We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GeoGeoGeo!!!”
Review of Paignton Geopark

Paignton Geopark
Ranked #3 of 35 things to do in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“GeoGeoGeo!!!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I was a little worried when the plans for this Geopark were published as I felt it would spoil the famous 'Paignton green'. I have to say, I personally, think I was wrong!
The park has been very well laid out, (okay it's had a few teething problems), without spoiling the views. There is a choice for all ages, a zip wire, climbing frame, swings, sand pit and much more, and this is evident by how busy the park can be.
The surrounding area has ample space for relaxing or getting out the picnic basket.
It's spot is ideal, close to all amenities and right alongside the beach, so when the kids have had enough in the play park they can just sidle along for a dip in the sea.
It's a must to let the kids make their own choices and allow them to spend some of the never ending energy.
The only downside is that there is no parking close to the area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank stujay2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    91
    29
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A 5 year old's daily routine”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Had to visit this park every day with my 5 year old whilst on holiday this year. Newly built since last time we went to Paignton (8 years ago) so a welcome surprise as it was just an open green space before. Lots of use out of it by all kids, with loads of variation in play that kept them happy for quite a while. There were even kids playing on it at 9pm when it was dark lol.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rachnpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Kids Fun.”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Right on the front of Paignton an eco type play area with sand pits, zip wires swings, slides and a whole lot more and its al FREE!!!!! I for a family you could if you wanted let the kids run free while you sat out side the near by bars with a nice cold drink while you watch over the young ones or grab a snack from the beach side outlets and watch them have there fun.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoffHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“best park yet”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

we loved it here had more things to do than park at home they have really thought about the childrens needsl

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A reasonable kiddies play area but in the middle of the dump that is Paignton”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The 'Geopark' is a grandiose name for a beach-side toddlers play area, with climbing things and the like. It's actually quite nice, but the problem is the rest of the place that surrounds it. As you arrive in Paignton, there is an enormous , massively-high, massively-ugly concrete eyesore that blocks the sea view from all the old seaside hotels - goodness knows how that got planning permission but apparently it has been there for decades. They should pull the whole thing down. It's actually a cinema with a beach restaurant built in, but it completely ruins the views and ambience of the whole seafront, horrible horrible horrible. Then next to the Geopark, you have a large, very noisy funfair. The reason this is a problem is because of the stench of all the diesel generators, which drifts across the Geopark and down onto the beach area creating a thoroughly unpleasant environment. You may as well do cartwheels on the central reservation of the motorway, you'd get about the same health benefits. Paignton seafront by the Geopark is pubs, amusements, pubs, amusements, chippies, pubs, amusements, you get the idea. The Goepark serves its purpose well - if most adults are in the pubs, the teenagers are in the amusements or funfair, then young kids and mums can at least take some sort of refuge from all that at the Geopark area. As said the Geopark is next to the beach, however It was a hottish day when we visited, but virtually nobody was on the beach. That was really weird. What do they know that I didn't ? The red sands of the beach are a novelty but it's not good sandcastle sand, it's more like rough/sharp building sand, it doesn't 'stick' into castles. In addition, the seafront concrete promenade looks old, crumbling and tatty, and as said the fumes from the funfair generators combine to make this a thoroughly unpleasant seaside experience. I hated the place and so did the kids; thank god we weren't staying in Paignton. The one saving grace is that they've poshed up the main shopping road which is pedestrianized and has a very pretty double-line of trees, but it's mainly the same old high-street uk stores. In summary if you have young kids, the Geopark as an attraction is not worth going out of your way for; if you are unfortunate enough to find yourself in Paignton anyway, then it's a nice free refuge to sit with a takeaway coffee. There's not much if any shelter there though if it starts to rain. Oh one more thing, there is a donkey-ride a stone's throw from the Geopark, good for young kids and which seemed a reasonable price until you realize the kids get only about 2 minutes ride on the donkey! Still, the beasts looked well-looked-after, which is more than I can say for this particular British seafront. Paignton town council and planners, pull your finger out !

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank guitardog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paignton Geopark also viewed

 
Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Been to Paignton Geopark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing