We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING B&B - FIRST CLASS BREAKFAST!”
Review of Garfield Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Garfield Lodge
Ranked #63 of 96 Paignton B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“AMAZING B&B - FIRST CLASS BREAKFAST!”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed at Garfield Lodge for a romantic weekend getaway. The two owners welcomed us in a very friendly way and we got a super clean and comfortable room. The red room is just perfect for couples. The breakfast was amazing. Selfmade bread and freshly brewed bean coffee. The location is within a short walking distance to bars, restaurants, the beach and the harbour. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    14
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
32
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

we really enjoyed our stay at Garfield Lodge. We got a nice, large and spotless clean room. The breakfast was excelent. It has a great choice and it is even served until 10 am. The owners are really friendly and helpful! So far the best guestroom we stayed in during our UK-trip!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UyangaMGL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

got to b/b at 2.45,was warmly greeted by owner who took us up to purple room on first floor.he told us central heating fault on this floor he had provded fan heater for us.no parking available i did find spot in nearbye road;there is a multi storey car park nearby which charges £2 daily till 6pm and £2for night parking;we had evening meal at park hotel 50yds away and was allowed to park car overnight for free.got drowned going out for snack meal found fish chip shop on front after looking for shoreline which was hidden behind vue cinema.got steam train to dartmouth,nice 30mn trip;sun came out so enjoyed time before rain came in again.the ensuite in lodge is brand new,shower very good.you book nxt day breakfast so you have nice range of choice and good amount.so overall good position and value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My husband and myself stayed here for a couple of nights, found Inge and Michael to be very accommodating and very helpful! Room (orange) was very clean en-suite was extremely new and extremely clean, tea, coffee and water in rooms replaced daily. Breakfast was gorgeous alot if it and the choices were endless. Nice little touches like shower gels, shampoos, hair-dryer and access to wi-fi. Overall a lovely refreshing stay.
Thanks to Inge and Michael.

Linda and David.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Our stay at Garfield Lodge was very pleasant. The owners are very welcoming and friendly. Our clean and comfortable room had good facilities. The breakfasts were first class.The location was ideal as it was within a short walking distance to the beach, harbour, town and parks. Recommended.
Pam & Jerry

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pam f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury on Thames
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

In a place where there are lots and lots of Guest Houses (and I usually try and stay in nice hotels) I expected very average lodgings. I'm not saying this place was a palace, but it was clean and tidy and comfortable and quiet. We could make tea and coffee in the room and found a tin with sweets in it, and the bathroom had little shampoo/conditioner and shower gel - things I would expect in a hotel but not a guest house. We had a hair dryer and when I asked for an iron I got one straight away. Breakfast was great, speedy and friendly with a nice atmosphere.
If I was to talk about the negatives - none of which ruined our stay - I'd mention the mattress. It made us laugh actually - I sat on the bed and a spring 'pinged' and made my lipstick which was on the bed - ping in the air about 10 inches! Regardless of this - I slept very well. The only other thing to mention- is that when we came out of our room you could smell cigarette smoke - I am assuming this was because somebody had stood at the front door and smoked and it had wafted in and I may have been over sensitive about it as I am in the throws of giving up!!
So all in all - it was what we needed - comfortable, friendly, little extra's, great food and a good location!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuteley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deanshanger, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

had a great stay at the garfield lodge , breakfast was excellent , room very clean and owners very friendly . didnt have any cranberry juice at breakfast but when i asked for it next day it was there . would recommend .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jocelyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.7 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 17 in Paignton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bronte Hotel
Bronte Hotel
#67 of 96 in Paignton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Brampton Guesthouse
Brampton Guesthouse
#31 of 96 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rowcroft Lodge
Rowcroft Lodge
#56 of 96 in Paignton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seaways
Seaways
#47 of 96 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garfield Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garfield Lodge

Property: Garfield Lodge
Address: 30 Garfield Road, Paignton TQ4 6AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Garfield Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garfield Lodge is situated only 70 yards from the famous blue flag beach. The pier with various open deck attractions and it‘s beautiful view of Torbay is in walking distance - so are the town's shops, cafes, bars and restaurants. The bus station, car park and not to forget the ancient steam railway are all just a few minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garfield Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garfield Lodge Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing