We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay.”

The Clifton At Paignton
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paignton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Clifton At Paignton
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Reviewed July 12, 2014

The hotel is close to the sea front providing a great base to explore Paignton. If you stay here, you are guaranteed a very warm welcome (tea and coffee provided on arrival was most welcomed after a long drive) and comfortable stay. The rooms are spacious and the shower is powerful - better than some hotels we have stayed in. The only thing we would have liked is blackout blinds as the sun was strong in the morning. Steve provides an excellent breakfast, setting you up for the day and Freda is on hand with any advice needed on where to visit.

Room Tip: We booked a Premier Room which had a 6ft double bed, which was very comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASP82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 77 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2014

If you're looking for a guesthouse within a stones throw of the hustle & bustle of Torbay road, but equally within walking distance of the Esplanade then The Clifton fits the bill. Service was welcoming, warm and very hospitable, however our family room was relatively basic in terms of creature comfort, most certainly could have done with a little TLC beforehand. Breakfast was fine, you need to order the evening before but the Traditional English Breakfast was fresh, hot and served with a smile!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Concierge001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Fabulous, faultless & so very, very friendly. Freda & Steve could not have been more welcoming & helpful. Greeted with a cup of tea on arrival. Our room was spotlessly clean. The location of the hotel is just a couple of minutes walk from the beach, bars & shops but still far enough for nighttime noise not to be a problem. Breakfast was also superb with a great choice & plenty of extra toast, enough for even the biggest of appetites. We are looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shazzles40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Just came back from our stay at The Clifton and would most certainly recommend it! We were made to feel like visiting friends from the moment we arrived and Freda and Steve were extremely accomodating for our 8 month old son, doing everything they could to help make things easier for us on our first trip away with a baby! The position of The Clifton is perfect, a 2 min walk to the seafront and seaside shops/arcades and a 5 min walk to the main town. Breakfast is served between 8.30-9 and there is a variety of fresh, high quality options to choose from. We look forward to staying here again next time we are in paignton.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelsey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was our third time staying at the Clifton with Freda and Steve and we are happy to report that it was as excellent as the first time we stayed in 2011.

The welcome as always was friendly with a choice of drinks and biscuits on arrival, we arrived together with another couple and Steve and Freda ensured that we were both equally warmly received.

We had booked a three night break but as we were enjoying ourself so much extended our stay.

We stayed on a half board basis and the food, prepared on the whole freshly from scratch with an honesty about the very few things that were not, was of the high standard we have come to know and trust at the Clifton. Steve remains a passionate and adventurous chef trying new dishes to delight and surprise every palette and include special diets. If you are coeliac, his flour less chocolate cake will not disappoint either a special dietary requirement or a chocoholics dreams.

Freda and Steve's hospitality and local area knowledge will ensure you will have a wonderful break and that you will get the most from your time visiting the areas many attractions.

The honesty bar and the lovely guests who stay at the Clifton, many returning annually, add to that warm home away from home feeling we always experience at the Clifton,

We cannot say enough good about this delightful hotel, but our reluctance to leave and our longing to return may show you the reader just how much we love staying at the Clifton.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonnaC29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I picked this hotel as a surprise for my partner as was taking her to Paignton to busy her sister and nieces, excellent, last check in was 8pm and I requested a possible later check in as was traveling from Warrington, wasn't a issue, arrived earlyer then expected to a great welcome, offered drinks while filling in registration card, shown us to our room, loverly spacious double, well looked after, loverly furniture modern design, we were here for two nights and were informed to help our self to the honesty bar, and were correctly billed at the end, breakfast was fast and loverly and was a wide selection of cereals and yogurts plus fully cooked breakfasts , overall great experience and will stay there again when in Paignton , 3 min walk to seaside, excellent :-)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finley-james
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

we booked a short break at the last minute and randomly stumbled across this hotel,well what luck!! such a personal approach to the guests we called ahead and were welcomed to check in early and leave our stuff in the room as the room wasn't in use the previous night we were greeted by steve and then freda who instantly made us feel welcome,supplied us with any drinks we wanted whilst we filled registation card in,and made sure anything we required was catered for. the room was spacious and clean and the general feel of the place was home from home,we will definitely go back,and add to some great memories for my youngest son in a place i have fond memories of, and thanks to all @ the clifton we have a good start with this visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dogspal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.2 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
547 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
0.5 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#10 of 17 in Paignton
297 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
414 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#3 of 17 in Paignton
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clifton At Paignton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton At Paignton

Address: 9-10 Kernou Road, Paignton TQ4 6BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Paignton
#8 Romantic Hotel in Paignton
Price Range: $35 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
The Clifton Paignton
The Clifton At Paignton Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing