We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveler rating
166
13
4
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
166
13
4
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tea room sunday roast sea view welcome drink owner louise marine parade free drink in the bar small team nothing is too much trouble devon cream tea feel very welcome homely hotel real credit hot chocolate and biscuits welcoming stay selection of cereals home from home
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 187 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2019 via mobile

Louise and all her staff have done it again you arrive stressed and leave relaxed nothing is too much trouble.A good breakfast sets you up for the day Sunday dinner wow very good. Thanks once again Louise see you in October

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2019 via mobile

very good hotel, lovely and clean and our rooms over looked the sea, breakfast in the morning was very nice indeed and the cakes are out of this world, staff are very attentive and looked after our every needs, will definitely be staying again.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank AzzP1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019

I booked this hotel for a treat for my grandsons birthday, I contacted hotel in advance , Louise was so helpful, put banners up for Jake made him a birthday cake balloons the works , view from our room was absolutely amazing, cannot fault anything, will definitely be returning

Room tip: Family room
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2019 via mobile

Only stayed for one night wish we could have stayed longer.a very warm welcome by Louise when we arrived. The room was very clean the windows outside were a bit dirty with seagull poo. But very hard to get to.the room was well appointed with lovely fresh towels and linen. Plenty of complementary tea coffee etc. Had a very comfortable nights sleep. The breakfast was great good quality produce and well cooked . The breakfast room was retro and quirky as was the dishes and tea cups.would thoroughly recommend a stay here well worth the money.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Skipper6060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2019

We just returned after a 3 night stay at The Torbay Sands Hotel. We were met at the door by Louise who was popping out and was then met by Nette, with a warm welcoming smile, our dog Kenny was greeted with a massive welcome and some doggie biscuits. We were told that we will be offered a welcome drink in the bar that evening which was a great bonus.

We were shown to our room on the top floor, when the door was opened the view of the sea was amazing, looking over to Torquay to the left and Paignton and Brixham to the right. The room was very clean and tidy, had everything you needed, amazingly large soft white towels, great power shower, tea, coffee, hot chocolate drinks, biscuits and chocolates in the room daily. The bed was very comfortable we had fantastic night’s sleep on all 3 nights, was so nice listening to the sea and winds (something relaxing about it) whilst lying in bed. Breakfast every morning was served in the Olde English Tearoom, Louise even done our fussy dog Kenny scrambled eggs and sausage every day which was really lovely of her. Absolutely loved the décor in the Tearoom and the old music playing. Good selection of cereals, the choice of full English breakfast, which was cooked to perfection.

In the bar area we loved the War Memorial so very touching.

For our welcome drink I choose the Pixie Juice (Devon Cider) wow this was really nice, it was so nice that when we left on the Monday morning we drove to Hunts Cider Farm and brought a crate to take home with us.

Louise the owner is a lovely lady always asking if everything is OK and with a smile on her face at all times as were all the staff they are a Real credit, Chloe the young girl who worked the weekend was so friendly and polite.

Thank you Louise and your staff for making our holiday a very relaxing and enjoyable time. We would recommend this hotel 100% and we will definitely be staying again in the near future with Kenny.

Room tip: Top Floor, Sea View
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PaulaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews