We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't just turn up - make a reservation”
Review of Orange Blossom Bistro - CLOSED

Orange Blossom Bistro
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Post code TQ4 5BP, used to be the Backstage Bistro, Paignton
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Don't just turn up - make a reservation”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had planned to go here for our first year anniversary. The only website Orange Blossom has is via facebook. This facebook page clearly indicates it is open on a sunday evening. However, disaster! The opening hours on the facebook are wrong, it's closed on Sundays. We turned up and were very disappointed. However, we found Noi's Thai restaurant, a short walk away, which was amazing so all things turn out even better in the end. We had left a ansaphone message reserving a table and should have cheked when our message was not returned.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Abigail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    8
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautifully fresh and authentic Turkish food”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We recently had tea at Orange Blossom with our 3 three children aged 2,5 and 9. There was a really chilled atmosphere and the owners couldn't have been friendlier, the food was colourful, fresh, and packed with flavour our children loved trying all the different starters. We would definitely recommend it and will be returning.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suko R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great fresh food and really friendly host”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We arrived late, just before closing time, after seeing a film. Nevertheless, we were met with a really warm welcome and some great Turkish/ Mediterranean food, freshly cooked. The menu had hot and cold meze plus a good variety of main meals, several lamb-based. Good range of alcoholic and soft drinks too. All very reasonably priced. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Kid77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent value”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

The food was great tasting. Service was attentive and friendly. The cost was very reasonable. If you want a change from some of the other tired, boring traditional restaurants, then this is the place to go to.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pardeep N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A taste of the East on the English Riviera”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Very friendly service and tasty, authentic, delicious food. We had a stuffed aubergine dish, Imam Bayildi, and a lamb and vegetable stew. Followed by excellent baklava and Turkish coffee. Good value, great food - I would definitely eat there on a future visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geologist04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orange Blossom Bistro also viewed

Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing