We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
St Marguerite Guest House
Nearby Hotels
Sonachan House(Paignton)
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Palace(Paignton)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosslyn Hotel(Paignton)(Great Value!)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$81
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$48
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveler rating
63
6
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
6
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull englishguest housepower showermarmaladebreakfast was deliciousminutes walk awaywonderful hostspoached eggstrain stationcomfortable bedstayed for nightscouple of nightslovely couplegreat place to stayexcellent value for moneystay there againa lovely stay
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 70 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was a last minute getaway and didn't expect very much at short notice, however we were pleasantly surprised. We were warmly welcomed and shown to a lovely room that was very clean, we'll equipped and had the most comfortable bed ! There is a vast wealth of local information and recommendations for things to do while Jill & Richard go out of their way to help you during your stay. Breakfast is outstanding with so much choice and nothing being too much trouble. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and would not hesitate to stay again. An outstanding example of an excellent B&B !!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Surreywetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Had checked out reviews on Tripadvisor where this guest house had a good score and we can say that the reviews were fully justified. Although we only stayed 2 nights, everything was excellent and it was gratifying to find a guest house were the owners had paid attention to detail with the decor in the rooms. The breakfast was excellent. Considering the closeness to the seafront (only a 7 minute walk), the area was really quiet.

Would recommend this guest house to anyone who wanted to stay in Torbay area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidP170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed one night in this guest house and found it to be very clean and welcoming. Our 2 year old was most welcome and the breakfast was perfect. We often stay in Torbay to visit family and can honestly say that this is the best B&B that we've stayed in and we hope to return. A great base away from the noise of the seafront, but only a short walk to sea and town.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Widdicombe-Dutchies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My wife and me have been here at St. Marguerites for two weeks on vacation. We chose this B&B because of the many good recommendations, since we have a very high bias on cleanliness, especially regarding the toilets. To make it short, everything was just excellent, even according to the expectations of the nitpicking two of us. We had the small room to the backyard, which was really quiet. And in the morning your day is welcomed by the delicious smell of a great breakfast. Jill and Richard do a really great job on their B&B. And they are always at hand with helpful recomendations and advices if need them. They also offer the extra service of preparing a lunch-packet for you.
St. Marguerites is situated perfectly for exploring the English Riviera and the Dartmoor. From Exeter to Plymouth everything is reachable in a short drive, by bus or by train. The Paignton harbour, the promenade, the beach, the town centre and a lot of nice pubs are within walking distance. We definitely would stay here again, if we happened to be in this region again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank webalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We have stayed here on two occations and it is our favourite guest house anywhere in England. Richard and Gill are very welcoming and provide a wonderful breakfast of local and homemade produce. The rooms are nicely decorated and spotlessly clean and I am quite picky about my bed, but I feel instantly at home here. The location is excellent inbetween Paignton town centre and Goodrington Park, so it is very quiet. We always park our car outside and never use it again until we leave. We have been visiting Paignton for 26 years and have stayed in various accommodation over the years but we are so happy to have found the St Marguerite.

Room Tip: All rooms are of the same quality just choose to match your needs.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank staffs4bzfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews