We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Torbay Sands Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Queens Hotel(Paignton)
$110
$107
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Palace(Paignton)
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Summerhill Hotel(Paignton)
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosslyn Hotel(Paignton)(Great Value!)
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveler rating
140
9
3
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
140
9
3
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstea roomsea viewsunday roastcomplimentary drink on arrivalmarine paradecul de sacview from the dining roomovernight stopnothing is too much troublewarm welcomefreshly cooked breakfastvisit friendsdog friendly hotelfeel very welcomefantastic stayfantastic hotelreturn in the future
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 156 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Another fantastic stay with Carole and Martin, views perfect, breakfast made to perfection, what makes this hotel so good is that it is run by people who care and take pride in what they do, the hotel is always clean and tidy and always smells fresh. See you both soon

Room Tip: Room 7 is the best of all
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Another fantastic stay , everything about the torbay sands is perfect , and the seaview unbeatable .
Thank you Carole & Martin for making us feel so welcome and being so helpful with any local knowledge and also cooking the best breakfast in Paignton .
Thanks again & look forward to seeing you again on our next trip .

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traceygar29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Outstanding service,location, cleanliness and hospitality. We really enjoyed our stay even the weather couldn't ruin our short break. My partners peculiar food requirements were met with a smile and delivered without complaint .The Sea view was breath taking and well worth the extra payment.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mintony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Excellent location towards the edge of Paignton but within 10 mins easy flat walking of the town centre. The location was perfect for us, overlooking the rows of colourful beach huts and a wonderful sea view with Torquay to the left and Brixham to the right. We walked into Torquay one day and it took less than 40 mins.
Carol and Martin are the perfect hosts, cheery and the sort of people that you can immediately feel at ease with; both have a very keen sense of humour which adds to that feel-good holiday feeling. Having owned the hotel for around seven years, they have an encyclopaedic knowledge of the local attractions and restaurants. We found their recommendations to be spot-on every time.
There is ample free parking in the hotel’s reserved spots right outside which some hotels/guest houses closer towards the centre appear not to have the benefit of.
Our room on the top floor was superb, exactly what we asked for and where we wanted to be. It was spotlessly clean and the bed, shower and linen were all of a high standard.
Breakfast is in a room overlooking the beach huts and sea, great start to the day especially when accompanied by one of Martin’s ‘full English’ classics (other options available.) Carol’s cheery manner when taking your breakfast order also puts a smile on your face!
They don’t do evening meals but there are ample restaurants in the area to suit most tastes and pockets. Our favourite was TJ’s in the harbour area but you usually need to book.
Without doubt this was the most welcoming, friendly and pleasant seaside hotel that we have ever stayed in. Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms 12 & 14 on the top floor give the best sea view.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WirralTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Had a lovely weekend away with my wife and young 2 year old, we were really well looked after by our excellent hosts. The breakfast was vast and yummy, special little touches like a car egg cup made the little ones stay special as well. On top of all that the view from the breakfast room is spectacular, you wont find much better in this country!!. There is a train track which runs to the rear of the property but you can see but not hear the trains go past.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizCook77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews