We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay and Excellent Food”
Review of Summerhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Summerhill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed at the Summerhill for two nights in April 2013 while visiting family in the area. We were looking for somewhere to stay that was more than a B&B and could offer evening meal and bar if required. The hotel was very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. We particularly enjoyed the breakfasts and evening meal where everything was cooked fresh and the chef was very flexible in accommodating our specific vegetarian needs. Overall the hotel seemed clean and well maintained with flat-screen Freeview TV and electric power shower in the room. A lovely stay and we would recommend the Summerhill particularly to anyone wanting to be able to eat to a high standard of freshly cooked food where they are staying. Ian and Sue

Room Tip: We had a standard double room on the second floor. This had a flat screen TV and Electric Power show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 354 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just returned from three nights at this hotel and I have to say it is the most beautifully kept place with high quality written all over it. We had a balcony room with king size bed which was warm and clean. The ensuite was immaculate and it was handy to have the tea and coffee making facilities available. We could only manage the full English breakfast on the first day and after that had to settle for toast and fruit, which was all very good. Linen table cloths and fine china were the order of the day. The weather was below zero for the whole of our visit and so after we had been out for the day we were glad to return to the hotel. The only downside was that for the last two nights we were the only people in the hotel and so they had closed rooms to conserve the heat. Unfortunately one of these was the bar and although we could help ourselves to drinks to take to our room, leave a note and pay the next day, it's not quite the same as socializing in the bar with the staff and other guests. The service and warmth from Jose and Peter was first class and I would not hesitate to recommend the Summerhill to friends.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We had a really nice stay at summerhill Hotel during our languageclass. We stayed for two weeks and enyoyed the great brakfast and the warm atmosphere. We got a lot of very helpful informations for visiting interesting places and our rooms were nice and clean.
Thanks for everything, Brigitte

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brigitte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

October 2012, weather very wet on arrival. Did it matter, no, a very warm welcome and things only got better, including the weather. No moans, no groans, just a hearty thanks to all the family who strive to do all they can for their guests. Thanks, Steve.

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for the extra room of a double, even for single occupancy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Unfortunately, my partner had taken ill on the day we were supposed to travel and stay at Summerhill Hotel. We were due in Brixham for a wedding and he was too sick to travel. Understanding the hotel's policy of paying in full as our cancellation was less than 24 hours notice, I dutifully called in and explained the situation to the manager. I fully expected and would have obliged had he said he would charge me for the room. Instead, he was kind enough to say he wouldn't! I so appreciated it, especially since I had already dealt with the stress of having to take my partner to the hospital that morning. If I ever visit Paington or Brixham again, I would definitely book Summerhill Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Angloyankophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I visited Summerhill again for the late August bank holiday. I had a lovely welcome and felt just like a member of the family. I had a balcony room just at the top of the stairs. Light, bright,airy and spotlessly clean as always. Although the weather was mixed and dull somedays, I always had a bright start to the day with Summerhil's breakfast. I also chose to eat in the restaurant for three evenings out of four. Lovely fresh food and far too much (but I was on holiday after all) . Will definitely be staying there again. Thank you to Debbie, Jose, Peter and the family.
Helen

Room Tip: I like rooms 7 and 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helibug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

As a family we have been staying at this hotel for our annual holiday for the last 10 years. Over the years we would like to think that we have become good friends with Debbie, Jose and the family. There is always a warm welcome. The accommodation is always spotlessly clean, the atmosphere extremely pleasant and the food is excellent. There is an extensive breakfast and evening menu which would cater for all tastes. The dining room also has a wonderful view over the bay to Brixham. The hotel is also a convenient base for visiting the many attractions that Devon has to offer. Val H

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.7 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#3 of 17 in Paignton
629 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
0.9 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
555 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 17 in Paignton
551 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Torland Hotel
The Torland Hotel
#17 of 17 in Paignton
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerhill Hotel

Address: 2 Braeside Road, Paignton TQ4 6BX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paignton
#1 Business Hotel in Paignton
#1 Family Hotel in Paignton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paignton
Price Range: $136 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Summerhill Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian detached building set on its own grounds close to harbour, park and beach. Summerhill offers high standard of accommodation and profesional friendly service. Ample Free car parking,level access, ground floor rooms, lift, bar. Only 10 min walk from Paignton train station & town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Summerhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerhill Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing