We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good value”

Georges Carvery & Bar
Ranked #120 of 181 Restaurants in Paignton
Cuisines: British, Bar, Pub
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Serves Alcohol
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

always enjoy carvery there.clean,nice position on front,good selection of food.clean.seating better than before--more comfortable

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank pat h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    16
    3
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“georges famous carvery is now/ the mermaid”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Tow weeks after slaging off georges cavery, they changed their name, dont know if it is any better, but it used to be very good, i might try it later on in the year, perhaps i might write something positive, got to get afalse beard for when i do go there thought, lets hope it is as good as it used to be, giving it a average rating for the amount of people sat outside, I know this sounds abit harse the way things are, but i don"t like being done

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesa74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“What a waste of good money/ should of had fish & chips”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

went there to-day 11/04/2013, for a carvery, found that theprice had risen to £6-95, last time two for a tenner, thought did'nt mind because always been pretty good, but over the last 6 months the quality started sliding for the worse. to-day choice of 2meats, pork & supose to be turkey, 1 stuffing ball left in the tray, cheft went away brought back6 yorshire pudding, bearing in mind there were about 4 people in the que waiting., plain collflower, no chese, no cabbage, no peas, no turnip, for the price rise we got carrots boiled collyflower green beans,red cabbage & mashpotatoes, &then he ran out of roast spuds,4 left which i took, must be new owners, because always usde to be good.didnt complain had the kids with me,won't get anywhere anway, but i won't bother again, spend £31 / 3ad 1child 2pots of tea, appletizer,&a kids drink,

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jamesa74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Georges Cavery & Bar rules!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Lush Food and Cavery and good drinks. Good Cavery for Familys and friends who would like to chill out and relax, who can relax and chill inside with a nice hot cavery and watch the children who are playing outside and can view from the big windows or they can play inside and enjoy nice Georges Specail.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luckylolypop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Lovely carvery, in a great place. Lots to keep the children entertained and close to most attractions. Would go back again. Family of 4 fed with drinks for £26

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KLyons85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Georges Carvery & Bar also viewed

Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Been to Georges Carvery & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing