We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast but noisy”
Review of Rosslyn Hotel

Rosslyn Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rosslyn Hotel
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is a only a basic hotel but at only £39.95 for B&B for two people we were happy. The breakfast was well cooked and you could have cereal, full english and toast along with orange juice, tea and coffee. Cliff who dealt with breakfast was very friendly and got us gluten free bread especially for our dietry requirements and gave us what was left over to take home with us (though he didn't get it in time for our first morning). The rooms were quite a good size as well.

The rooms were very warm, which we liked, though you could open the window if you wanted. There was possible parking for 5 cars in total which was good. It would have been nice to have an info pack in the room with things like check-out time etc in it.

Downsides are a VERY hard and quite uncomfortable bed and the lady of the establishment seemed quite abrupt, as though we were disturbing her. We weren't even allowed to put our suitcases in our room until we had paid the balance of our stay though I asked her if we could - not what we wanted after a 5hr journey. She also didn't volunteer that there was parking around the back of the hotel, I just happened to notice at the bottom of the hotel sign it said there was some and asked. I had already mentioned about the fact there was no more parking out the front but she seemed more interested in getting back to watching the TV.

The pipework was very noisy as were the toilets, which have a masserator, and we were woken by the noise several times during the night. There was no chair in the room which was a shame and the lighting was not good for looking in the mirror.

Breakfast is from 8.30-9.30am though you had to be in the room by 9.00am.

A nice hotel but shame about the beds and noise, though out friend who also stayed there said it was quiter on the top floor.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AreWeThereYetNowThen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 77 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

Booked two nights at the rosslyn we were greeted with a cash up front approach and then given room keys without being shown the room struggled up the steep staircase on the worn out mismatched carpet with our luggage not a good start we stayed in room 10 which on first impression was good but hold on what's that noise oh it's a railway line running regular trains past the window so we went out for our evening meal on return our car had been blocked in by a van who's owner seemed to have vanished so we could not go out to explore the area so back to our room it is for a coffee but no the kettle only warmed up not boiled and no milk supplied so ok in morn went for breakfast only because we had pre paid no choice child's portion so called full English lol needless to say we left on that day and will not return

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Powlly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Clean comfortable room, very spacious, the ensuite in room 10 was big enough. Plenty of amenities. The breakfast was great. Great hosts, cliff is a real character. Would use again. Try the Torbay Thai near by for a great meal

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nat-Max-Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This B&B is situated at the end of a 'no through road'. We had a large room at the front of the house with 3 beds.The en-suite was very small, but adequate. Sink was in the bedroom. Tea and coffee facilities. Excellent full English breakfast cooked to order. Good value.

Room Tip: Front room - there is a railway line quiet near but it did not interupt our sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is a good value hotel The owners are friendly,
We slept well as the bed was very comfortable, the room nice and dark and in a quiet location. You could hear some noise in the morning from the train and adjoining rooms but it wasn't a problem.
The shower/toilet cubicle is compact and the sink is in the bedroom area. Shower gel and shampoo are provided. It would be really good if wipes and hand gel were also provided, Therefore my tip would be to bring your own.
The full English breakfast was of a good standard.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Letsgetgoing8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Myself and my family stayed for 2 nights taking 6 rooms and no one had any sleep,the plumbing can be heard in the rooms from other rooms.The onsuite are the smallest i have ever seen and need updating.The trains can be heard as they are so close by.You can also hear the owners in there own part of the house.We have never stayed in such a noisy place.We had to pay in full before we were given our keys and shown the rooms..

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brown57262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Positives Room very clean, reasonable space, owners very nice and very good service. Negative ensuite bathroom is extremely small. But overall fairly priced would visit again but would use a standard room.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slarkin89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
0.3 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#10 of 17 in Paignton
299 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Torland Hotel
The Torland Hotel
#17 of 17 in Paignton
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Torbay Court Hotel
Torbay Court Hotel
#16 of 17 in Paignton
298 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
555 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#3 of 17 in Paignton
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosslyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosslyn Hotel

Address: 16 Colin Road, Paignton TQ3 2NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Price Range: $51 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosslyn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rosslyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosslyn Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing