We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT AS GOOD AS OTHERS CLAIM IT TO BE”
Review of Hoburne Devon Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hoburne Devon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“NOT AS GOOD AS OTHERS CLAIM IT TO BE”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

After reading several reviews of this site it sounded the best in the area. However there were some nightmares awaiting us on our weeks holiday in the silver standard caravan. Firstly the TV is not as described - small ! The parking on the site is poor and on many occasions we were forced to park a long way from the accommodation. It seems that there is no control over visitors etc parking on the site - seems a favourable alternative to beach parking charges !! On one occasion we saw three car loads turn up to visit someone in another caravan on site . Those three cars stayed for three days.
The caravans seem tightly packed and at night you can hear all sorts of activities going on elsewhere.
Lack of footpaths leads to people taking shortcuts through the caravans and there was plenty of rowdy drunken behaviour late at night.

As for entertainment - well it was the worst ever . On the Thursday the resident entertainers did a stint - they needn't of bothered - very amateur - the lack of applause said it all. Spend some money and get some decent entertainment in. As for the club security - a waste of time and money - people from everywhere were sneaking in round the back and up the rear stairs.

A waste of time and money - don't be fooled or tempted

Room Tip: Don't Go
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    158
    48
    17
    17
See reviews for
418
75
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This was our 4th time at Hoburne Torbay. Check in was quick and the park was clean as usual.
We didn't have the best week as my Son was poorly and had a nights stay in Torbay Hospital and then my husband was laid up with a bad back, but there is still plenty to do on site to keep the children occupied and happy.
The pool was never closed during our 7 night stay, or ever felt overcrowded. We finally braved the outdoor pool on the last day and it wasn't as cold as i was expecting.
The entertainment was great for the children, we don't stick around for the bingo so we tend to head back to the caravan around 8pm.
The soft play is great and both children love this.
The onsite takeaway is a little pricey, but there is a lovely Chinese out on the Dartmouth Road and a couple of takeaways that will deliver.
Paignton itself is lovely. During the summer there is normally something going on at the Green to keep the children entertained. We had just missed the regatta but they had children's week.
There is lots to do in the area. The Zoo is a short drive away. Torquay is close and there is a bus that you can get on the Dartmouth Road (opposite the Chinese) that will take you to Torquay, that way you can travel there stress free. You also pay a days travel and hop on and off when you like.
We did visit the Model Village in Babbacombe. We got our ticket validated so we could return with in 7 days. We went back the same day once it was dark to see it all lit up, it was lovely and well worth the visit.
We are hoping to return later in the year for a weekend and will definitely be back for another week next year!

Room Tip: I would try and choose a caravan towards the back of the park, we stayed in Kingfisher Way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloversgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Just returned from a week at this site, well what cn i say....a week wasnt long enough!! I have 4 children 12,10,8 & 5 it was just perfect for all of them, entertainers were fab and the entertainment just kept flowing from 6pm u til 11pm. One thing i will say is club could do with being bit bigger for amount of caravans on site. Everyone was friendly and site ckean and tidy. We had private hire gold caravan through h and h caravans which was clean, with decking round and patio set just perfect with glorious weather we had too. This was our first visit but we will definitely being going again next year and for 2 weeks next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We have just returned from one weeks holiday, with children aged 11 and 14 and wished we had booked for two! Our accommodation was in a bronze caravan which was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed and I have to say we had a fantastic time. It is the first time we have been away with Hoburne and the site was beautiful and clean and very well set out, the caravan being great value for money! There is plenty to do in the area and the location of being in walking distance to Goodrington Sands was great.

Will definitely return to this holiday park in the future.


Mr & Mrs Smith Sheffield

Room Tip: We stayed on Chaffinch Way which was very close to the main reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesley s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Just got back from torbay and me,wife and 3 kids loved it! My tip would be paigton and torquay by day and stay at the park at night !all staff so friendly apart from the pool staff who looked liked they were sharing a bag of sherbet lemons as they all had sour faces! |The entertainers staff were good and duncan chaplin was funny as you like he could go further! Great park and we will return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

we had an ok holiday but feel the price we paid was way way over the top and i expected more. The double bedroom was a joke you could not move properly around the room as it was so small and the bed was an insult (you could feel the springs of the mattress) the single rooms were also very small.
Every morning we had to re hang the curtains as they kept coming off the rails, a simple stopper would solve this problem

The van was clean and they provided a hoover which was a good thought

Our caravan was very over looked due to the sloping of the site and we kept our curtains closed on one side of the van to prevent nosey neighbours. There was very little room to sit outside your van unless you paid more than we did and opted for a van with decking.

The site was very clean and they do a great job making sure this is the case.

The entertainment staff were fantastic working well together to give everyone a great time in the evenings.. The acts in the show each evening were very hit and miss a juggler guy sorry cant remember his name and a "comedian" were very very poor (the comedian was rude and offensive and did not consider the children in the audience at all ) but saying that a few people did find him funny but why i just dont know.
The best two acts over our two weeks had to be the welsh singer on the first Tuesday (sorry i cant remember his name) and Shane Ritchie Jnr they were both fantastic and am so glad we went into the club on these nights to see both guys

The pools were ok the outside one was very cold and because of this the inside one had to close a few times as it was full.

The restaurant was ok mass produced food not great quality but the portions were of a good size.

The people working in the shop need a lesson in customer service, and also need to learn that a smile would be a nice touch

I would not go back to this site, i thought paying the price i did i would have at least had a decent bed and hearing friends holiday stories on our return a 12 night cruise around the med would have been cheaper!!!!!

Room Tip: pay more than £1700 if you want a good nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We have just come back from 2 weeks at Hoburne Torbay.
We stayed in a sliver 3 bed which I think was over priced. The beds were very uncomfortable the size of the TV was an insult and the curtains kept coming off the rails, which I thought was just my van but also happened in my sisters and parents vans as well. The bedrooms were so small you could only walk between the beds sideways and had next to no storage but the van was clean and we were able to get in them earlier than stated in the brochure.

The park was clean and tidy but very overcrowded with vans and unless you have booked, which we came to the conclusion was a gold, with decking you had no where to sit out, as the site is on a slope and in some places very steep.

There were plenty of sun loungers around the pool, but not enough for the amount of people they had on site. The pool outside was very cold, which would be fine on a very hot day, but not when the weather wasn't great. The indoor pool was warm but very small, and a couple of times we went to go in and it was full so we had to go back later.

The reception staff were ok, but the staff in the shop were damn right ignorant apart from one guy who was friendly, one member of staff walked away from the counter when I approached so I had to wait for another staff member to come out from the back to serve me I would say she didn't see me but we made eye contact so she knew I was there, like I say they were very ignorant. The staff in the bar and the entertainment staff were very friendly and worked very hard. They could do with some entertainment for older children instead of just focusing on the younger ones. the rest of the staff though could do with a course on working on a holiday site to make holiday makers, who spend a lot of money, feel welcome and have fun.

The cabaret entertainment was very hit and miss, there was a juggler who was dreadful but the worse was a "comedian" and I use the word comedian very loosely, who was very right rude to a child who he got up on stage, the act was awful and I would strongly recommend to Hoburne that they ditch him. The best act of the fortnight was Shane Ritchie Jr who was brilliant, just a shame they didn't have more acts as good as him.
We had an ok holiday but wont go back to this site.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JDC72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paignton hotels
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
2.2 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 17 in Paignton
277 reviews
1.2 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
324 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#4 of 17 in Paignton
524 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rowcroft Lodge
Rowcroft Lodge
#59 of 96 in Paignton
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoburne Devon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoburne Devon Bay

Property: Hoburne Devon Bay
Address: Grange Road, Paignton TQ4 7JP, England (Formerly Hoburne Torbay)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoburne Devon Bay 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hoburne Devon Bay sits in a glorious location looking out towards the gorgeous Devon coast. A family favourite, Hoburne Devon Bay is one of our most popular holiday parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Hoburne Devon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoburne Devon Bay Paignton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing