We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Turkey & Tinsel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bonair

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paignton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Bonair
Ranked #41 of 100 Paignton B&B and Inns
Oldbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Turkey & Tinsel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

I have been to the hotel Bonair a few times and have always been very pleased with the Accomadation ,food ,staff ,entertainment etc we always have a great time on our turkey and tinsel and hope to revisit in 2015 ,as we cannot go this year the hotel is already full in December at weekends.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pauline194312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    17
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
30
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gillingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

What a fab time we had! Christmas decorations and ambience were brilliant, mince pie and sherry on arrival, everyone friendly and enjoying the festive atmosphere.
Three of us travelled by car but had frequent chats with coach party from Birmingham. Entertainment was varied, Ray, the 'country' chap was brilliant, but all performers got us dancing. Food was as good as we've had in this sort of hotel,plenty of choice at breakfast and always re-fills if required. Our room (twin) was newly refurbished, spotlessly clean and good view over the green out to sea. Our friend's single, although at the back of the hotel, was a good size and had a decent shower. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit, even joining in with the fancy dress on the last night, and because of the friendliness of all the staff we will definitely be returning in the future.

Room Tip: Balcony and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lesley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHROPHIRE
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Arriving at hotel , we were greeted after a long journey with a homely welcome & refreshments,
hotel spotless, lovely views from bedrooms, brilliant shower,
.
Staff work so hard to make sure things run smoothly, entertainment something for everyone
we had a ball .thanks everyone at Bonair Merry Christmas to everyone,

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SANDSSHROPHIRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

On arrival our luggage was taken to room whilst we enjoyed a tea/coffee, mince pie and sherry. We had a twin room with a balcony and sea view. Plenty of drawers and wardrobe space. Comfy beds. Soap dispensers in the bathroom and in the shower. Hairdryer in one of the drawers. Room was clean and tidy. Food was very good with plenty to eat. On "Christmas day" Santa paid a visit with a gifts for everyone. The most surprising thing were the Christmas decorations. They were fantastic and no wonder the hotel closes for a week to do them. They were better than the ones seen in stores. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jackie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Just return from a three day break Turkey & Tinsel 15th November-18th...on arrival nice warm welcome,greeted with a glass of sherry and a mince pie, nice start, then we were taken to our room, it was clean and tidy a little outdated but we were only staying three days so though OK, then is started going wrong, no where to put my creams, no mirror, no shelving and this was just the bedroom, so tried the shower room no shelving, just one very little one to hold your toothpaste ect and this was over the toilet, so had to work from my vanity case all through my stay very awkward not good for us ladies, the main window in our bedroom was very, very dirty so it spoil looking at the views looking from our window, the entertainment for the three nights was very average in fact i go as fare as to say poor...three different artists and not one could sing all used backing track so very limited, breakfast was good but the evening meals again poor Christmas meal was very average no Christmas pudding had to ask for extra gravy little things that make your meal, on what we called the boxing day 75% of our party had to return the potatoes (rock hard)...i was shocked that on the Sunday our room was not cleaned or our towels changed they were left in the same position in side the shower for them to be changed this was with all of us bed was just pulled to-gather this happen to all on in our group...i believe its a family run hotel but one girl who i am told it a daughter served behind the bar on our last night with her husband this lady could do with a customer care course, rude and not very help full, could do with been a littler nicer to the customers again this was 75% of our group who commented on this, the morning of our departure we were knocked up early to get out of our room (not a problem) but if they were as kind as getting access to the rooms for cleaning and changing the beds then that would have been great...i do believe our party of 40 plus have been asked if we would return again on another Turkey and tinsel..100% said yes but 50-60% said only if it was a different hotel...my friends and I wont be returning to this hotel unless things changed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Singer1718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

we stayed at bonair for 5 days in October our 3rd visit for turkey and tinsel really good staff lovely and helpful ,food nice entertainment good rooms are cleaned quickly when you go to breakfast which is good we travel as a couple and join in with other people in hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BirminghamElaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Excellent weekend stay at this hotel. We had a room with balcony and sea view which was lovely. Food very good. Entertainment especially on Friday night was fabulous and had us all up dancing.
Finally a word about the staff - they were all amazing - nothing too much trouble. We have already booked to go again next year.

Room Tip: most rooms at front of hotel have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EileenH1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.5 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 18 in Paignton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wulfruna Hotel
Wulfruna Hotel
#14 of 18 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sefton Lodge
Sefton Lodge
#65 of 100 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Waters Lodge
Blue Waters Lodge
#2 of 100 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cherry Tree Hotel
Cherry Tree Hotel
#19 of 100 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#5 of 100 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bonair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonair

Property: Hotel Bonair
Address: 35 Esplanade Road, Paignton TQ4 6BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Hotel Bonair Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing