We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
317 results
Traveler rating
285
23
3
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
285
23
3
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews harbour room home made cakes dog friendly beach each afternoon goodrington sands honesty bar dvd player dietary requirements breakfast was excellent small hotel quiet location steam train ample parking fresh fruit the ground floor full english long weekend
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 317 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2019

We have been staying at Amber House for five years. Debbie and John who run this family owned bed and breakfast make us feel so welcome. The bedrooms are very well maintained, we have a favourite "coast" and a hearty breakfast with local produce sets us up for the day.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amber_house_paignton, Owner at Amber House, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2019

It is always a pleasure to welcome you and your husband, and maybe grandchildren in the future!
Thank you for your lovely review, and we look forward to seeing you again next year.
Best wishes
Debbie and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2019

My sister and i stayed here for 4 nights last week. On arrival Debbie gave us a choice of rooms, we chose Harbour because of its view of the sea. the room was clean and comfortable. This is an attractive small hotel made extra special by the owners friendliness and helpfulness.
The breakfast were very good with it seemed every dietary requiement catered for. .Each afternoon we enjoyed complimentary tea and home made cakes in the garden. The other guests - who all were repeat visitors were friendly too. The owners had plenty of tips about places to visit and how best to get there ( we didn't have a car). Nothing was too much trouble for Debbie and John.

Room tip: Ring the owners and discuss requirements with them
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayandJay2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amber_house_paignton, Owner at Amber House, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2019

Thank you for your lovely review.
We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. When we are quiet we do occasionally give guests a choice of rooms.
We hope to see you again if your are in the area.
Best wishes
Debbie and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2019 via mobile

I had a lovely 2 night stay at Amber House. Such a quiet location with large garden and great view from my room. Breakfast was excellent and the best I have had in a UK hotel. The hosts were very kind and helpful and I fully recommend this as a great place to stay. I expect to stay there again in the future.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank cairowendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amber_house_paignton, Owner at Amber House, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2019

Thank you for your kind review.
We also love the location we are in and are always happy when our guests enjoy it too.
We hope to see you again when you are next in the bay.
Best wishes
Debbie and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2019

We have just had a long weekend in Paignton and so glad that we found this great place to stay with our golden retriever. We received a lovely warm welcome and best of all the dog was given priority treatment! The ground floor room - Rockpool,- is perfect for a couple with a dog and the location is fantastic with a park less than a 10 minute walk away which is next to the beach. There is a dog friendly cafe in the park. The property is also within walking distance of the town. As an added bonus complimentary home made cake was available - my husband was particularly taken with the lemon drizzle cake whilst I had a fondness for the victoria sponge. As the weather was on the chilly side it was nice to come back and sit in the conservatory with a cup of tea and cake all on the house. Dogs are not allowed into the breakfast room although if the weather was nice you could sit outside or there is the option to leave them in the room or the car. However, we opted for room only as this suited us better and Debbie kindly pointed out places where we could find breakfast, including the Cantina in the park which was excellent - dogs almost outnumber people! If you are looking for somewhere to stay (with or without dog) then this comes highly recommended. You will be made to feel relaxed and welcome from the start. We would definitely stay again when next visiting the area.

Room tip: Rockpool is a great room if you are travelling with a dog
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amber_house_paignton, Owner at Amber House, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2019

Thank you for your lovely review. We are happy we could make your stay with us enjoyable and that you enjoyed the facilities nearby.
We hope to see you all again in the future.
Best wishes
Debbie and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2018

We’ve been going to Paignton and the surrounding area for over 40 years this is the best b b ever,it’s clean tidy an excellent breakfast a short walk to the beach or town very good easy parking,and in Debbie a lovely hostess.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amber_house_paignton, Owner at Amber House, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2019

Thank you for your lovely review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Best wishes
Debbie and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews