We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff went the extra mile to make our stay enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Preston Sands Hotel
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Lancs
1 review
“Staff went the extra mile to make our stay enjoyable”
Reviewed December 13, 2009

We have just returned from Paignton and had a lovely break at Preston Sands the staff went out of there way to make us feel valued.Clayton and his wife could not have done more.The view was terrific as was the food.The room was small very comfortable and had a terrific view accross the bay, we watched the surfers at breakfast in the cold winter sun.The entertainment although not to our choice was good and the rest of the guests enjoyed it.
The bar was spotless not the usual tacky feel of small hotels and prices were no more than local pubs and the beer was well kept.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikenmel010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    91
    31
    24
    28
See reviews for
40
118
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2009

Hotel location excellent and clean. The food was good but the menus were not. The Chef's Special for breakfast was ...... wait for it --- tomatoes on toast. I have a 9yr old grand-daughter who could make that and she isn't remotely interested in cooking. One evening the menu choice was curry or pasta bake .... I ask you!!
The so-called entertainment 2 evenings in the week was a medium from the local spiritualist church. 'Nuff said.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcrablee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2009

I recently took a group of 45 people to the Preston Sands for three nights and did not receive a single complaint about any of the rooms or the food.

The location is superb, the hotel is clean, the staff are very efficient and some of the evening meals are exceptional.

It is true that there is no lift and the manager may not be the cheeriest soul in the world but ground floor rooms are available, staff are on hand to carry bags and the guy does a great job.

Well done The Preston Sands

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinIsaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2009

I treated my husband to what was promised to be a lovely romantic break to this hotel.
I was told that we would be enjoying a 3 course meal set up of various choices & accompanied by fabulous entertainment for the evening.
Soon after arriving, we realised that we the only 2 people seperate from a group that booked the rest of the hotel. Not that something like that would be the end of the world, but as it was a group of 80+ year olds, everything turned out to be MUCH different than anticipated. For a start, we had a dinner choice of 2 meals (the choices the group wanted to have on there) and as the group required no entertainment for that evening, we were told that we must be lying & that they never said that they would have anything on... as the previous review had stated, a little HITLER running the place...
So many things just weren't up to par & seriously fell short of the lovely break I had planned for my husband's birthday. At one stage the Manager threathened to throw my husband out of the hotel, because he wanted a window seat for breakfast. Crazy!!!!
Luckily we had lovely weather so THAT at least was beautiful...
Our recommendation: keep on searching for something else.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newhaven
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2009

Have just returned from a short week (Monday to Friday) break at this hotel. The location is spot on, any closer to the sea and you’d be paddling while having your breakfast. The hotel is very clean and tidy and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The manager and his wife are always on hand to help in any way they can and any problems are quickly rectified. The rooms are large enough and the bathroom is clean and well laid out. If you’re in one of the front bedrooms you will have a fantastic view across the bay. All rooms have tea/coffee facilities but do take extra tea bags as you only get 4 between 2 of you per day. One little criticism regarding the room, you are provided with a hair dryer but nowhere to plug in at the dressing table, we had to unplug one of the bedside lights and the lead was just long enough to see into the wall mirror. Breakfast was very good, Tea or coffee, a selection of cereals, fruit and fresh fruit juice, followed by toast with marmalade and jams followed by a cooked selection from full English to eggs on toast. Dinner was good but a little restrictive as you had a choice of usually 3 starters, soup of the day, fruit juice and a third choice which changed daily, then one meat dish, one fish dish, one vegetarian dish or salad for your main followed by a choice of 3 or 4 sweets. The bar area is nicely located with good views across the bay. Paignton town centre is about a 10 to 15 minute walk along the seafront. All in all a very comfortable hotel with a great location.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drivinginstructor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2009

We had a few days here in April. Got a good price off bookings.com and had a sea view room. The room was quite small but the view out to sea made up for any short comings. It was very clean, with lots of pillows and a comfortable bed. The only problem room wise is the sun streaming in the mornings. Its very bright and woke us up, some people might find it hard to sleep in the summer. Black-out curtins would solve this problem !

Breakfast is about the same I have had in other beach family hotels and it has a nice (but a little expensive) bar overlooking the sea. I think however If I had paid the full price on their web site I would have felt I had paid too much for the room taking into account the room size.

The hotel is not in Paignton but a few miles down the road in Preston. Not having a car is not a major problem as the buses every 10 mins and are only a few mins walk form the hotel. Although we did not hear the trains, the rooms at the back are almost on top of the railway line, so I can imagine it can get quite noisy.

All in all, a nice stay for a few days. You can't beat the view!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ascot P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hants
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2009

under new management good rooms quality food and service good position and good entertainment. staff could not help enough will go again no problem.the coach driver was really good all in all a very good break exellent value for money spent .

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curlydutchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
1.3 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
316 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#4 of 17 in Paignton
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
476 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 17 in Paignton
509 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Preston Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preston Sands Hotel

Property: Preston Sands Hotel
Address: Marine Parade, Sea Front | Preston, Paignton TQ3 2NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Preston Sands Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family friendly hotel, short walk to all the local amenities. Lift access to all floors. Bed and Breakfast included on all bookings but evening meal can be booked as officially we are a hotel. 24 Hour check in service available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Preston Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Preston Sands Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing