Hotel
Ranked #87 of 97 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Have just come back from a weeks holiday at the sands hotel and we wish we were still there everyone is so friendly and nothing was to much trouble it was like home from home the breakfasts were fantastic they really filled you up .The hotel is spotless and very friendly the guests are regulars each year and we had a great time carnt wait to go next year made some great friends would recommend this hotel to everyone xx

Room Tip: we had a downstairs room and it was very very nice no complaints at all .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 111 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed here for one week the rooms were a good size and very clean and tidy we had a great view of the sea from our room.The Hotel was in a great location close to the Harbour and sea front and only a few minutes walk to the town. Brian, Lorraine and Jonathan were all very friendly and made us feel very welcome. The breakfast was excellent and very filling whatever you wanted for breakfast they did for you without a fuss a definate 10/10. We would highly recommend staying at the Sands Hotel, we will definately be going back there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnandLindaFleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Brian Lorraine and Jonathan (and not forgetting Scooby!) Thank-you for playing a big part in our wonderful holiday in Paignton!
Between us we occupied six rooms, all beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean, three with spectacular sea views!
The breakfasts were delicious and the service impeccable.
A top quality family run small hotel where you definitely arrive as guests and leave as friends!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smiley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last year and had a great holiday and booked again for this year. We were told to confirm after Christmas which we did and asked if we were to send a deposit. We were told that we didn't need to asking as we were defiantly going. We said we were and that nothing could stop us but how wrong we were. My wife emailed the hotel in may to ask them something only to get an email back saying they had let our rooms go because we had not paid a deposit. We emailed again explaining we were told we didn't need to but we have not had any reply. Not even an offer of help trying to find a new hotel which at this time of the year looking for two rooms is proving to be impossible so it looks like our summer holiday this year is not going to happen thanks to the sands hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mjb2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRIAN H, Owner at The Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Yes the wife did ring in January we did discuss a deposit and she asked if it would be alright for her husband to send money now and again so they didn't have to pay a large amount when they came for their holiday which I agreed to, no money arrived by May so I let the rooms go. I did offer them alternative dates which they declined, if they had asked me I would have given them the numbers
of several hotels but they did not ask for any. I am sorry they feel let down but we do have a business to run and the reason we take deposits are to secure the rooms. At least they had no bad things to say about their stay with us last year or they would not have wanted to come back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Me and Mom just got back from our annual visit to The Sands in Paignton.
As ever, made to feel so welcome by everyone (including the dog) and we
both had such a relaxing time.
The whole place functions so smoothly there is absolutely no hassle or
stress whatsoever when you stay here.
Had a room with a sea view this time and it was fabulous, can see right
across the bay to Torquay and beyond.
The breakfasts are hot-cooked fresh to order and plentiful too,excellent.
I cannot praise this place enough, I would recommend it to anyone
without hesitation and did I mention its spotlessly clean everywhere.
Finally, the bar on an evening is a lovely place to chill out and relax
with a few drinks in a very relaxed atmosphere having a laugh and a
joke and a quiz or too !
Thanks to ALL the team here for making us feel so welcome, its very
much appreciated by both of us.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room-IF you are luckily enough to get one you will enjoy the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have stayed at the sands for many years and we have been made very welcome by brian, lorraine and jonathan they are very accommodating always ready to please and are very sociable with guests and have a Good variety of choice for breakfast including porridge. The rooms are spotlessly clean and homely. Very close to beach and all amenities can't wait to go back soon. Alan and shirley

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reverened s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This is the second time my wife and i have stayed at the sands and it wont be the last, we took some friends this time they had the same opinion as us simply the best. All of the reviews speak volumes for the hosts Brian, Lorraine and Jonathan not forgetting Scooby, we intend making another visit next year. If you like a good English Breakfast this is the Hotet to stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brianthornension
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
0.7 mi away
Rosslyn Hotel
Rosslyn Hotel
#13 of 17 in Paignton
77 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#3 of 17 in Paignton
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#10 of 17 in Paignton
299 reviews
1 mi away
The Torbay Sands Hotel
The Torbay Sands Hotel
#21 of 97 in Paignton
146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cleve Court Hotel
Cleve Court Hotel
#31 of 97 in Paignton
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands Hotel

Address: 32 Sands Road, Paignton TQ4 6EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range: $75 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sands Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sands ideally located in magnificent position on Paignton Seafront just a few yards from the beach, green and harbour, and only a short level walk to the town centre. Efficently run in a friendly manner. We have gained a reputation in ensuring everyone is made to feel welcome and relaxed during their staywith us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms and Booking.com so you can book your The Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing