We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good midweek break”
Review of Bella Vista

Bella Vista
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bella Vista
Ranked #52 of 96 Paignton B&B and Inns
Willenhall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good midweek break”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

stayed 3 nights tues 28th to friday 31st May,excellent location 100yds from the prom right behind the spinning wheel pub,free parking on the grass is an absolute god send.room was spacious enough for two adults and a teenager compact and spotless en suite and flat screen tv,tea and coffee making facilities.breakfast was excellent cereals and the full english served at 8.30 but not a problem as you then have a full day to enjoy.all in all very enjoyable and reasonably priced and would definately return in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    19
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
10
25
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Visited Paignton for a long weekend and stayed here for 2 night in September. Location was great, very close to the promenade so you could go out and eat and then walk along the promenade in the evening. We booked a double room which was located on the top floor. (For Information, there are no elevators so may be an issue for anyone who cannot manage stairs). We were greeted by Jackie who showed us where to park - a grass area outside the front of the B&B. Our room was overlooking the front of the B&B. The room had a double bed, ensuite (Toilet/Shower and Sink), small table, wardrobe, chairs, tv which coffee/tea making facilities. Room was small but very clean and perfect for our requirements. Jackie showed us the breakfast menu on our arrival and took our orders for the following morning - alot of choice - cereal, juice, tea/coffee, full cooked breakfast. Breakfast is served at 8.30 each morning by Jackie and each room has their own allocated table in the dining area which is great. We ordered the full cooked breakfast and it was lovely and a great start to the day. There is extra tea/coffee/biscuits available with a donation box on the second floor if required. We had a very good stay. The B&B does sit in a square with a number of other B&Bs, it was a warm weekend so we had the window open during the night and there was some noise from people coming back late to the other B&Bs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sh432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Wife and I stayed 14th-15th September I arrived late in the evening but our host Jackie was awaiting my arrival showed me were to park and gave me a great welcome. The B&B is ideally situated close enough to everything but far enough away as to not be bothered by the hustle. Room was well appointed and clean with tea and coffee with extra for a small charge. The patio area located at the front was a nice way to round off the day chatting with the other guests and swapping the days stories. I would recommend a stay here as the breakfast makes up for some other little things that may put you off.

Room Tip: First floor front as its a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Splinter42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The Bella Vista is located very near to the beach and shops but is also very near to a pub and a night club. Our room looked out over the pub car park and it was extremely noisy until about 3am. The room and en suite were clean. We were asked what we wanted for breakfast as we booked in and were told that it would be served at 8,30am - absolutely no flexibiliy so no chance of a lie in. The full English was served luke warm (probably due to the fact that everyone has to have breakfast at the same time) and I had 3 hairs mixed in with my bacon. The cornflakes were already in bowls on our table and were not very fresh and the milk was not cold. There were also slices of bread on the table uncovered. We were booked in for two nights but only stayed one We regularly stay at B & Bs but, unfortunately, this won't be one that we will return to.

Room Tip: Room 5 looks out over pub car park and is very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucestershire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

It was a late booking and I had a lot of trouble locating accomodation as i required a triple room, thankfully Bella Vista had availability. The best aspect was without doubt the location, literaly just behind the sea front and parallel to the main tourist drag which led onto the shopping area. The free parking was also a blessing, and perfectly adequate on the grassed area in front of Bella Vista.
Intial impressions of Bella Vista however werent that good, when we first entered there was a funny smell (dog, old smoke, damp musty??) in the entrance hallway which we remarked on each time we entered, but thankfully this deminished as you ventured upto the rooms. Our room itself was just as pictured and was beautifully clean, spacious and comfortable, yes the ensuite was tiny but spotlessy clean and more than adequate for three females to share. only small gripe was the towels, mis matched and showing their age but again clean and softish.

Above gripes were minor and no way impacted on the enjoyment of our stay but what really did worry me was a safety issue. We were right at the top of the house (two flights of steep stairs) and imediately outside our room was a fire door, i didnt notice it the first night as it was wedged open, but the secound night i saw the sign on it "fire door, keep shut at all times" so i moved the wedge and shut the door. After all it was there for a reason and obviously should anything untoward occur during the night we wouldnt have a chance of getting down two flights of stairs to the front door. Next morning i woke to find the door wedged open again! who and why they opened it i dont know but i can only say its there for a reason and should therefore be used properly!!

Jacquis hospitality cant be faulted, and her breakfast rocks, excellent price for an excellent B and B in a perfect location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glosflamingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in a double room over bank holiday and was very reasonable on price, very well kept and looked after from the outside and in! Jackie the owner was lovely, really friendly and helpful. Hotel was clean throughout, Room was clean, spacious.. fresh clean sheets and towels. en-suite was also spacious and powerful shower, comfy bed. Great location, near enough on the sea front. Breakfast was really nice, we had cereal and full english, tea/coffee, juice and toast. We managed to see into a couple of the single rooms in the hotel too and they both looked comfy and spacious too. Plenty leaflets available for local attractions. Minor issue was parking, there is limited space outside the hotel - there is grass however it had been raining very heavily the week before we went so was very muddy/large puddles so we couldnt park there. There are all day car parks near by, £5 for the day and then you can move to the side bays after 6pm overnight for free which we did and had no problems.

Overall would recommend this hotel and would definately go back :-)

Room Tip: Try and reserve parking space before you go, if not there are plenty places around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunlove06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUTTON,SURREY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

I chose this B&B based on Price, location, and Parking, and it was great on all three counts.
I doubt it could be beaten in Paignton on value for money, the single room was not huge but entirely practical for my needs for one night. Parking was off road and right outside the front door - perfect! I was welcomed by the host, and enjoyed a pleasant sleep on a comfortable bed. Tea & Cofee facilities as you would expect and a superb small flat screen telly in the room.
Breakfast was server in a very pleasant breakfast room, with a choice becoming a 4 star hotel! After my cereals and juice I had a freshly cooked Full English, with a pot of tea (& hot water) and toast marmalade/jam. First class.
The host assisted me with my onward travel plans, and I plan to return here again when I can.

Room Tip: Smaller rooms are on first floor I believe, so maybe additional stairs to family rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DILLY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.4 mi away
Rosslyn Hotel
Rosslyn Hotel
#12 of 17 in Paignton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brampton Guesthouse
Brampton Guesthouse
#31 of 96 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barclay Guest Houses
Barclay Guest Houses
#80 of 96 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blue Waters Lodge
Blue Waters Lodge
#2 of 96 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bronte Hotel
Bronte Hotel
#67 of 96 in Paignton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dalehurst Guest House
Dalehurst Guest House
#43 of 96 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista

Property: Bella Vista
Address: 5 Berry Square | Kernou Road, Paignton TQ4 6AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bella Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bella Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing