We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for kids of all ages!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Paignton Geopark

Paignton Geopark
Ranked #4 of 35 things to do in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great for kids of all ages!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

The Geopark on Paignton sea front is designed around the English Riviera’s geological history aimed at children of all ages. There is lots to do from playing in the sand making sand castles to climbing on the multitude of frames and various apparatus Tarzan swings, zipwires, seesaws, mini teacup for little-ones. Lots of open space for ball games, Frisbee games etc and then there's the beach itself...and it doesn't cost a penny!! Bargain!!

The toddler area has a swing over a wetpour sea. This area also has a seesaw, climbing hut, trampoline and spinner bowls, the junior area has a giant climbing mountain shaped net.

The sand and water play area has a purpose built water channel for children to pump and dam water and digging equipment and tables for sand play. The teen play zone has lots to challenge the older child/teen where they can play on the zip wire, towers, play huts, a six way swing, climbing logs and stilts and climbing trees.

Hours of free fun!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Merrydales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    88
    29
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“GeoGeoGeo!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I was a little worried when the plans for this Geopark were published as I felt it would spoil the famous 'Paignton green'. I have to say, I personally, think I was wrong!
The park has been very well laid out, (okay it's had a few teething problems), without spoiling the views. There is a choice for all ages, a zip wire, climbing frame, swings, sand pit and much more, and this is evident by how busy the park can be.
The surrounding area has ample space for relaxing or getting out the picnic basket.
It's spot is ideal, close to all amenities and right alongside the beach, so when the kids have had enough in the play park they can just sidle along for a dip in the sea.
It's a must to let the kids make their own choices and allow them to spend some of the never ending energy.
The only downside is that there is no parking close to the area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank stujay2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A 5 year old's daily routine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Had to visit this park every day with my 5 year old whilst on holiday this year. Newly built since last time we went to Paignton (8 years ago) so a welcome surprise as it was just an open green space before. Lots of use out of it by all kids, with loads of variation in play that kept them happy for quite a while. There were even kids playing on it at 9pm when it was dark lol.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rachnpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Kids Fun.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Right on the front of Paignton an eco type play area with sand pits, zip wires swings, slides and a whole lot more and its al FREE!!!!! I for a family you could if you wanted let the kids run free while you sat out side the near by bars with a nice cold drink while you watch over the young ones or grab a snack from the beach side outlets and watch them have there fun.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoffHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“best park yet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

we loved it here had more things to do than park at home they have really thought about the childrens needsl

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paignton Geopark also viewed

 
Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Been to Paignton Geopark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing