We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel of excellence” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonachan House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sonachan House
Ranked #9 of 100 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kendal, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hotel of excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

I have been staying at Sonachan house hotel for a number of years now I always enjoy my stay there Julie & Tony always make me feel very welcome their breakfasts are the best I recommend anyone to go and stay there you wont want to leave.
This stay was my best ever.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    18
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
72
53
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We all had a beautiful holiday while staying with you, we were made to feel very welcome and the hotel was beautifully presented. the room was very clean and comfortable and the breakfasts were to everyone's taste.The icing on the cake for Isabelle(aged 6) was to play with the Guinea Pigs, where William (aged 9) was in charge of marking the board whether we were in or out.

Room Tip: We had a family room on the first floor which accommodated 2 adults and 2 children very comfortably
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We are definitely positive about the whole stay and especially the friendliness of the hosts (showing us a map, the way they took care of us at breakfast, etc.).
We will certainly go there again when in Paignton.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdmuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

A very relaxing and quiet few days. Nice location with lots to see and do. We felt very safe while we were there.Julie and Tony were amazing hosts, felt quite at home. I will be recommending this B&B to all my friends and family and will be going back next year.

Cleanliness and the service was first class.

Room Tip: It is a quiet location and the rooms are standard size to suit any family needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny68uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Located at the top of the headland between the two main beach areas in Paignton, Sonachan House is well positioned for those wanting the 'family' appeal of Paignton Sands, or the slightly slower atmosphere at Goodrington Sands. It's a great base for touring the area, but you need to be aware that if you want to tour west of Dartmouth then you'll have to either take the vehicle ferry across the River Dart at Dartmouth, or drive around the estuary via Totnes. Parking is in marked bays behind the house up a short, steepish driveway. Not a problem unless you are exceptionally nervous. (If you are a nervous driver then beware the very narrow twisty roads off every main road in this area!! Quite challenging if you are not used to them.) Adjacent to the car park was a very pleasant decked area which was illuminated at night.
We received a wonderfully warm welcome on our arrival and were offered tea or coffee and provided with hints and tips about where to go and where to eat before being shown to our room. Room 10 is on the top floor and may be a bit of a struggle for the infirm, but the view over Torbay from the large window was very impressive. (There are plenty of other rooms on lower floors.) The room was spotlessly clean and decorated in a light but traditional style. A flat-screen TV, two easy-chairs, tea/coffee making facilities, plenty of drawers, a wardrobe and complimentary fizzy and still mineral waters were all provided. The bed was soft, but comfortable, with all the linen and pillows smelling fresh and clean. The shower room was small, but more than adequate. It contained a modern electric shower in a pristine enclosure, basin and toilet. All were spotlessly clean. The shower took some time to drain when in use, but this was no inconvenience. Small bottles of shampoo, shower-gel and hand-cream were to hand. Breakfast is served only between 8.30am and 9.00am, but this limited time proved to be absolutely fine. All B & Bs have similar arrangements. The breakfast menu ran to two pages and included the standard 'Full English' which really set you up for the day. You could have all sorts of variations including an egg on toasted muffin with sauce, toast, cereals and home-made marmalades. This was all served in a light and airy dining room which was just starting to show signs of regular use in one or two places, although again it was very clean and tidy. Service was with a genuine smile! In the corner of the dining room was a small bar from which the owner served a range of drinks in the evening. There appeared to be a lounge area, but we were always out and never used it, so cannot comment. We ate at 'TJs' overlooking the harbour on two of our four evenings. This is 10/15 minutes walk from Sonachan House. They serve tapas and more substantial meals from a building which looks very plain indeed from the outside. However, the atmosphere was very friendly, the food was lovely and the view on a warm evening over the harbour from the veranda , with Torbay beyond, is very relaxing. In summary, you'd be hard-pushed to be disappointed with Sonachan House. The owners take real pride in what they are doing. Their Trip Advisor score is displayed prominently at Reception, along with a variety of awards. The rooms contain 'Feedback' forms for completion at the end of your stay. A lovely four days.

Room Tip: Room 10 is a bit of a climb up the stairs, but has beautiful views over Torbay. I'm well over 50...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We have been regular visitors for the past 10 years! Always made very welcome, the guest house is spotlessly clean and well run by Julie and Tony. Excellent for families as well as adults only. Highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We have stayed at the sonachan on many occasions and the rooms (stayed in most), food and hosts are first class. the bar is also very well stocked if you don't want to venture out too late in the evening. Just in case she posts don't listen to the bitter good doctor who tried to blag a single into a double at a single price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andycobbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.0 mi away
Two Beaches
Two Beaches
#1 of 100 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Belle Dene Guest House
Belle Dene Guest House
#4 of 100 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beecroft Lodge
Beecroft Lodge
#6 of 100 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Waters Lodge
Blue Waters Lodge
#2 of 100 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonachan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonachan House

Property: Sonachan House
Address: 35 St. Andrews Road, Paignton TQ4 6HA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonachan House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, friendly, licensed Guest House ideally situated for the numerous attractions of Paignton, including the beach, pier, multiplex cinema, crazy golf, harbour, the green, Torbay Leisure Centre and Paignton & Dartmouth Steam Railway. Goodrington beach is a short walk away where you will find Quaywest Water Park and many other water attractions. We have 9 en-suite bedrooms all of which have beverage tray, TV, clock radio & hairdryer. We have a bar where you can relax with a drink and/or join in the games and quizzes that we organize. Guests are welcome to enjoy our gardens where you can relax and take in the peace & quiet while you have a pot of tea or something stronger! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Sonachan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonachan House Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing