We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the hotel for you if you want a lie in”
Review of Bella Vista

Bella Vista
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bella Vista
Ranked #50 of 96 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not the hotel for you if you want a lie in”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The Bella Vista is located very near to the beach and shops but is also very near to a pub and a night club. Our room looked out over the pub car park and it was extremely noisy until about 3am. The room and en suite were clean. We were asked what we wanted for breakfast as we booked in and were told that it would be served at 8,30am - absolutely no flexibiliy so no chance of a lie in. The full English was served luke warm (probably due to the fact that everyone has to have breakfast at the same time) and I had 3 hairs mixed in with my bacon. The cornflakes were already in bowls on our table and were not very fresh and the milk was not cold. There were also slices of bread on the table uncovered. We were booked in for two nights but only stayed one We regularly stay at B & Bs but, unfortunately, this won't be one that we will return to.

Room Tip: Room 5 looks out over pub car park and is very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    19
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
12
26
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
gloucestershire
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

It was a late booking and I had a lot of trouble locating accomodation as i required a triple room, thankfully Bella Vista had availability. The best aspect was without doubt the location, literaly just behind the sea front and parallel to the main tourist drag which led onto the shopping area. The free parking was also a blessing, and perfectly adequate on the grassed area in front of Bella Vista.
Intial impressions of Bella Vista however werent that good, when we first entered there was a funny smell (dog, old smoke, damp musty??) in the entrance hallway which we remarked on each time we entered, but thankfully this deminished as you ventured upto the rooms. Our room itself was just as pictured and was beautifully clean, spacious and comfortable, yes the ensuite was tiny but spotlessy clean and more than adequate for three females to share. only small gripe was the towels, mis matched and showing their age but again clean and softish.

Above gripes were minor and no way impacted on the enjoyment of our stay but what really did worry me was a safety issue. We were right at the top of the house (two flights of steep stairs) and imediately outside our room was a fire door, i didnt notice it the first night as it was wedged open, but the secound night i saw the sign on it "fire door, keep shut at all times" so i moved the wedge and shut the door. After all it was there for a reason and obviously should anything untoward occur during the night we wouldnt have a chance of getting down two flights of stairs to the front door. Next morning i woke to find the door wedged open again! who and why they opened it i dont know but i can only say its there for a reason and should therefore be used properly!!

Jacquis hospitality cant be faulted, and her breakfast rocks, excellent price for an excellent B and B in a perfect location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glosflamingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in a double room over bank holiday and was very reasonable on price, very well kept and looked after from the outside and in! Jackie the owner was lovely, really friendly and helpful. Hotel was clean throughout, Room was clean, spacious.. fresh clean sheets and towels. en-suite was also spacious and powerful shower, comfy bed. Great location, near enough on the sea front. Breakfast was really nice, we had cereal and full english, tea/coffee, juice and toast. We managed to see into a couple of the single rooms in the hotel too and they both looked comfy and spacious too. Plenty leaflets available for local attractions. Minor issue was parking, there is limited space outside the hotel - there is grass however it had been raining very heavily the week before we went so was very muddy/large puddles so we couldnt park there. There are all day car parks near by, £5 for the day and then you can move to the side bays after 6pm overnight for free which we did and had no problems.

Overall would recommend this hotel and would definately go back :-)

Room Tip: Try and reserve parking space before you go, if not there are plenty places around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunlove06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUTTON,SURREY
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

I chose this B&B based on Price, location, and Parking, and it was great on all three counts.
I doubt it could be beaten in Paignton on value for money, the single room was not huge but entirely practical for my needs for one night. Parking was off road and right outside the front door - perfect! I was welcomed by the host, and enjoyed a pleasant sleep on a comfortable bed. Tea & Cofee facilities as you would expect and a superb small flat screen telly in the room.
Breakfast was server in a very pleasant breakfast room, with a choice becoming a 4 star hotel! After my cereals and juice I had a freshly cooked Full English, with a pot of tea (& hot water) and toast marmalade/jam. First class.
The host assisted me with my onward travel plans, and I plan to return here again when I can.

Room Tip: Smaller rooms are on first floor I believe, so maybe additional stairs to family rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DILLY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We're a young couple & stayed at this b&b recently. We found everything about it perfect. Location was excellent as everything you could possibly need is a stones throw away. The owner was very friendly and welcoming, Breakfast was delicious, price was reasonable, room was clean, bed was incredibly comfortable so had great nights sleep. I seriously could not fault a thing!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bristolzoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

lovely hotel, the owner was very helpful, and very friendly. lovely welcome when we got to the hotel. the room was very clean, comfortable and en-suite. the car was parked on a patch of grass outside the hotel, which was quite solid and didn't resemble a muddy field as suggested in other reviews. there was a padlocked chain across the opening and the car was visible from the room. were given a key to the padlock, but had no need to move the car once parked up as the hotel was in an ideal location for a 2 minute walk to sea front, entertainment, restaurants shopping etc, also train station and public transport. the breakfast was at 8.30am, which was not a problem, had it have been 6.30 this wouldn't have been a problem, but wouldn't be fair to expect jackie to start cooking at 6.30 and still be cooking at 9.30-10 for people who want to lie in!!!!! she served 11 people at once and recieved no complaints from any of us only that we couldn't eat much more lol, due to the fact we had, orange juice, pot of coffee pot of tea, from which my husband drank 3 cups, full english breakfast, with toast (breakfast was 2 bacon, 1 sausage 1 egg, beans, mushrooms, a whole fried tomato, fried bread) also bread, butter, jam and marmalade, which from any cafe, would have cost at least £10-£15, and was also asked if we wanted any more toast, the breakfast was served toeveryone piping hot, for which jackie deserved some credit. our room was at the top of a second staircase, which was not a problem, had either me or my husband had a problem with stairs, we would have asked about this before booking the room. there was tea and coffee in the room, which we drank straight away after a 3 hour drive. on the top of the fist set of stairs, were extra tea, coffee, sugar, milk and biscuits, alongside what i would describe as, an honesty box, from which we had 2 satchets of tea with 2 tea bags in each, 2 satchets of milk, a cappachino, sugars and 2 finger kitkats, to which i left a £1. i would imagine that the owners of the hotel would have to pay for these, so did not see any problem with this small charge. an alternative would have been to walk to a local cafe, which would have cost us more. all this above has cost us around £50, which after stopping in several hotels, we consider excellent value. we searched for quite a few hours for an hotel on the internet, the average price was around £85, one of these hotels was a well known hotel, which we walked past whilst there and noticed it had parking meters on their carpark, which would have been an extra charge on top of £85, so overall excellent value with the added warm hospitality. would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank birds-darlaston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Had a fantastic weekend really friendly and a breakfast to die for. In a realy good position. Will definately stay here again.

Room Tip: We had front room no. 3 excellent not noisy and l.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debby49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.8 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 17 in Paignton
277 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dalehurst Guest House
Dalehurst Guest House
#30 of 96 in Paignton
35 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bronte Hotel
Bronte Hotel
#65 of 96 in Paignton
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Roslyn Guest House
Roslyn Guest House
#33 of 96 in Paignton
58 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sonachan House
Sonachan House
#7 of 96 in Paignton
225 reviews
0.2 mi away
St Edmunds Guest House
St Edmunds Guest House
#13 of 96 in Paignton
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista

Property: Bella Vista
Address: 5 Berry Square | Kernou Road, Paignton TQ4 6AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bella Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Bella Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing