We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So welcomed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strawberry Fair Hotel

Strawberry Fair Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paignton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Strawberry Fair Hotel
Ranked #84 of 100 Paignton B&B and Inns
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So welcomed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2010

My boyfriend and I went and had a lovely time in paignton but what made it more special was kevin and gill and there kindness, friendlyness and knowledge of the area, the breakfast was excellent and gill was so kind as to make veggi sausages for my boyfriend who does'nt eat pork.The rooms where lovely and clean and the beds where so comfy!!!
5mins walk from the beach and a lovely pub called the boathouse right near the seafront, and 10 min walk to the town centre, up the high street there is a fish and chip shop called scoff's which we highly recommend!! the best!!
Defo going there again.:-]
Thankyou Kevin and Gill
from Paul and Jo Davies x x

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cupcakes32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
oxford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

We stayed at the strawberry fair for the last six years sometimes staying there twice in the year the rooms are very clean the breakfast is to die for it dosnt matter if you cant eat a full english breakfast gill will cook what ever you want no problem at all gill & kevin will do any thing for you to make your stay go well if its a couple or a family nothing is to much from Jane & Harry Bothwell Oxford

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank boffyOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2010

This was the second time we have been to Paignton, and stayed at this hotel on both occassions. Gill is a genuine "Yorkshire Lass" which made all the diference, as both my wife and I are "Yorkshire Folk". When we booked our holiday, Gill said that she would order the same weather as last year, and she did, possibly even better.
Good food and plenty of it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fozzie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2010

Lovely B&B with a nice walk to the beach and the town centre. Booked a double ensuite room and it was nice and clean and spacious. Pub next door is nice and cheap and does nice meals. Breakfast was nice, my friend is a fussy eater but when we explained what he would and wouldn't eat the owners doubled up everything that he could. Only thing that I would class as a negative is the owners themselves are a bit too nice sometimes and seem to be very pushy, as in your eating your breakfast and they hover over you the whole time telling you where to visit and stuff but thats just one of my pet hates. Would definately book again.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SmudgeiSzpagat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2007

This is a good, friendly place to stay and ideal for visiting Paignton and the Torbay area. The B&B is an easy walk to the sea front; the town centre is a bit further away (probably only 10 minutes though) but there is a regular 7-day bus service that stops about 100 yards away which runs from Brixham through Paignton bus station to Torquay. Indeed, with all the bus, train and ferry options it is quite easy not to drive anywhere. If you are travelling by bus, the dayrider or explorer tickets are great value; with the dayrider you've made your money back after only a couple of journeys.

The room was perhaps a touch small but it was nice and clean and it was absolutely fine for what I needed - you tend to be out most of the time anyway. The bed was comfortable and you get the usual tea/coffee, TV and clock radio in the room. There is enough car parking, it may be a bit of a squeeze sometimes but you feel that they would cope. There are seagulls which start their noise quite early on in the morning, and they may affect you if you're in the annexe section, although I imagine that most places near the sea will share this problem, and they did not stop me from getting some good sleep. There is a pub next door although I did not find any real problem with noise from here – they do not stay open till the small hours.

Overall this is a fine place to stay and offers good value for money. I would not hesitate to book up again.

  • Liked — Clean and convenient
  • Disliked — Seagulls
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beardart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paignton hotels
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Bronte Hotel
Bronte Hotel
#67 of 100 in Paignton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.5 mi away
Garfield Lodge
Garfield Lodge
#60 of 100 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton South - Brixham Road
0.2 mi away
Rosslyn Hotel
Rosslyn Hotel
#13 of 18 in Paignton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.8 mi away
Paignton Court Hotel
Paignton Court Hotel
#23 of 100 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strawberry Fair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strawberry Fair Hotel

Property: Strawberry Fair Hotel
Address: 24 Manor Road, Paignton TQ3 2HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strawberry Fair Hotel is a friendly, family run B&B in Paignton, Devon. We are on the flat, 300 yards from Preston Sands, with free parking and close to shops and places to eat. We are fully non-smoking and all our guest rooms are en-suite, tastefully decorated and with modern conveniences; color TV, tea/coffee making facilities and radio alarm clocks. A warm, friendly welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Strawberry Fair Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing