We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Super Stay”
other travelers have booked this property
Lounge and Dining area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge and Dining area
lounge Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
26 reviews
Lounge and Dining area
lounge
Lounge
Bedroom with leather sofa bed
Swimming pool
Heating swimming pool
Kitchenette
Kitchen
Shower room
Washing machine
Dining area
Back garden
Back garden
Gardens
Garden
Private Garden
Esplanade
Esplanade
Seaside
Esplanade
Esplanade
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Paignton, English Riviera, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
gwfrydg48
Parker, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Super Stay”
Reviewed June 15, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed for a week in early June and the apartment was just what we wanted. Plenty of space for 2 and a great location, 2 minutes walk from the esplanade and no more than 15 minutes walk to any shop or restaurant.

The kitchenette is small but quite adequate for cooking simple meals, the bathroom was lovely and warm with underfloor heating and the heated towel rail. The bedroom is spacious and the bed was very comfortable.

A super week's stay and great value. I have no hesitation in recommending this vacation rental.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 13, 2015
Thank you very much for the excellent review. We really try our best to make every guests experience the best we can and take every suggestion seriously implementing anything that is practical and helpful. We are closing the unit for 2 weeks in October to carry out essential repairs after a prolonged period of rentals and hope we can provide an even better experience for our future guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire J
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dirty”
Reviewed June 7, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This property is in serious need of a deep clean , its full of mould and dust all stuff that would come off with a bit of TLC.

Besides this it had lots of stuff that i needed and would of been very happy here for the week i just had.

the bedroom was a fantastic size i had the cot up the pull out bed pulled and the double bed and their was still plenty of room to move around.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the bedroom size
Liked least: the filth
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2015
In reply to your review, we take every review extremely seriously and I have investigated the issues you mentioned.

The apartment is part of a 1970s holiday establishment, and due to the age and location certain aspects may seem worn at times, but it is actually due to the age of the property, and the materials used in construction.

Although this type of review has never been received before after nearly 3 years of business, we pride our selves in the quality of the apartment, and have never received such a critical review. We are sorry you were unhappy with the cleanliness, but on investigation, it appears that our caretaker did everything possible to sort the issues out, something you don't mention in your review. We accept the grout in the shower was in places black or discoloured but the caretaker sorted this out promptly.

On reflection of the condition you left it in and the damage incurred (the sink was left broken by exerting too much pressure on it). When you left, the caretaker found the apartment in an appalling state with food was strewn all over the floors of both the living area and bedroom, he found toys under the sofa, in the garden and in the bathroom and there was a dining chair left out in the garden), I therefore find this a defensive and exaggerated response. The caretaker as I have mentioned above, responded to the issues you mentioned and rectified the problem at his earliest opportunity. If there were more issues you were unhappy with, you did not make him aware, therefore it was out of our control to appease you.

We are extremely proud about our track record in rectifying issues as soon as we are made aware and trying to make our apartment stand out from the rest in every way and are always open to constructive criticism.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarianaPH
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Small apartment near the beautiful Paignton beach”
Reviewed November 2, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
4
people found this review helpful

We would have given a "good" rating, but it wasn't possible so we had to go with "average" as "very good" wouldn't be quite right.
We have just arrived from Paignton yesterday 1st of November 2014. We rented this flat for October school break just to get out of town for little while. The flat looks larger in the photos than it really is. It was generally clean and well looked after though the building was in stank. The hall, as you got into the building had a really bad smell as nobody seem to air it at all. Actually the instruction on the entrance door to it, says that it should be closed at all times for security reasons, though the building is gated and quite safe. Back to the flat, if you can cope for few days with very small living kitchen and don't bother cooking much, then you will be fine. There were three of us and that space was a bit small for us. The bedroom though is larger with good bed though just one double bed. Bed sheets were provided just for the bed and the small sofa in the bedroom though the sofa in the living room could be used for sleeping as well. We rent holiday homes a lot and from our experience there is always a cupboard with bed sheets, duvet covers and blankets one can use if necessary (don't have to ask for some extra) and they are always freshly laundered. Another thing to mention is the thin walls. One can hear people talking through the walls or clocks ticking and if you are light sleeper then may be it is best to know that in advance. However, overall the flat was good for one week and we did appreciate the efforts the owner made to make the best of the size of this flat as well as his prompt response to our questions prior booking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Was close to the beach and had 2 TVs
Liked least: the smell in the entrance hall and the smell of the bed linen
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea H
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Wonderful weekend break”
Reviewed November 1, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

A lovely, clean comfortable apartment which was well equipped. Beautiful surroundings, ideal location. Lovely scenery and walks. We had a wonderful, much needed break. Thank you! Would definitely return!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2015
Thank you very much for your review. We will continue to try and give our guests a top class experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardica
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!!”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful apartment, fantastic setting, friendly people, lovely weather, & lovely heated swimming pool, what more could you want!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2015
Thank you very much for your kind words
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Reviewed May 10, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 11, 2014
That is such a lovely review and many thanks for staying with us. Paul and Leona are fantastic Managers and make sure the apartment is in tiptop condition always. Look forward to welcoming you again sometime soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 4, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you again !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing