We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So very friendly”

The Clifton At Paignton
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paignton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Clifton At Paignton
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“So very friendly”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Fabulous, faultless & so very, very friendly. Freda & Steve could not have been more welcoming & helpful. Greeted with a cup of tea on arrival. Our room was spotlessly clean. The location of the hotel is just a couple of minutes walk from the beach, bars & shops but still far enough for nighttime noise not to be a problem. Breakfast was also superb with a great choice & plenty of extra toast, enough for even the biggest of appetites. We are looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazzles40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    14
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
28
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St Austell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Just came back from our stay at The Clifton and would most certainly recommend it! We were made to feel like visiting friends from the moment we arrived and Freda and Steve were extremely accomodating for our 8 month old son, doing everything they could to help make things easier for us on our first trip away with a baby! The position of The Clifton is perfect, a 2 min walk to the seafront and seaside shops/arcades and a 5 min walk to the main town. Breakfast is served between 8.30-9 and there is a variety of fresh, high quality options to choose from. We look forward to staying here again next time we are in paignton.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was our third time staying at the Clifton with Freda and Steve and we are happy to report that it was as excellent as the first time we stayed in 2011.

The welcome as always was friendly with a choice of drinks and biscuits on arrival, we arrived together with another couple and Steve and Freda ensured that we were both equally warmly received.

We had booked a three night break but as we were enjoying ourself so much extended our stay.

We stayed on a half board basis and the food, prepared on the whole freshly from scratch with an honesty about the very few things that were not, was of the high standard we have come to know and trust at the Clifton. Steve remains a passionate and adventurous chef trying new dishes to delight and surprise every palette and include special diets. If you are coeliac, his flour less chocolate cake will not disappoint either a special dietary requirement or a chocoholics dreams.

Freda and Steve's hospitality and local area knowledge will ensure you will have a wonderful break and that you will get the most from your time visiting the areas many attractions.

The honesty bar and the lovely guests who stay at the Clifton, many returning annually, add to that warm home away from home feeling we always experience at the Clifton,

We cannot say enough good about this delightful hotel, but our reluctance to leave and our longing to return may show you the reader just how much we love staying at the Clifton.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaC29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I picked this hotel as a surprise for my partner as was taking her to Paignton to busy her sister and nieces, excellent, last check in was 8pm and I requested a possible later check in as was traveling from Warrington, wasn't a issue, arrived earlyer then expected to a great welcome, offered drinks while filling in registration card, shown us to our room, loverly spacious double, well looked after, loverly furniture modern design, we were here for two nights and were informed to help our self to the honesty bar, and were correctly billed at the end, breakfast was fast and loverly and was a wide selection of cereals and yogurts plus fully cooked breakfasts , overall great experience and will stay there again when in Paignton , 3 min walk to seaside, excellent :-)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finley-james
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finedon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

we booked a short break at the last minute and randomly stumbled across this hotel,well what luck!! such a personal approach to the guests we called ahead and were welcomed to check in early and leave our stuff in the room as the room wasn't in use the previous night we were greeted by steve and then freda who instantly made us feel welcome,supplied us with any drinks we wanted whilst we filled registation card in,and made sure anything we required was catered for. the room was spacious and clean and the general feel of the place was home from home,we will definitely go back,and add to some great memories for my youngest son in a place i have fond memories of, and thanks to all @ the clifton we have a good start with this visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dogspal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This was a most wonderful holiday. From the very moment we arrived at the Clifton hotel Freda and Steve made us most welcome. We were welcomed with choice of drinks and provided with biscuits. They were both very friendly and made us feel very welcome.
The bed was comfortable, the room was very beautiful, clean and tidy and the shower was excellent we could not asked for much more it was very much to our satisfaction.
We were never bored Freda told us about all the entertainment going on around the area and even gave us booklets. We never got lost she was absolutely wonderful she gave us all the directions we needed to get to places.
We only stayed for breakfast but every morning there were a wide range of choices for breakfast nothing was never too much for them they asked if you were ok and made sure you were happy with the service you was being provided with.
I would definitely recommend this hotel . The service excellent, with polite friendly faces. We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r1roger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Lynn
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We picked the Clifton for its location, between the railway station and the sea front. After a 6 hour journey the warm welcome and pot of tea were very much appreciated. Our room was clean and comfortable, and we enjoyed a full English breakfast, for 3 mornings on the trot, good job we walked a lot! Paignton is a lively place, with good transport links to everywhere very important when holidaying without the car. The Clifton hosts (Steve & Freda) are VERY friendly, and you will not feel more welcome anywhere!

Room Tip: We paid extra for a larger room at the font, it only had a shower, but a very good one, there was no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraceyKingsLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.5 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
0.8 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 17 in Paignton
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
504 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
391 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#3 of 17 in Paignton
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clifton At Paignton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton At Paignton

Property: The Clifton At Paignton
Address: 9-10 Kernou Road, Paignton TQ4 6BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Paignton
#7 Family Hotel in Paignton
#8 Romantic Hotel in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
The Clifton Paignton
The Clifton At Paignton Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing