We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful staff”
Review of Hoburne Devon Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hoburne Devon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very helpful staff”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed at the Hoburne Torbay through the £9.50 sun holidays promotion, check in isn't until 4 pm, we arrived at the holiday park at 11 am and was able to check in straight away!! The staff were very pleasant and helpful and couldn't do more for you!! The caravan we stayed in was a gold as we had upgraded and it was very clean!!!! When we arrived we got complimentary washing up liquid, dishcloth and tea and coffee. The beach was a 10 min walk away, which was a beautiful little beach. Overall we had a lovely break in a lovely caravan site!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoopyMancLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    158
    48
    17
    17
See reviews for
415
75
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We were looking for somewhere to stay in a static caravan in 2010 & stumbled upon this place on the internet. The pictures looked too good to be true but on this rare occasion, the park really is this good. After searching on google we found a company called H & H caravans who rent out serveral static units on the park. We booked with them and found ourselves in a nice, clean caravan complete with enclosed decking (this was a great safety comfort as the kids could play outside without any worry from us of them straying from the caravan. It was outside the kids holidays & we were blessed with a fantastic weeks weather, but me & the wife laid out on sun loungers around the outside pool while the kids played in the pool, all the time been able to look out over the bay & the sparkling sea...it really was just like been abroad. We had to pinch ourselves that we were still in the uk.
The park was clean & tidy, the entertainment on a night was a good mixture of things for the kids (disco's, games etc) & things later for the adults. To be honest, its not really our cup of tea, but the kids enjoyed it and that was the main thing. A ten minute walk takes you down to the nice beach.
Having stayed at several Haven & Park Resort sites, I have to say, this is by far the the best overall site we have come across. The location & views are brillant, what more could you ask for in a static caravan holiday in this country? We'd certainly go back & wouldn't hesitate in recommending it to others

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePottersYrok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Weve stayed here for the last 7-8 years now at easter as we have family close by. Its in a good location for all of torbay really, goodrington is within walking distance, and is excellent for kids and adults alike. Special mention for "inn on the quay" pub. 2 meals for £10 before 630pm and buy 1 get 1 half price on drinks, very reasonable - plus has a decent beach, arcades and a water park. The park itself is hilly so if you struggle with walking best to check your caravan on Hoburnes "park layout" PDF. Has a restaraunt on site, acceptable food, not so agreeable prices !!! Indoor pool excellent, with slide and mushroom fountain thing ! kids loved it, outdoor pool open on request out of season, again very good. Little arcade within the complex, complete with security knocking about, was happy to let our 10yr old wonder around on here own within the building no problem. Brilliant soft play area for the 2yr old, and 2 automatic bowing lanes, which for 1.50 per person is a good fun, especially if its throwing it down outside !!! My biggest gripe, £3.60 pint fosters, same for Strongbow, £3.45 for a small house wine £8.for a chicken baugette and 2 lots of chips!!! We werent the only ones bringing in large handbags during the day !!!! I dont mind paying them prices at night whilst playing cash bingo (which i won 1 night!!) but not sat on the decking outside during the day when the kids are on the park. nudge nudge, wink wink!!! When you get bored of hemeraging money in the machines and at the bar, an absolute must cheap day out if the weathers good is "Stoke Gabriel", a little village in the back of beyond (10mins from site really) - take a crab line and bucket, the kids were gutted when we had to leave, there must be 1000's of crabs there waiting to climb in your bucket, excellent fun. Plus a couple of little pubs/shops for lunch. excellent. There are far too many places to try and advise of if youve never been before, but what i did notice, the ferry from torqauy to brixham is £2 return !! excellent value, again only if the weathers good !!!!The penguin place is ok at £9 per adult, but your in and out in 1.5hrs. Allans chinese on the road coming in (near co-op) deserves a mention too, very nice for a night in. Lastly, theres a cracking coastal walk, head towards, and through the "waterside" caravan park (just accross form hoburne) and at the botom pickup the trail to either goodrington/paignton or Broadsands beach - DONT TAKE A PRAM OR YOUR GRANDMA though !!!! The views of the steamtrain passing and Torbay itself are priceless, unlike the ale in the clubhouse !!!!!

Room Tip: Shop around for a caravan, far cheaper than hoburne. Torbay caravans and H&H caravans are 2 we u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank boltonsfletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redruth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We have just returned from a four day break at this site by way of a national newspaper offer. We stayed in the basic mobile home which was quite adequate for us, and was close to the clubhouse on this hilly site which we wanted because of our advancing years! The mobile home was very clean on arrival, had 3 bedrooms which was more than adequate for just the two of us. It was equiped with a television, electric central heating (which we didn't expect) and well stocked with the usual kitchen equipment for our stay. Although we only used the Club in the evenings, the drinks and food were reasonably priced and the entertainment was good. The site is ideally situated for exploring the South Hams of Devon and we were very fortunate in having superb weather. My wife did use the indoor pool which she described as being both clean and with very warm water. The staff were very friendly and helpful so all in all there can only be good things to say about this site. If you go there, I hope you enjoy it as much as we did. Thank You, Holburne.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarharrackmanRedruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston Cor
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

My family and i have been staying at this site for the last 8 years. Over the years we have stayed in different caravans with H&H Caravans, and every time we have been, we have recieved great customer service from all members of staff on the park. After coming home for a week, we are missing it already. the park is conviniently situated, close to the steam train and zoo. You are never more than 5 minutes away from any attraction of Torbay.

I will always recommend H&H Caravans for their service and caravans on the park, we had a couple of problems with the heating, but was rectified during the time we were out the next day. The caravans on the park are well maintain as well as the site in general. Reception staff are as brilliant as ever.

Go and enjoy Torbay, with the comfort of good service when you get back to the park. See you next year!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

I took my family to Hoburne Torbay for a week during the school holidays. The site is conveniently located near to Goodrington. The beach is about a 10 minute walk away. The site is located on a hill and does have sea views but you do have to cross a busy road to get to the sea front. The beach at Goodrington is very clean and family friendly and very near to the train station where you can watch the steam trains as you sit on the beach. There are also a few little shops, a pub and a small park nearby. A little further along is Paignton which has far more to offer with a superb beach and plenty of shops, cafes, amusements and childrens entertainment. The Hoburne site is very convenient asTorquay and Brixham are also very near. The caravan site itself is not too large. There is a large outdoor swimming pool and a smaller indoor pool with a flume. There is also a small adventure park and a few amusements. The onsite club is quite small with a small dance area which my children felt very comfortable with, as at larger caravan parks they have felt too intimidated to get up to dance, but on this site they were on the dance floor every night. The entertainment was very good with a variety of acts both from the entertainments team and from outside acts. The day time entertainment for children is limited here and this is really the only negative.Larger operators such as Haven excel at day time entertainment and have many more activities for children. The night time entertainment at Hoburne though is excellent, and the Sammy the Seahorse character is a favourite with the children. If you are happy to use the onsite facilities such as the swimming pool during the day time or do your own thing and then enjoy the night time entertainment at Hoburne, then this site is excellent. Another bonus I found, was that the evening entertainment did not go on to the early hours of the morning. So you did not have noisy revellers going past your caravan in the early hours.(Some of you may find this a bad thing, but with two small children it was nice to get to sleep by midnight). I must also say that the site is very clean, the staff very friendly and the caravans are first class. The top of the range caravans such as gold and platinum have verandas which are a bonus when the weather is hot. I booked a platinum and it far exceeded my expectations. Friends have booked the silver grade and they found that to be excellent value for money.This was my first holiday with Hoburne and it definitely will not be the last. I have already booked for next year with the hope that the weather will be hot once again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We (my wife and I along with our 19 month old daughter) have returned home a couple of days ago from our 7 night holiday at Hoburne Torbay. We were greeted on arrival by Marina who was extremely polite and helpful. All of the staff that we met were fantastic. The caravan was clean and we didn't have any nasty surprises. The park was really well maintained and facilities were excellent. We will definitely stay here again next time we travel down to Devon. A definite recommendation from me!

Room Tip: We stayed in caravan L14 which was huge and had a balcony round the outside of the caravan with a de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Basketcase81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
1.6 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#4 of 17 in Paignton
522 reviews
1.2 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Whitehill Country Park
Whitehill Country Park
#3 of 24 in Paignton
406 reviews
14.4 mi away
Cofton Holidays
Cofton Holidays
#1 of 12 in Dawlish
845 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bronte Hotel
Bronte Hotel
#67 of 96 in Paignton
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoburne Devon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoburne Devon Bay

Property: Hoburne Devon Bay
Address: Grange Road, Paignton TQ4 7JP, England (Formerly Hoburne Torbay)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoburne Devon Bay 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hoburne Devon Bay sits in a glorious location looking out towards the gorgeous Devon coast. A family favourite, Hoburne Devon Bay is one of our most popular holiday parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Hoburne Devon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoburne Devon Bay Paignton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing