We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pier Inn - CLOSED

The Pier Inn
Price range: $4 - $6
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Family friendly pub with a great atmosphere. Lovely homemade food cooked to great quality and great value for money.
Paignton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly and welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We have enjoyed several Sunday Lunches over the last 8 months and have always had a fantastic tasty and well presentd meal.
Have also been there on a Wednesday for Steak night. and steak was cooked to perfection. We will be eating there again.
The staff were very freindly and nothing is too much trouble.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kaz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    10
    5
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I think Simon K has obviously reviewed the wrong place. I have found the Pier Inn to be great value for money, with very polite and kind staff where nothing is too much trouble. The food is excellent and the sweet menu is terrific value and home made to boot.
I would only be too happy to recommend this place. Keep up the good work.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank archie22Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home Cooked Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Sunday Lunch here is delicious. I had home-cooked roast beef, yorkshire, roasties crisp through to the middle, Yorkshire pudding, four different vegetables and gravy. It's not a carvery. You sit down and they bring it to you, piping hot and beautifully served, and they asked me if I wanted more! Then there was pudding. I had home-made fruit crumble ans ice-cream, although I could have had custard - divine. All that, and a nice glass of wine and a view over Paignton Harbour and nice company and conversation. What more could you ask for?

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FionaFaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

I can only say that Simon K is one of those people that moans about everything!! I am very fussy about vegetables, and I couldn't fault them - we had carrots, peas, cauliflower in cheese sauce and cabbage, all well cooked and tasty. The beef was moist and well cooked, and roasties were good. Excellent value for money, and with desserts at just £1 you can't go wrong - my husband had the home made lemon mernigue pie, which he really enjoyed. With a bottle of house wine at just £10 it made a nice change from cooking Sunday dinner, and we shall definately be back

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank maureen2808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“rubbish”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

very dark pub, the place needs updating the staff had no manners and the food well it was just horrid, they said it was home made roast I wouldn't feed it to a dog. in my opinion less than one spot avoid or try it at your own peril

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pier Inn also viewed

Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing