We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garfield Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Garfield Lodge
Ranked #60 of 100 Paignton B&B and Inns
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Garfield lodge is close to the railway and bus station, and also ideally situated for the beach. Serice was good and my room was spotlessly clean. The poached eggs I had for breakfast were cooked to perfection.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReallyTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    14
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
32
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
street
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

Not very superior room, 2 singles 'hitched' together to make big double..but no bedding to cover it. 2 single very thin duvets were all we had..room was big. but, appliances, mirrors and plugs are not within reach of each other, mirror nowhere near a plug to enable to use hairdryer.Same with kettle. bathroom was very small..but clean and had everything. darker curtains would've been nice, to prevent an early wake up. breakfast was nice to be fair..just when we asked for mushrooms..more than 1 wouldve been nice. but the toast was forever coming as was the tea/coffee. smelt of smoke everywhere even our clothes in our case did when we returned home. yet it was non smoking house..

Room Tip: bring pyjamas, cos no bedding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank randyit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garfieldlodge, Owner at Garfield Lodge, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
It's usual around the world, even in big hotels, to use two joined beds with two duvets. In the booking system you had used, we provide photos of the rooms and you can see also the two beds and two duvets. We can't understand that you booked in, if this is a problem for you.
Our house is central heated, so turning on the radiator is the first help. Otherwise we offer additional blankets or heaters, but this is normaly only necessary during the winter for the frozen ones.
But we can only help, if we know about a problem!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

Right at the arrival we were welcomed by Inge and Michael who turned our weekend break into a great holiday experience! We were staying in spotless Room Purple. A really nice furnished room with all extras: coffee and tea facilities, toiletries, WiFi and even a iPod Dockingstation. The breakfast was excellent. On the buffet you can choose your yogurts, fruit, teas, jams or cereals and Michael brings you a big plate with the rest. The accommodation is perfectly situated, close to the pier and the town center - as well as to the train station.
We had a really great stay and are looking forward to stay at Garfield Lodge again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miranda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 day break. On arrival we were met by Inge and Michael who are the owners and were very pleasant and welcoming upon our arrival. The room was very big and had all the little extras you would expect in the bathroom, including a gents shoe shine.
Tea/coffee/milk/biscuits/sweets and bottle water was replaced daily. The breakfast was excellent, toast/ fresh fruit/ yogurt/ jams/cereals and a very good cooked breakfast nothing was too much trouble,we were even offered extra if we wanted it.This property is situated in an ideal location not far from the beach and the town centre.We will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

never stayed in paington before was greeted at the door by michael, friendly warm welcome told us to make ourselves at home, accommodation spotless food excellent nothing too much trouble, will be going back again later in the year. have stayed in lots of accommodation and this has to be the best. would highly recommend it. mr and mrs Brueford weston super mare

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 500chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2010

Stayed for five nights, had a wonderful relaxing time, June and her brother in law very welcoming and friendly, felt like we had known them for a long time, breakfast excellent with a wide varity to choose from, would certainly recommend this B & B and would certainly stay there again. Malcolm & Linda Lock

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chipstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2009

We have just returned from a short break at Garfield Lodge Guest House, Garfield Road, Paignton which is run by a lovely lady called June. Situated literally 50 yards from the sea front, it is perfectly situated with easy access to the beach, pier and both the town centre. The room we had was lovely and had an en-suite bathroom, tv, a double and single bed, tea-making facilities (which is welcome after a stroll on the front), and was spotlessly clean. We only stayed for 4 nights but was made to feel very welcome by June and Pete, nothing was too much trouble.

The breakfasts really are something else. There was a nice selection of cereals and fruit, then the breakfast cooked by June, wow. Sausage, bacon, beans, mushrooms, egg, hash browns, tomato, saute potatoes (if you ask for them) and loads of toast and tea and coffee!! You won't want to eat again until the evening!

There are literally hundreds of guest houses in Paignton and it can be hard to choose a good one. This has to be one of the best, you won't find one better I think.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AhhhGoldfinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.7 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 18 in Paignton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.0 mi away
Brampton Guesthouse
Brampton Guesthouse
#33 of 100 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bronte Hotel
Bronte Hotel
#67 of 100 in Paignton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Birklands Guest House
Birklands Guest House
#30 of 100 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Merriedale Guest House
Merriedale Guest House
#24 of 100 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garfield Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garfield Lodge

Property: Garfield Lodge
Address: 30 Garfield Road, Paignton TQ4 6AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Garfield Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garfield Lodge is situated only 70 yards from the famous blue flag beach. The pier with various open deck attractions and it‘s beautiful view of Torbay is in walking distance - so are the town's shops, cafes, bars and restaurants. The bus station, car park and not to forget the ancient steam railway are all just a few minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Garfield Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garfield Lodge Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing