We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take a picnic!!!”
Review of Occombe Farm

Occombe Farm
Ranked #11 of 35 things to do in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: It's free to visit this organic, working farm on the edge of Paignton. Open to the public 7 days a week, it includes a Farm Shop and Cafe serving local produce and a wonderful kitchen garden with a wartime allotment and air raid shelter. You can see farm animals including cows, sheep, goats, chickens, pigs and alpacas, and walk a lovely 2km nature trail with a bird hide. The farm is run by local charity Torbay Coast and Countryside Trust with all profits going to support its conservation and education work. The Trust run an events programme at Occombe and it's other sites, so please check the website for details of what's going on before you arrive. Free parking!
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Take a picnic!!!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The actual farm was very good, the nature trail was fun for our two children and the ride-along tractors provided at least an hour of great fun! What ruined the day was 1. The wasps in the picnic area, making it impossible for our children to eat their lunch and 2 going to the cafe so they could have something to eat in a wasp free environment. We were charged £25 for two kids meals (our eldest son is 7 and our youngest 1) we asked for a small bowl of pasta for our baby and they charged an extortionate amount! I made my poor husband go and complain as I wish he hadn't paid what he did, the manager refunded us £7, but still we felt slightly cheated. I suppose that's how they make their money as they don't charge an entry fee but just beware!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
12 Thank Kingfisher201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian C, Manager at Occombe Farm, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for the kind comments about the farm, we’re glad that you all enjoyed the nature trail and play tractors. Wasps are a naturally occurring part of our site biodiversity, being on a farm in the country, though we understand they can be a nuisance. We are sorry you did not feel you got value for money in the café. Two children’s meals should not have cost £25 as all children’s meals are £5.50 and under (the pasta being £4.50 per portion), so we’re not quite sure how that could have occurred. We will of course investigate this with the café, make sure correct till procedure is always being followed and see if there’s anything we can do to improve. We hope that you visit the farm again in the future, and we hope to make a better impression then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    54
    29
    18
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
395 reviews
286 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
“Wow what a great idea...”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had a great time with lots to do.
We were introduced to the animals, chickens, alpacas, pigs, sheep, goats and ruby red Devon cattle, my grandchildren 5 and 3 really enjoyed themselves.
We then watched people cooking.
The children enjoyed colouring activities and we watched older children pedal energy bikes - this taught children about energy.
We then went on a nature trail walk, great fun.
We then went to the kitchen garden and wartime allotment, we sat in the Anderson shelter, my grand children were fascinated by this.

The café and farm shop was delightful with lots of choice.
Highly recommend a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rhiacrewe t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A lovely day out”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

It is a lovely open farm with a beautiful woodland walk, which has a nature trail to keep the children occupied. It has gardens and a 'dig for victory' garden with an Anderson shelter which my son was fascinated by. There is also a lovely farm shop and tea room which does a delicious cream tea.
Well worth a visit if you are staying in the Torbay area

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good day out”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I was really impressed with everything this farm had to offer.

Firstly there is no charge to go into the place and nature trail is excellent. Whilst there are not really enough animals to qualify it as a true farm, what there are excellent and include alpacas, hens and pigs. The signs by the animals are very informative and the nature trail is worth it if only for the walk.

There is also a "play barn" (which unlike most places is also free) which houses a number of sit on tractors which was brilliant for the 2 and 3 year old children that we had with us.

There was also a play area with a climbing frame, swing etc and plenty of seating/tables so that you can keep an eye on the kids.

As everything is outside it is not a place to go if it is raining but as we went on a warm sunny day this is not a problem.

Whilst I agree that the food is expensive, I guess that centre has to be able to pay for the upkeep of the animals somehow.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank muppet960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Massively overpriced”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

£7-8 for panninis and sandwiches, why? Nothing special compared to places elsewhere. £5.50 for a bowl of soup, will not be returning as the prices are inflated for what is served up. Taste and quality of food was ok but I expected a lot more for the cost.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
16 Thank Discodren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian C, Manager at Occombe Farm, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Our aim is to serve excellent quality food and support local farmers. So, we serve locally sourced produce therefore keeping down food miles, both of which are very important to us, but there is an additional cost involved in these kind of products.
All profits from the café go to the Torbay Coast and Countryside Trust and are used to help maintain the beautiful countryside of Torbay, so by supporting Occombe Café you are helping to protect our local environment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Occombe Farm also viewed

 
Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Been to Occombe Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing