We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Coach House

The Coach House
Ranked #118 of 181 Restaurants in Paignton
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Reservations, Seating
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lovely pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

I love this pub my family live in Devon this is there local ! Always a good night live music good beer off the holiday radar ! More locals which are friendly look forward to returning

Helpful?
1 Thank E16e16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    3
    0
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Local's Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Have been visiting this Pub for many years, always had good beers and food, The owner, staff and clientele have always been friendly and helpful.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank DelB0y1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good beer and Home Cooked meals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Coach House has recently started doing Sunday Dinners, though speaking to the staff the kitchens will be opening soon for weekday meals. That aside the Sunday Roast was fantastic, with good sized portions even people with large appetites like myself would be happy with. All food was freshly prepared none of the frozen veg, or powdered gravy you usually find in pubs. Even the desserts were home cooked i had the apple crumble (which i highly recommend) and my wife had a sponge cake which she said was very nice.
The bar has a good range of drinks, as an ale drinker their Otter Ale quenched the thirst, and my wife has a choice of wines. The atmosphere in the pub is good, a friendly little place with welcoming staff who make you feel at home. A pleasant change to other bars which just take your money and that's all.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank james m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Pleasant pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is a nice, comfortable place, with a good range of drinks, and a very friendly landlord. Unfortunately, they're still not serving food but, hopefully, this will soon be rectified. However, if you're looking for somewhere which offers a friendly pint, you'll not find much better.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“terrible bar staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We visited this pub a few months ago for breakfast when we recently moved to Paignton as it came recommended by a local taxi driver. the food was average with tinned soggy mushrooms.
I decided to try again one evening and invited a friend but were greeted by a miserable faced elderly women behind the bar who when we asked if there were and drink promotions the huffy reply was ' there they are' and a reluctant point to a row of spirits with no prices before walking away. We will not be visiting again unless the women in question has retired perhaps she should have a change of career as she should certainly not be dealing with the public

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank mrsmac237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coach House also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Brixham, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Been to The Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing