We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Preston Sands Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$92
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Queens Hotel(Paignton)
$112
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Palace(Paignton)
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sonachan House(Paignton)
$89
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$72
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$48
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Reviews (304)
Filter reviews
304 results
Traveler rating
113
97
34
29
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
113
97
34
29
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewstar hoteltrain linecoach partybalcony roombar pricesmet some lovely peoplethe hotel managerfriendly hotelgreat entertainmentpaignton piertea coffeeevening mealgreat weekendlovely breakweekend breakmany thanks
Filter
Updating list...
242 - 247 of 304 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Stayed here fri 27th to mon 30th April.On arrival was met by Clayton,explained room allocation shown to our room number 8,Opened the door to a very clean tidy room with a view to die for!From then on we were fed good hot tasty homemade food,by very efficient and pleasant staff.Rooms were cleaned daily and fresh towels.From my experience i would thoroughly recommend a stay at this hotel.Thankyou to Clayton,his wife & staff.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank waynenmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

We would not ordinarily stay in a 2 star rated hotel but we stayed here because of business.
We were pleasantly surprised at the overall cleanliness and warmth of the place.
It has a wonderful position literally right in front of the sea on a 'no through' road which ensures a peaceful stay.
We had asked for a sea view and were allocated a wonderful room with a balcony and a sea view to die for.
The receptionist/bookings clerk, Emma, ought to be headhunted from all the surrrounding hotels! She has a lovely helpful and pleasant manner about her and a passion for the hotel itself that any hotel owner would appreciate in their staff.
However there are just a couple of issues which guests ought to be aware of.
There is a note stuck on the tray which reads that should you require more tea/coffee etc it is available to buy from reception! Really? never known a charge for extra tea bags! Also when my husband went down to the reception late at night to get a pint of water he was told, by the very unhelpful manager, that he couldn't give him a pint of tap water he would have to purchase a small bottle - my husband would have paid for the tap water but wasn't offered the choice. Also there was only one sitting for breakfast and that's at 8.30am which was fine for us on a business trip, but we wouldn't have appreciated it if on holiday - check with them though as they may be a tad more customer friendly and flexible during peak holiday season.
In general a nice warm hotel in a fabulous location with lovely staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view and wake up to a magnificent view!
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank customerserviceagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

We had a great time at this hotel, friendly staff who went out of their way to please. Food was excellent, expecially Valentines Day where all the staff went that extra mile to make it special. We had a room at the back which was fine. I had read previous reviews regarding the railway line so we took our earplugs! The trains don't run between 11pm and 6am so they were not a problem to us. Would definitely stay again but would request a room at the front for the spectacular views.

Room Tip: Get a room at the front, you won't go wrong
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

In general, we quite enjoyed this place. The views were spectacular from the dining room and the rooms are adequate. The food, I have to say, is excellent. The only thing that brought this place down were some of the staff. I overheard some making bigoted comments and one in particular could be very grumpy.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandwellman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Went 23rd Dec 2011.food fantastic,food was great,clean,good service.Very Nice Family who ran the hotel.Entertainment brilliant. I am the lady with the loud laugh.Hope to see you again.
Love Josse

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minnythecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews