We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location with friendly staff”
Review of Hoburne Devon Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hoburne Devon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2011

I took my family to Hoburne Torbay for a week during the school holidays. The site is conveniently located near to Goodrington. The beach is about a 10 minute walk away. The site is located on a hill and does have sea views but you do have to cross a busy road to get to the sea front. The beach at Goodrington is very clean and family friendly and very near to the train station where you can watch the steam trains as you sit on the beach. There are also a few little shops, a pub and a small park nearby. A little further along is Paignton which has far more to offer with a superb beach and plenty of shops, cafes, amusements and childrens entertainment. The Hoburne site is very convenient asTorquay and Brixham are also very near. The caravan site itself is not too large. There is a large outdoor swimming pool and a smaller indoor pool with a flume. There is also a small adventure park and a few amusements. The onsite club is quite small with a small dance area which my children felt very comfortable with, as at larger caravan parks they have felt too intimidated to get up to dance, but on this site they were on the dance floor every night. The entertainment was very good with a variety of acts both from the entertainments team and from outside acts. The day time entertainment for children is limited here and this is really the only negative.Larger operators such as Haven excel at day time entertainment and have many more activities for children. The night time entertainment at Hoburne though is excellent, and the Sammy the Seahorse character is a favourite with the children. If you are happy to use the onsite facilities such as the swimming pool during the day time or do your own thing and then enjoy the night time entertainment at Hoburne, then this site is excellent. Another bonus I found, was that the evening entertainment did not go on to the early hours of the morning. So you did not have noisy revellers going past your caravan in the early hours.(Some of you may find this a bad thing, but with two small children it was nice to get to sleep by midnight). I must also say that the site is very clean, the staff very friendly and the caravans are first class. The top of the range caravans such as gold and platinum have verandas which are a bonus when the weather is hot. I booked a platinum and it far exceeded my expectations. Friends have booked the silver grade and they found that to be excellent value for money.This was my first holiday with Hoburne and it definitely will not be the last. I have already booked for next year with the hope that the weather will be hot once again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (643)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

632 - 638 of 643 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2011

We (my wife and I along with our 19 month old daughter) have returned home a couple of days ago from our 7 night holiday at Hoburne Torbay. We were greeted on arrival by Marina who was extremely polite and helpful. All of the staff that we met were fantastic. The caravan was clean and we didn't have any nasty surprises. The park was really well maintained and facilities were excellent. We will definitely stay here again next time we travel down to Devon. A definite recommendation from me!

Room Tip: We stayed in caravan L14 which was huge and had a balcony round the outside of the caravan with a de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Basketcase81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

We stayed on this site for a week at the end of August and thought it was very good. A late booking, we booked direct with the site and had chosen a Gold caravan, which was the best option available and looked lovely. We were then advised that we had been upgraded FOC to a Platignum caravan, which sounded great!

On arrival, we were not disappointed in the least. It was gorgeous! New, spotlessly clean and really comfortable. First class! Our only criticism (preference) was that the fridge and freezer would have been better the other way round (fridge at eye level, to save opening two cupboard doors), so that is how good it was!

Site is lovely, very clean, and there are ample facilities on site and nearby. Goodrington Sands are a pleasant walk away, as was the nearby leisure centre. Paignton is a bit further on. Lots more within driving distance.

The entertainment wasn't to our particular taste but the function room was packed every evening, so was obviously popular. Went along for a quiz night, but that was a let down (12 questions...!). Our ten-year old loved the pools and the amusement arcade, plus the neighbouring driving range.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

As mentioned by someone else, the one downside was the extremely noisy seagull population, who welcomed dawn in every morning :-(

Would recommend Paignton Zoo, Babbacombe Model Village and Woodlands Leisure Park for visits. Also, for a fabulous pub meal out, a must is the The Hare and Hounds on Torquay Road, Kingskerswell, Newton Abbot. Carvery, regular menu, plus dessert trolley to die for! :-D

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JnKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

History: This is was my 3rd "static" stay at Hoburne, the last one was about 9 years ago, my very first visit though was as a kid (my parents were the very first tourers when it opened).

I stayed this weekend 23-25th Sept 2011, as part of a Sun holiday promo, this was'nt my first choice but we still had a good time, anyway in brief here's what I thought:

Good: Excellent accomodation in a fantastic location, booking in was quick & easy, staff were very friendly and professional, the cleaner did a fantastic job (just a pity the windows are a bit dirty), no gas all electric, welcome pack a very clever & cheap way of making new arrivals very welcome, everything was in the van that you would need, which included a hoover, ironing board, toaster etc,etc and the park is located within 10-15 minutes of Brixham, paignton & Torquay.

The bad; restuarant size, pricing & opening time, amusements area,
poor signage and opening times (I had to ask a receptionist what time the restaurant opened), it is a hilly site so very unsuitable for wheel chairs etc & the direction regarding sat nav instructions is correct; drive with caution.

The ugly: paying the outstanding balance prior to arrival is a farce, I had confirmation, this then had to be sent back so that a reference number and phone number could be sent to me, so that I could settle up ?.

Hint/advice; If you want a nice meal before 7pm and at a decent price, I can heartily recommend the Inn on the Quay on the goodrington sea front, it is a very large establishment that serves excellent food more reasonably than in Hoburne's restuarant, e.g; Lasagna classico (hoburn) inc bread & salad, Inn on the quay; lasagne, chips, bread & salad for less, and the pie with proper pastry was a lot cheaper, do book though as for some strange reason it can get busy.

Hoburne Torbay is a great holiday park which I would highly recommend, it does however need to bring it's main complex into this century though & also needs to be more competitive when it comes to it's resturant.

I'd definetly go back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Turboman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

I have been staying here at regular intervals since 1983 (i was 11) and this site improves all the time, only slightly dissapointing thing is they no longer have Live Bands as entertainment, but then i suppose that's just catering to the younger generation these days

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank broomy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Stayed at the beginning of August for a week with a caravan rented from H&H Caravans. The caravan was top of the range, spotlessly clean and cheaper than renting directly from the holiday park. It was also in a really good location, only a few minutes walk from the main entertainment complex.
The site was great - beautiful views down to the sea and lots of wildlife - although the seagulls were very loud in the early morning but they seem to be a bit of a pest everywhere in this part of Devon. The walk down to the beach is about 15 minutes through a field and then past a leisure centre.
We really enjoyed both the indoor and outdoor pools, although they could have been a little warmer, and the childrens playground was pretty good. The complex felt secure in the evening so the kids could go off by themselves while we watched the entertainment in the bar, which had an outside deck overlooking the playground. As it was during the school holidays you had to wait for a table to become free some evenings - it was fine, you just had to be eagled-eyed and move quickly!! The staff were all very friendly and helpful, the bar staff especially were very efficient and you never had to wait long for a drink.
I would definitely visit a Hoburne site again.

Room Tip: Eagle Meadow - perfectly located half way between the entertainment complex and the on-site shop
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BeeBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Just come back from a week at Hoburne Torbay. We were very disappointed with our caravan, it was dirty (dirty windows, covers on bed hadn't been washed, mouldy shower, smell in living room/kitchen which came from the grease in the oven, used teabags on the ground by steps for caravan and used barbeque underneath caravan. The double bed was really uncomfortable. Housekeeping did come and clean the oven for us and maintenance came and took away the barbeque etc when we asked.

The swimming pool changing area was dirty and we never saw anyone cleaning it.

However, our children loved Sammy the seahorse and the entertainments, they also really enjoyed the soft play area and outside play area.

We visited Hoburne Naish in May and really enjoyed it (we stayed in a private caravan then). Wouldn't return to Hoburne Torbay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynz73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
0.5 mi away
Beverley Holidays
Beverley Holidays
#3 of 26 in Paignton
884 reviews
1.8 mi away
Whitehill Country Park
Whitehill Country Park
#2 of 26 in Paignton
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Devon Hills Holiday Village
13.5 mi away
Welcome Family Holiday Park
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoburne Devon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoburne Devon Bay

Address: Grange Road, Paignton TQ4 7JP, England (Formerly Hoburne Torbay)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Paignton
Price Range: $79 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoburne Devon Bay 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hoburne Devon Bay sits in a glorious location looking out towards the gorgeous Devon coast. A family favourite, Hoburne Devon Bay is one of our most popular holiday parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hoburne Devon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoburne Devon Bay Paignton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing