We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best steak ever!!”

Cattlemans and Parkers Arms
Ranked #16 of 182 Restaurants in Paignton
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best steak ever!!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had an amazing meal, we both had steaks on the volcanic rock which I would highly recommend. Such good quality steaks and the meals were huge. Will definitely be going back as it was so good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bondy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    55
    24
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Steaks”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We had starters of Garlic Mushrooms they were average, but to be honest this is not a place to go for a 3 course meal, you go purely for the steaks and they were excellent we had ours cooked on the hot stone and they could not be faulted. We did have sauces the Blue Cheese was not at all very nice, the Diane sauce was very think, the steaks come with side salad which was nicely presented and plenty of chips, overall a very nice meal and if it's a good steak you want then this is the place to go. The wine was a bit rough and we did not have room for dessert. If you are look for a romantic meal for 2 don't go here, you could go to better places and have great meals for a lower cost than this. We did get friendly service and it was made known to us that they would like a review on trip advisor.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

A friend had this place recommended so a group of us went there for a meal.
The food was well presented and tasty, the service was very friendly and helpful.
I'd definitely go there again, and would recommend it to family and friends.

Helpful?
2 Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Top drawer”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Went here on a recommendation from friends. The experience starts as soon as you walk through the door. Very friendly service, great ambience, fantastic food and very well priced. If you fancy a treat, book early and go and enjoy yourself.....10/10

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Wal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great steaks but quality and presentation of accompanying dishes poor.”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Did not have starters. The steaks and ribs were excellent but for the price you pay (very expensive) I would expect the accompanying dishes to be of a high standard. The salad was very poorly presented and was more of a garnish than an actual salad. A portion of coleslaw was extra and I feel should have been included in the price of your meal.
The desserts again very poorly presented and nothing special. The banana split looked like my 4 year old niece had made it!!!
All this said the idea of cooking a steak on a volcanic rock yourself is a very good idea, really enjoyed it. If they could only get their act together with everything else this would be well worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cattlemans and Parkers Arms also viewed

Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Been to Cattlemans and Parkers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing