We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Preston Sands Hotel
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Reviewed May 4, 2013

this was our second vist to this hotel (first was newyear) room was clean tidy and lovely and warm we where going to concert in Torquay on Friday night mentioned this to Clayton (hotel manager) who was more than happy to book our taxi for us ,Jim with his lovely wife Carol as his right hand "man" was our entertainment on saturday great mix of music to suit all tastes we had a great weekend many thanks to Clayton and Sue in fact we have already booked for next new year. Bring on the party!!!!!

Room Tip: rooms on front have amazing seaviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knittershouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 297 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed here with a coach party from February 25th to March 1st. The hotel was spotlessly clean, warm and welcoming and staff were very friendly, helpful and professional. We had a huge room with a huge bathroom which was great as my husband is disabled, so he had plenty of room to move around. The room overlooked the railway line, but the only time the trains bothered us was one night when they were carrying out some work on the line.

The food was excellent and service very efficient. Entertainment was good too, especially the young singer on Tuesday, he was brilliant. Altogether a really enjoyable stay. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmangal16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here on a mystery weekend destination. What a lovely place very clean, lovely food and the staff very great. I must say the waiter peter was very professional, polite and smartly dressed. nice to have a mature waiter, but the 2 other younger staff were very good at thier job. Well done all 3 of you. I just wish the manager did not take on the role of Mr Meldrew. He also told our friends not to tip any staff personally but put it in the basket at reception. (if i want to tip someone for their good service to me i want them to have it) so sorry did not leave any dont like being told were to leave my money. Also not good to see the Manager and his wife having breakfast in the restaurant in front of guests.
But I must say I would come back again such a lovely position on the sea front and very flat for walking if you struggle. Will go back in the summer.

Room Tip: Lovely little gem of a place. The trains that run behind hotel are not to noisey you dont really not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pinklady842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Clayton, Sue and All the Staff were most helpful in helping us to have a really relaxing and lovely holiday. The room in the hotel was very clean and as for the food was fabulous we really enjoyed our stay we were made to feel really welcome thanyou all so very much and look forward to comimg back later on in the year.

Room Tip: sea front is a lovely room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jean b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

booked with a coach company the hotel was good only 2 star.manager clint and wife sue went out off way to help.entertainment was good everyone joined in .food good one meal time sitting meant every one got to know each other faster overall excellent service.will go back again

Room Tip: sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janet b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The position of this hotel was fine for us, but that was all it had going for it. Our room overlooked the train track at the back of the hotel. Breakfast was rushed and was like a military operation. If you wanted sauce with your breakfast, you had to ask, and the waitress would dig deep into her apron pocket and hand you two sachets. There was barely enough milk for your coffee and cereal. I am sure they would cut a fried egg in half if they could. I had enquired about the availability of a vegetarian breakfast prior to booking and was assured that this would not be a problem. Their vegetarian option consisted of a standard fried breakfast with the meat items removed, so not a lot on my plate. No meat alternatives offered. The only time we saw the hotel owner he was outside having a cigarette. Our overall feeling was that the visitors to this hotel were a means of making money, and no attempt was made to make our stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room at the front, the train track is at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank 547TJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at the hotel over new year 2012. Hotel is nice and food was good but we were very let down with lack of entertainment over the few days we were there. We only had a cheap disco for new years eve. We paid good money for this break. We have friends that stayed at other hotels and they had entertainment every night. Sorry but just not good enough, then they wonder why people don't return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sportscarno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
0.4 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
414 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#3 of 17 in Paignton
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 17 in Paignton
549 reviews
1.2 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
354 reviews
0.9 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Preston Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preston Sands Hotel

Address: Marine Parade, Sea Front | Preston, Paignton TQ3 2NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Paignton
Price Range: $62 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Preston Sands Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family friendly hotel, short walk to all the local amenities. Lift access to all floors. Bed and Breakfast included on all bookings but evening meal can be booked as we do have a restaurant open 7 days per week ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Preston Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Preston Sands Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing