We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hoburne Devon Bay
Nearby Hotels
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Palace(Paignton)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosslyn Hotel(Paignton)(Great Value!)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$81
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$48
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (666)
Filter reviews
666 results
Traveler rating
387
180
57
19
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
387
180
57
19
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindoor poolplatinum caravansammy the seahorsesun holidaywelcome packentertainment teamsoft playholiday parkwashing up liquidgoodrington sandsfamily holidaychanging facilitieson arrivalhaven siteclean caravanevening entertainmentnext year
Filter
Updating list...
631 - 636 of 666 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Hoburne Torbay, a home from home. It's exactly that. Me and my family went to Hoburne Torbay for the first time on 4th August. We stayed in a static, silver caravan. It was a disabled caravan. We stayed in caravan E10 in Eagle Meadow. The phrase 'home from home' describes exactly what Hobunre Torbay is all about. We were welcomed in the reception. The receptionists were extremely helpful. They gave us our keys and entertainment passes. We then went to our caravan where we were not disturbed once.

All being well, Cost cutter was just at the end of the street. Therefore, it was easy for us to get food, sun cream and other essentials. The caravan had a 'sun deck' but it didn't include any chairs or sunbeds. However, we brought our own garden chairs and BBQ. We could see the sea from the caravan. The TV had been upgraded to freeview. There was plenty storage and seating for us. The rooms were not cleaned throughout the week. We had to clean them ourselves. The company equipped us with a vacumm cleaner, a mop, a duster etc. Nobody from the company ever entered your caravan. However, a couple that stayed in the caravan before us had left something behind and they asked for it back. A lady from the company came to our caravan and knocked on the door. She was very polite and asked if we had seen them around the caravan. The words that stood out to me was "I asked for PERMISSION TO COME DOWN HERE" Somebody asking for permission to come and see you must make you feel special.

The entertainment is great for kids. At about 9:30pm there is a star cabaret. This is when people come in and perform. The Star Cabaret is extremely good quality.

The pools are great! The outdoor pool is a little too cold but the indoor pool has more things to do and is a lot warmer. The staff in the pool areas are extremely friendly and look after you to make sure you are safe.

There are lots of things to do in Devon even if the weather is terrible. I recommened: -
1. Paignton zoo
2. Dawlish
3. Salcombe
4. Paignton
5. The national aquarium (Plymouth)
6. Brixham
7. Youngs parl (Paignton)
8. Broad Sands (Paignton)
9. Goodrington Sands (Paignton)
10. Torquay
11. Cockington

I strongly recommened Hoburne Torbay. The area is very quiet and the caravans are really roomy. We stayed for 2 weeks therefore, we were back on 18th August 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Francesca179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Having experienced several caravan parks over the last 6 years, Park, Haven , Freshwater and Parkdean Sandford (on a very regular basis) we chose this site based on the excellent reviews given.
The good points first- website was excellent and gave a grading as to how old the caravans were, we decided on a 'newer' bronze rather than a mid age silver spec caravan. Spotlessly clean when we arrived and a nice touch to receive tea, coffe and basic cleaning essentials in the caravan. View was very poor facing a row if trees but we only treat the caravan as somewhere to sleep in and have breakfast so not a problem to us.
The location could not have been better as Paignton (5 minutes) Torquay (10 minutes) and Brixham about 15minutes drive away. I agree that the signs to the local beach (Goodrington sands) were very misleading, the quickest way we found was out of the front gates and not through the rear of the park. It was about 15 minutes walk with two toddlers so not too taxing really. The beach was excellent having cafe and toilet facilities at each end of the 1 mile stretch and only about 30 yards to the waters edge so we could keep an eye on our two (4 and 6 year olds). Behind the beach was a steam railway line and b ehind that was a large park with boating lake and bouncy castle etc.Nice bar area in the evening with a good selection (if a bit pricey) and the 'snack bar' had a better range than most parks visited. The outside pool was well maintained and clean and had sufficient sun loungers to keep everybody happy.

Not a lot to find fault with however the biggest downside was the evening entertainment for the adults, it started with two female bingo callers with speech impediments and what followed can only be described as a very poor week in terms of staff themed night shows and 'cabaret acts'. The kids didnt notice so long as they got their daily allowance of Sammy Seahorse but we are used to so much better at the likes of Parkdean who appear to have at least double the number of entertainment staff either on the stage or with the kids on the dancefloor. The stage was tiny in comparison to most we have seen.

Overall we had a very good time thanks to the weather and site location so may well go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitch177uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We are a family of five, two teenagers and a nine year old and we stayed at this park for 11 days in July 2012. Fortunately, we were blessed with hot, sunny weather! Overall we were very pleased with the park. We booked through H&H caravans after reading Tripadvisor reviews that this was cheaper than booking directly with the site. We were delighted with our Silver mobile home. It was eleven years old but had evidently been very well looked after and maintained. The caravan was spotless and was one of the best equipped units we had ever stayed in.

The site itself was very clean and well looked after. During our stay all the staff were very helpful and friendly. The pools were nice. I was too much of a softee to go into the outdoor pool but the children and daddy all had a great time splashing about. Our teenagers didn't make any friends - the site is probably more geared towards primary school children - but this didn't stop us having a great family holiday as there was lots to do in the surrounding area and we enjoyed many days out!

Our one criticism is in relation to the entertainment. It was advertised as family entertainment and we went along each night at 9.30pm to see the main act of the evening. We were disappointed that many of the entertainers - even singers - found it necessary to be crude (at times telling inappropriate jokes etc) and we felt this was unacceptable under the title of family entertainment. It was a real pity because in most cases the acts were very talented and were entertaining enough on their own merits. I did speak to Daniel, who organises the entertainment about this and appreciated that he listened very well.

Taking everything into account we would recommend this site.... and let's hope you get weather as good as ours!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aggies123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Worst caravan holiday ever normaly use Haven but thought the reviews for this park were good. Pool not a nice area, staff dont care sent my daughter down slide too early and she hit someone else who then shouted at her, just so he could shut slide quicker. Jacuzzi a joke as cold as pool. Restaurant served microwave rubbish for very high prices. Burnt pizzas from takeaway. Entertainment utter rubbish no proper kids cabaret shows. Drinks overpriced. Kids promised prizes for games on 1st night only ever seen badges and the same girl won twice in one night probably a regular. I was in amusements with kids on our last night and decided to have a little go myself, i didnt know what time it closed. They said it was shutting in 5 mins and a second late switched off all machines my winnings were still in. I complained to security and he said no refunds sorry. My son asked for last go on the next morning and i noticed when i was in there my money was still in the machine for anyone to play. Got mine out but kids were obviously playing other peoples. Dont normally get round to reviews but this place needs wrote about oh and i found mould in our shower room and our sink drainer yuk. Dont go we stayed off park as much as possible.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shelllley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Just returned from a Mon - Fri break. Reception staff very friendly and helpful. Able to check in early without any hassle. Not many companies offer midweek breaks in peak summer season, so were very pleased with Hoburne. We were offered the chance to stay another night for £35 if we wanted to, as caravan not booked. Were tempted, but husband's work commitments on the Saturday prevented this :(

Booked a Bronze 3 bed caravan as we were on a budget. Didn't expect much - but the caravan was very clean and smelt fresh on arrival and was much better than we expected for the money. Also, were very pleased to say that it had everything you needed - full range of kitchen equipment, pegs, airer etc., Clean bed linen and complimentary pack of basics (loo roll, tea/coffee/sugar/milk sachets, cleaning cloths etc) awaited us too. Something that we have usually had to pay extra for at many other sites.

Our teenage daughters were able to go off together and check out the arcade and pools etc. Felt a very safe site.

Views from outdoor pool area were lovely and used the outdoor pool quite a bit on the sunny days. Indoor pool clean and well supervised for the rainy days with a flume that works on the hour for 40 mins. We enjoyed the sauna and steam room which was great to have too.

Only negative - not enough seats or room in the entertainment lounge for the number of guests in peak season. Went along at 6:45pm thinking we would get a seat before it started at 7pm - absolutely packed, so didn't bother for rest of break.

Overall I would recommend this site - rules are in place - but has a relaxed/use common sense feel about the place which we liked. Inflatables were allowed in the outdoor pool, kids were allowed to have fun as long as no one takes it too far - which is how it should be!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diam0nd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoburneHolidays, Public Relations Manager at Hoburne Devon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Thank you for the lovely review! We're really pleased that you had a great time and you felt the park was clean and safe. It's really important to us that families, especially those with young/teenage children, feel safe on site and can let the kids go for a walk without worry. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews