We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carrington Guest House
Ranked #36 of 96 Paignton B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Very nice place very nice people . good food good value for money. Very clean. Five minutes walk to the shops. Plenty of night life. I have been going for the last few years and find it very comfortable from Roger the binman

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aliceed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarringtonGuestHouse, Owner at Carrington Guest House, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It is always a pleasure to help our guests enjoy there stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    6
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
31
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
glagow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

It is the best holiday we have had. Great weather plenty of things to see and do but what made the holiday was the warm friendly welcome we got at this guest house. It is close to the beach, shops entertainment and close to rail and bus stations. The family room we had was spotlessly clean. We will be back I will be telling family and friends The McEwan family from Glasgow

Room Tip: it's lie a home from home
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarringtonGuestHouse, Owner at Carrington Guest House, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind Review. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed here for one night en route to a wedding nearby and it was absolutely ideal. The rooms are spotlessly clean and well furnished; ours had a pretty little bay window, a small but well appointed shower-room and a huge comfortable bed! The breakfast was all done to order, a great selection and a seriously tasty full English. The owners, Angeline and Brian, could not have been more helpful and friendly and we were made to feel very welcome.

Parking in Paignton in general is a pain but the multistorey is very close and you can park on the road outside at certain times and it's walking distance to the shops.

All in all a great stay, I'd definitely go again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alison_zoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarringtonGuestHouse, Owner at Carrington Guest House, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for your kind reveiw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed at this B&B last minute on the 28th of May 2013. It was a last minute booking as we had only just decided to stop the night that day, hadn't looked at any reviews so didn't know what to expect. We had a double room with an ensuite and parking in a nearby multi-storey car nearby. It cost £58 for the room and £3 for the parking which was a very good price considering what we was being asked by places such as Premier Inn. When we arrived we was pleasantly surprised! We were greeted and given information about our parking and times for breakfast etc. We were then shown to our room which was clean and nicely decorated. The ensuite, although small it was clean and nicely decorated with a spacious shower. Hair dryer, hand wash, body lotion, shower gel and a wide range of teas and coffees were in the room. Great location as it is a short walk from the local wetherspoons, amusements, shops and seafront. Breakfast was fantastic! Full English is available, they even have vegetarian full English available. All freshly cooked and lots of choice including lighter options such as poached egg on toast. It was lovely and I would definitely stop there again if I was ever in the area. Would recommend it to a friends and family if they ever go visit too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BubblyTeal21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarringtonGuestHouse, Owner at Carrington Guest House, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Hi
We are Very Happy that you had a good stay at Carrington Guest House.
Our aim is to make your stay a good one,
Thank You for your Lovely Review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bath
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

stopped for 2 nights excellent service lovely room and food very well equipped room .everything provided really made to feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble even bottles of water in bedroom.eerything in easy reach multi storey car park only 100 yards away all amenities very close

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bsteveb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarringtonGuestHouse, Owner at Carrington Guest House, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
We Thank You For Your Review, and Look forward to your Next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed for a week with my wife after choosing from trip adviser reviews. The Carrington is well located centrally in a street leading up from the promenade and is ideal for everything, including both the bus and train stations. There is also an excellent new Weatherspoons only 3 minutes walk away. Guest House is situated in a street with many others, but is better presented judging from exterior.
The service during our stay was excellent as were the proudly cooked breakfasts. Superb! The cleanliness was also of a very high standard throughout and our room was spotlessly clean. Room itself easily contained our two singles, albeit the building's size obviously limited too much spare space. Bathroom was perfect and again immaculately clean. Towels, soap, tissue, etc all of best quality. Always hot water for a shower and heating in room most effective. Room was well stocked up each day with coffee, tea, milk. Beds were comfortable with good bed coverings, linen and mattresses. Difficult to find fault with anything really.
Much enjoyed our week staying in this guest house despite being unfortunate with weather.
However, there is one disadvantage which the Carrington like the other guest houses in Beach Road and surrounding streets suffer and that is parking. There were no on street restrictions, but with the number of guest houses in close proximity, there is an obvious demand for spaces. This is clearly a difficulty at times and on our arrival it was impossible to find a space for awhile.
Torbay caters for people who use public transport and it is easy to get about. I would therefore well recommend the Carrington where daily car use can be avoided or is less priority.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

we only stayed 1 nite but were made to feel very welcome . cant falt the place close to beach and town centre rooms very clean and you get a great breakfast loads to see around this area and all with in walking distance

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herkieplymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.2 mi away
Ashleigh Guesthouse
Ashleigh Guesthouse
#12 of 96 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Paignton Court Hotel
Paignton Court Hotel
#35 of 96 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brampton Guesthouse
Brampton Guesthouse
#31 of 96 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bronte Hotel
Bronte Hotel
#65 of 96 in Paignton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Haldon Guest House
The Haldon Guest House
#21 of 96 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Weonards Hotel
St. Weonards Hotel
#29 of 96 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrington Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrington Guest House

Property: Carrington Guest House
Address: 10 Beach Road, Paignton TQ4 6AY, England (Formerly The Carrington Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carrington Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Carrington Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrington Guest House Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing