We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St Marguerite Guest House
Ranked #39 of 96 Paignton B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We were met at the door and assisted to the room with heavy luggage. We had the triple room which was was very clean , large and comfortable. The hosts were extremely helpful in many ways. The only down side was the traffic noise to the front of the building, with or without the window open.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katzhaus17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
There are newer reviews for St Marguerite Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 65 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2011

We've just returned from a 2 night stay at St Marguerite's and we've had a wonderful time. Jill & Richard are just delightful - very understanding when we phoned to explain we'd be arriving at 10.30pm due to horrendous traffic. Our room (room 4) was a triple ensuite which was beautiful decorated and our little girl particularly loved her bed! Breakfast was delicious! We'll definitely be returning next year and would highly recommend this B&B to everyone!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WiganPompey26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

We stayed at the St Marguerite Guest House from the 11th - 14th of July. Jill and Richard were very welcoming and made sure we settled in ok. The guest house is situated about a 10 minute walk from Paignton sea front and around a 30 minute drive / ferry ride from Dartmouth.

The room was pleasant and very clean and there was room for our babies travel cot beside the bed. The bathroom had a good power shower and again was very clean and pleasant, although it was a little on the small side.

The full English breakfast we had was very good quality and served quickly and hot.

Overall the service we received was top notch, Jill and Richard couldn’t do enough for us.

Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKirkby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2011

I Stayed here for 2 nights of my tour around Devon and Cornwall. Excellent central location and the accommodation is immaculate. People were very friendly and went the "extra mile" to make sure my stay was both enjoyable and memorable.

Food was excellent and the rooms were very well presented and cared for.

I would highly recommend this guest house for both single travellers and families looking to visit this part of the UK.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul_beard_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

I have stayed at St Marguerite twice on business trips. The rooms are excellent as is the breakfast. This is a real find and I will certainly go there again when next in Paignton

Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
1  Thank SergeLourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

We all had a wonderfull time , Richard and Jill were great hosts, lovely guest house. Will return in future.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlemr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2010

I stayed here with my partner and baby for 1 week. The owners were so kind and very welcoming. The service was excellent. The room we stayed in was perfect, very clean and bright. Travel cot was provided. Room was cleaned everyday and tea tray restocked. Breakfast was great, you could help yourself to cereal, yoghurt & fresh fruit salad. Followed by full English breakfast. Delicious.
Train station close by and town centre. Paignton Zoo and splashdown within walking distance also. perfect location. Lovely beach. Lots to do
Overall experience was excellent and we have booked to stay again next year!


Describe the service you experienced
Tell us how you liked the room
Talk about the location & amenities
Say what you liked best & least

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scarlettminx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.5 mi away
Belle Dene Guest House
Belle Dene Guest House
#2 of 96 in Paignton
237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rowcroft Lodge
Rowcroft Lodge
#55 of 96 in Paignton
84 reviews
1.2 mi away
Channel View Hotel
Channel View Hotel
#38 of 96 in Paignton
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sonachan House
Sonachan House
#6 of 96 in Paignton
241 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Brelade
San Brelade
#50 of 96 in Paignton
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ambassador
The Ambassador
#20 of 96 in Paignton
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Marguerite Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Marguerite Guest House

Address: 3 The Riviera, Paignton TQ4 5EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range: $86 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St Marguerite Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly located in Torbay between Paignton and Goodrington Sands, St Marguerite is an oasis of tranquility, offering a warm welcome, clean, smartly decorated rooms, and good home-cooked food using local items whenever possible. Our rooms come with en-suite bathrooms, tea & coffee making facilities, digital flat screen TV with Freeview TV and radio channels, integral DVD/CD player and MP3 port, free WiFi and hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your St Marguerite Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marguerite Hotel
St Marguerite Guest House Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing