We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and helpful staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hoburne Devon Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hoburne Devon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly and helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

I just came back from a week here and it was fab.the staff was brill they was all friendly and offered service like helping with luggage.the bar staff was fantastic who was funny and cheerful I don't go out much being a young widow with children but they did make my night.all staff deserve a raise lol I have rebooked for October,may and August so big thumbs up.caravan was fantastic site was clean and walking distance from paignton and beach.shop was well stocked and not overly priced I recommend this site 100 percent

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliegreen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    142
    47
    15
    15
See reviews for
370
69
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

This was our 3rd Time at Hobourne and we loved it. The site is clean and well maintained always seems to be someone doing odd jobs around the site. We booked our caravan through Torbay Caravans and it was very clean ok not very spacious but you should know that when you book and how much time do you spend in their when your on holiday! I agree with some of the comments about shop staff they did act like they didn't want to be at work, my girls used the indoor pool every day and loved it. The club does get busy and you get people in there from 5pm if not earlier reserving tables so it can be very difficult to get a seat and because of this we did not go in. All in all a good safe family site with majority of staff polite and friendly. Sadly for us this was to be our last caravan holiday as my girls have outgrown them now and are "too cool" to be away with their parents!!!!

Room Tip: If you like to sit out then choose a caravan with decking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lal21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

I have been here 10 yrs in a row and each year it just gets better and better entertainment this year is the best ive seen accommodation clean tidy comfertable freindly staff in both reception and bar and cafe it so good I came back for 2nd week this yr

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lagerlover40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Been to this camp 3 times and it is just the best. We have been to many camps over the years and this one beats them all. Clean, well kept and the Entertainment is outstanding (other recent comments about the entertainment are certainly not echoed by anyone else and we were there Thursday night and there was loads of applause?!). My kids 5 and 2 love it here and so do we. Goodrington Sands is fantastic for families, shallow waters, water park, deck chairs for a £2 all day £1 for half day, reasonable prices in the on beach shops we love it. Steam train chuffing away regularly along the seafront past the pretty painted beach huts, what more could you ask for and then back at night to a fantastic night of entertainment from the guys that work tirelessly from first thing in the morning to last thing at night and even though we went last week in the season, they still had a smile for you whatever time of day it was, nothing too much trouble. Pool areas are spotless. There's always someone that feels the need to moan, but take it from me and my family, this place is the bees knees and we will be returning year after year and as for the noise at night, that was probably us coming back from the club raving about what a Fab time we'd just had, which incidentally shuts at 11pm! - thanks Hoburne :-)

Room Tip: No need to go for Gold if booking through Hoburne, silver is just as good, H and H caravans is cheap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nasher_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

First time we have been in a private caravan booked through h and h caravans we saved £250 paid £460 last week of august with a verrander running all way round caravan was great. 14 and 8 yr old loved outdoor pool and indoor pool open till 9pm. Reception staff shop staff and security staff very pleasant and helpful. Site very clean and tidy and quiet we were in larkhill L14 right by shop and 2mins from complex. Found short cut to local shops and the pub next to garage ate there twice great meals 2 for £12.zoo great and 5 mins in car. Broadsands beach 5mins less packed great rock pools and cannoes. On site resturant only ate there once did not enjoy it. That was the only negetive to the park we already knew it was hilly.We had great time shame we did not manage to visit every where thats why we going to go back there nxt year well done hoburne.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

After reading several reviews of this site it sounded the best in the area. However there were some nightmares awaiting us on our weeks holiday in the silver standard caravan. Firstly the TV is not as described - small ! The parking on the site is poor and on many occasions we were forced to park a long way from the accommodation. It seems that there is no control over visitors etc parking on the site - seems a favourable alternative to beach parking charges !! On one occasion we saw three car loads turn up to visit someone in another caravan on site . Those three cars stayed for three days.
The caravans seem tightly packed and at night you can hear all sorts of activities going on elsewhere.
Lack of footpaths leads to people taking shortcuts through the caravans and there was plenty of rowdy drunken behaviour late at night.

As for entertainment - well it was the worst ever . On the Thursday the resident entertainers did a stint - they needn't of bothered - very amateur - the lack of applause said it all. Spend some money and get some decent entertainment in. As for the club security - a waste of time and money - people from everywhere were sneaking in round the back and up the rear stairs.

A waste of time and money - don't be fooled or tempted

Room Tip: Don't Go
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

This was our 4th time at Hoburne Torbay. Check in was quick and the park was clean as usual.
We didn't have the best week as my Son was poorly and had a nights stay in Torbay Hospital and then my husband was laid up with a bad back, but there is still plenty to do on site to keep the children occupied and happy.
The pool was never closed during our 7 night stay, or ever felt overcrowded. We finally braved the outdoor pool on the last day and it wasn't as cold as i was expecting.
The entertainment was great for the children, we don't stick around for the bingo so we tend to head back to the caravan around 8pm.
The soft play is great and both children love this.
The onsite takeaway is a little pricey, but there is a lovely Chinese out on the Dartmouth Road and a couple of takeaways that will deliver.
Paignton itself is lovely. During the summer there is normally something going on at the Green to keep the children entertained. We had just missed the regatta but they had children's week.
There is lots to do in the area. The Zoo is a short drive away. Torquay is close and there is a bus that you can get on the Dartmouth Road (opposite the Chinese) that will take you to Torquay, that way you can travel there stress free. You also pay a days travel and hop on and off when you like.
We did visit the Model Village in Babbacombe. We got our ticket validated so we could return with in 7 days. We went back the same day once it was dark to see it all lit up, it was lovely and well worth the visit.
We are hoping to return later in the year for a weekend and will definitely be back for another week next year!

Room Tip: I would try and choose a caravan towards the back of the park, we stayed in Kingfisher Way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloversgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.7 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton South - Brixham Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#19 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
13.6 mi away
Welcome Family Holiday Park
8.6 mi away
Devon Valley Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoburne Devon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoburne Devon Bay

Property: Hoburne Devon Bay
Address: Grange Road, Paignton TQ4 7JP, England (Formerly Hoburne Torbay)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoburne Devon Bay 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hoburne Devon Bay sits in a glorious location looking out towards the gorgeous Devon coast. A family favourite, Hoburne Devon Bay is one of our most popular holiday parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hoburne Devon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoburne Devon Bay Paignton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing