We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B, Great Location”
Review of Amber House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amber House
Ranked #10 of 97 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2010

We stayed for two nights to celebrate my hubby's birthday. This is a really effcient bed and breakfast - everything runs really smoothly and the service is great.

Greeted on arrival by the owner, we received lots of helpful advice. Some might see this as a little obstrusive or bossy - I found it entirely reassuring.

We stayed in Coast - this is a compact room with a great view over the bay to Brixham. The breakfast was really superb - I had kippers on the second morning. The breakfast service was great on both days. We stayed with our pet dog, Jorja, and the owners were really accommodating - providing plenty of towels to wipe muddy paws!

The B&B is in a great location - just a short walk down to Goodrington Sands and Park and a quick drive into Paignton, Torquay, Brixham and Dartnoor.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandIB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 291 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2010

Stayed for two nights first week in August, totally enjoyed our stay, room was clean and tastefully furnished, bathroom was excellent. Good size breakfast and plenty of information available on surrounding area. 5 min walk to harbour and sea front hope to go again some time in the near future.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMCG61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

From the moment of arriving there where excellent parking facilities, we were greeted by Christine & Lloyd who took us around and explained all facilities in the hotel.The Rooms tall ship and bay view where exceptionally we decorated and the views over the bay were fantastic.
Breakfast was excellent lots of choice and service was very good. Will definitely be returning again thanks for a lovely stay
Andrew and family

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy9679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2010

Stayed for a mini break & really enjoyed our stay, made to feel welcome on our arrival-served drinks in the peacefull garden. Room excellent with fine view over bay. Breakfast excellent. Location great for both goodrington sands & paington. Will be going again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeicestershireRobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2010

Fantastic clean accommodation and service, lovely breakfast. Picked for it's gluten free diet awareness, I was particularly impressed with the "gluten free" booklet found within the room which details all the local amenites which cater for my diet (IE; local gluten free Fish & Chip Shop).
Five minutes walk from Goodrington beach bay and steam train station.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidayboyEpsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2010

I stayed here a few times when I was visiting an ill friend in Paignton. I just found it really lovely and I felt very safe and at home here. I had some very sad news on my last visit and Christine and Lloyd were so supportive and kind to me. I cant thank them enough for that. Amber house is a wonderful place, I think anyone who stays there will definately go back.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2010

Discovered Amber House by accident on internet. What a find! Stayed with our dogs, and our South African friends and their teenage son.

We were warned by Christine that the available room might be a squeeze for us and our two labradors - we manged well - the important thing is, she was honest and brought our attention to it beforehand. The 'dog manual' that Amber House offers and the linked little services are utterly marvellous. Love dogs? You'll love reading the hotel dog manual! Very funny, very understanding, very helpful!

Room was so fresh and well-maintained. Extremely clean. Although the en-suite was small, the cleanliness made it matter not a jot.

Our friends had a family room where their teenager had his own TV facilities (plus great selection of DVD's).

Food good. Very friendly. These people are on the ball. Attention to detail throughout. They made sure we agreed a time for arrival that afforded us our personal welcoming staff member that explained how the hotel was run, explained things to us, offered us a tray of tea in the garden - very welcoming.

Garden a delight in the summer. Plenty of garden furniture. No pressure to buy drinks. Able to tether dogs there whilst in for breakfast ourselves. Good view from garden and our room.

Loved the discreet 'bins' with clothes to wipe dogs paws. Very organised. No pressure to do this, you understand....they just thought of all the things dog-owners need to consider should it rain, etc.

Location to beach is fantastic. What a beautiful bay. Best dog-friendly beach ever been to. Devon certainly does welcome dogs.

Have tried to return many times but fully booked when we happen to be area....which is on an ad hoc basis.....no matter....we'lll get there soon....and take Mum.

If our demanding SA friends ever want to go to that part of the world again..........we know where we'll be staying!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank British-service-hhmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.9 mi away
Rosslyn Hotel
Rosslyn Hotel
#12 of 17 in Paignton
77 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton South - Brixham Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Torland Hotel
The Torland Hotel
#17 of 17 in Paignton
47 reviews
0.6 mi away
Belle Dene Guest House
Belle Dene Guest House
#2 of 97 in Paignton
249 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber House

Address: 6 Roundham Road, Paignton TQ4 6EZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range: $91 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amber House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amber House is situated in a quiet location overlooking Goodrington Sands. You will find ample free on-site parking and a garden to enjoy when you wish. We have sea-view, ground floor, single, double and family rooms. All dietary needs catered for including gluten-free. Dogs welcome. Comfortable, contemporary and informal and only a few minutes walk from park and beach. You will be ideally situated to discover the delights of Devon's countryside and coast with or without a car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Book Direct Rooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amber House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amber Hotel Paignton
Amber House Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing