We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly home from home”
Review of Sonachan House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sonachan House
Ranked #6 of 97 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Received a very warm welcome. The atmosphere is very relaxed and friendly and the hosts go out of their way to make the stay really special. The hotel has a good quiet location and is very clean, comfortable and offers all possible facilities. Breakfast is a gourmet treat! I heartily recommend this hotel which is outstanding value.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David4630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 245 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

Once again we had a wonderful stay at this hotel. We stayed 5 nights half board. Would recommend to anyone wanting to stay in Paignton. Just a short stroll from both Paignton and Goodrington beaches.

Julie and Tony are great hosts and offer a warm welcome and tea and biscuits upon arrival.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJSSESDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonySmyth, Owner at Sonachan House, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thanks for a lovely review - it was great to see you both again. Look forward to a return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Loved it here very nice short break would definitely recommend to any body, couples elderly, families. Location is very good five minutes walk from goodrington sands .
Will be staying here again, thanks Tony-Julie.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ballard1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at Sonachan House for 3 nights, family of 4 and mother-in-law in a single. We had no problems and were very pleased with our rooms and facilities. Wonderful breakfasts and a good location into town. Thinking of returning to Paignton if we get a summer this year, and Sonachan House will be the first place we try when booking.

Room Tip: Great view of the bay from Room 9!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaG939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We spent three nights for valentine get-away and wished we stayed longer. Good food and hospitality, we found no faults during our stay and will be back again for frequent visits. We enjoy Paignton so much and could not stay at usual choice - which we called our "second home"- as under new management alterations not suitable, so we are very pleased to have discovered another "second home" in Sonachan House! We highly recommend you visit yourselves, to experience the perfect place to stay as we did. Located on quiet hill near train station, no noise, about 10 mins walk for beach and shops etc.P

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We spent 4 nights at Sonachan House and couldn't really fault it. The room was a little small but everything else about Sonachan more than made up for this. Julie and Tony were the best hosts,, so friendly and helpful. They couldn't do enough for us. I don't think we've stayed anywhere else where the room was so clean, bright and sunny with emphasis on clean, which is really important. The breakfasts were fantastic. Being within walking distance to the town of Paignton was a real bonus. We left the car and walked most times. Thank you Julie and Tony for your hospitality. We certainly would stay again if travelling in the UK.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We only stayed for one night, but felt very welcome. Our host had a lot of good suggestions for activities and where to get dinner. From the B&B, it's only a short walk to Paignton beach and harbour.

The rooms were a bit small but comfortable and clean. Breakfast was good and plentiful.

A very nice place to stay in Paignton!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxBlasto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.5 mi away
Belle Dene Guest House
Belle Dene Guest House
#2 of 97 in Paignton
249 reviews
0 mi away
Two Beaches
Two Beaches
#1 of 97 in Paignton
287 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Waters Lodge
Blue Waters Lodge
#3 of 97 in Paignton
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.9 mi away
Rosslyn Hotel
Rosslyn Hotel
#12 of 17 in Paignton
77 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton South - Brixham Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonachan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonachan House

Address: 35 St. Andrews Road, Paignton TQ4 6HA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range: $84 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonachan House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, friendly, licensed Guest House ideally situated for the numerous attractions of Paignton, including the beach, pier, multiplex cinema, crazy golf, harbour, the green, Torbay Leisure Centre and Paignton & Dartmouth Steam Railway. Goodrington beach is a short walk away where you will find Quaywest Water Park and many other water attractions. We have 9 en-suite bedrooms all of which have beverage tray, TV, clock radio & hairdryer. We have a bar where you can relax with a drink and/or join in the games and quizzes that we organize. Guests are welcome to enjoy our gardens where you can relax and take in the peace & quiet while you have a pot of tea or something stronger! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Sonachan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonachan House Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing