We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Briars

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Briars
Ranked #16 of 97 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2013

lovely friendy hotel, excellent situation for touring the area or just enjoying paignton itself, wonderful food, great company and always a warm welcome....excellent value for money, would recommend for families and couples.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nanny_po05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 175 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and I recently had a lovely stay at this hotel. An excellent location overlooking the bay, and fine service from Malcolm & Mandy. Breakfast was wonderful and the property nice and clean. We have no problem with recommending it to all.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davie01954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was our first time staying at the Briars and we received such a lovely warm welcome from Mandy and Malcolm, it made a perfect start to a perfect break. The room was an excellent standard, with an amazing view of Torbay. Breakfast was a treat, excellent service and great choice, cooked to your own preferences. We would recommend the Briars to family and friends. Paignton has a very friendly feel, service everywhere was excellent. A trip on the steam train is a 'must'.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuckyTraveller851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

From an excellent welcome, every part of our stay at the Briars was exceptional! Excellent hosts, excellent room and superb location. The service from Mandy and Malcolm was very personal and welcoming, we could not fault any aspect of our stay and look forward to returning again very soon, our 8 year old Jacob even commented how much that made him feel at home, he too cannot wait to return!.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacob-Mills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Excellent breakfast, brilliant hosts. The hotel is in a great location from the town and the sea front and the harbour. The service from Mandy and Malcolm is second to none.
Car parking is never a issue as there are plenty of spaces available.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I've known the Briars for many years under two previous owners, but hadn't stayed since about 2002. On a recent trip to the area I needed somewhere quickly and decided to try it again. It's been with the present owners for about five years, and has undergone a significant amount of refurbishment. It retains much of the original charm but with a modern twist, and has a light and comfortable feel throughout. The rooms are comfortable, and the bathrooms appear to be recently re-fitted. Bed linen and towels are of good quality, and the furnishings are comfortable. There was a problem in my room with some electrical items not working. This turned out to be a failed fuse which was replaced in minutes.

The current owners are a very friendly couple who work hard to give their clients a pleasant stay. A request for an early breakfast was promptly agreed, and I have to report that the breakfast was one of the best I've had anywhere, made using local produce as far as possible.

The location has always been a key attraction, as the hotel is only about 50 yards from the beach. It's on a fairly busy road but it's quiet in the evening and during the night. Paignton is looking a little run down these days unfortunately, but there are so many attractions in the area apart from the seaside that this is a great place to use as a base.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Lovely clean room, fresh nicely cooked breakfast with plenty of room in the dining area, plus the sea view is the best we have seen in Paignton. Location is brill, harbour and sea front less than a minute away.
Malcolm and Mandy are very helpful and friendly.We will be there again soon!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeyo58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.2 mi away
Sonachan House
Sonachan House
#6 of 97 in Paignton
245 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rosslyn Hotel
Rosslyn Hotel
#13 of 17 in Paignton
76 reviews
0.3 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Torland Hotel
The Torland Hotel
#15 of 17 in Paignton
45 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
413 reviews
0.3 mi away
Berry Hotel
Berry Hotel
#12 of 17 in Paignton
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briars

Address: 26 Sands Road, Paignton TQ4 6EJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range: $59 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Briars 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star silver award guest accommodation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Briars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briars Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing