We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Preston Sands Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Queens Hotel(Paignton)
$110
$107
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Palace(Paignton)
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Summerhill Hotel(Paignton)
$136
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosslyn Hotel(Paignton)(Great Value!)
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Wulfruna Hotel(Paignton)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (303)
Filter reviews
303 results
Traveler rating
112
97
34
29
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
112
97
34
29
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewstar hoteltrain linecoach partybalcony roombar pricesmet some lovely peoplethe hotel managerfriendly hotelgreat entertainmentpaignton piertea coffeeevening mealgreat weekendlovely breakweekend breakmany thanks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
209 - 214 of 303 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2013

hi folks, With trepidation my wife and i decided to book a Friday to Monday coach trip to Preston sands Hotel. Our first coach tour . we did have a wee bit of trouble with the coach but in all sincerity could not fault the hotel . The situation was lovely , probably the best part of the bay, The beds were very comfy, the staff were excellent and the meals were spot on. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone. Admittedly some of the rooms backed on to the railway lines. We actually had one of them . Did it put us off ?? no not one bit. The trains didn't make much noise at all.If this was all the people had to complain about then they should get a life.Any hotel facing the sea has one side that doesn't. This was a really lovely holiday and we would definitely go back to this hotel .Thanks to all for making it a lovely break

Room Tip: ask for a room at the front
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apsinger-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We arrived to find no parking as most cars had parked taking up 2 bays and having had to wait for the guy on reception to finish his chit chat in the bar we were checked in with no customer service whatsoever. The room was on 2nd floor overlooking train tracks but you couldnt see out the window as the glass had "blown" so was white opaque stained. Horrid. Carpet looked filthy and tattered, room very small and tired. Bed clean, towels clean. They wanted 50p for a pack of biscuits which are free in ANY other hotel we have ever stayed in. Tried to have dinner there but as we hadnt arranged to have it we couldnt. No food was available. Were sent to boathouse down the road for badly serviced bog standard steak and chips in loud and noisy bar. No wifi in hotel although guy on reception said there was but manager hadnt given him the code! Noisy room from adjacent rooms as walls paper thin and floors creak badly. Only one sitting for breakfast run by basil fawltyand his staff. Waited half hour to be served breakfast even though we were first in and half the people had eaten and gone before we got ours. It was well cooked and tasty which was the only plus point of our stay. Clayton the manager is indifferent and offhand yet plastered the hotel with orders to guests paying over the top rates and being regimented. Poor location away from centre but lovely beach which is only plus for this hotel. You dont even get what you pay for. I would not go back again and maybe the hotel should halve the room rates or seriously upgrade the hotel and staff. Avoid!!!!

Room Tip: don't bother
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Magsy186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend break and it was brilliant, sea view looking over the coast. The room was basic but had everything in there that you would need. The staff were so friendly and welcoming, even the other couples were so friendly and knew how to have a gd time. The breakfast was lovely and well worth the money. As we were new to the area they provided us with loads of local things for us to visit and see. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed at the Preston Sands Hotel for a long week-end in August. We had a lovely room over looking the coast...with views across Torquay and Brixham. The Resturant and bar is really lovely, again with the lovely views across the bay. The prices in the bar are very reasonable too. The food is really good quality with a great choice, I am a fussy eater but there was always something for me on the menu, with cod on Friday, Saturday was gammon which was the best I've tasted and Sunday was roast lamb. The breakfast was very good too, full english with all the trimmings including mushrooms. Entertainment was good on the Saturday night with a bloke singer. There is also a very nice seating area with decking and umbrella's to the front overlooking the bay. We took advantage of the warm weather and sat there with a pint. Will definately book again.

Room Tip: We had room 32 on the front overlooking the bay.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wongieUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Preston Sands Hotel in August and our experience was less than satisfactory. We were woken in the middle of the night by a bleeping fire exit alarm right outside our room at 1am and were not offered a discount for the inconvenience of a poor nights sleep, which is offered by other well know establishments. We went to use the showers and there was no hot water initially because everyone had used the hot water, so we were told we would have to wait a while which further delayed our day. Our customer service experience was not great, although some of the waiters and waitresses were friendly. The only real redeeming feature of this B&B is the sea view rooms. To summarise: if you come here with low expectations, then you'll probably be happy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews