We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's like meeting up with old friends”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Trentham Guest House
Ranked #17 of 100 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It's like meeting up with old friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We're just back from an 8 night stay at Trentham with Joanne & Tyron and as before it was an absolute pleasure. Coming back for the 2nd time was like meeting up & staying with old friends. Joanne's breakfasts are fantastic & there's so much choice each morning. Rooms are wonderful and spotlessly clean & both Joanne & Tyron go out of their way to make your stay perfect, even Tyron adjusts his terrible jokes to suit any occasion !!! Thank you both so much for a great stay & all three of us look forward to another night sat on the patio with more of that wonderful Rose beer you like so much ! :-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyron-Joanne, Owner at Trentham Guest House, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thanks again for your kind words - especially glad you like the jokes, they take a lot of practice!! Feel free to bring more of that pink beer next time (so long as you don't mind our friend Paul drinking it all - he just loves it) Hope to see you all again very soon xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
89
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Second time we have stayed here & once again we were not disappointed. Ideally located just off the seafront in a quiet cul-de-sac with parking not being an issue. Rooms were clean & comfortable with tea, coffee, biscuits etc replenished daily. The breakfast couldn't be faulted with cereals, crumpets, pancakes, fresh fruit & yoghurts all available alongside a great full english with as much toast, tea & coffee as you want. But what makes this guesthouse so great are the proprietors Tyrone & Joanne, a lovely & genuine couple who really can't do enough for you & make you feel so welcome, by the end of your stay they will feel like good friends who you feel you have known longer than a week or so. Would not hesitate to recommend Trentham Guesthouse to anybody looking for a value for money place to stay in Paignton, a little gem made all the better by having a great couple looking after you. Already looking forward to staying here again sometime !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyron-Joanne, Owner at Trentham Guest House, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thanks again Jo and Steph for your company and your friendship. We are so glad you found us last year for your honeymoon and even happier that you came back for your first anniversary. Hope you can make it every year!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

few minutes away from the Green (central lawn in front of the sea) - calm if not for the seagulls. The owners are very friendly and helpful - that's why the guesthouse is booked way in advance! the breakfast is heated rather than cooked, but there's a wide range of fruits, muesli and you can always ask for something you really need i guess.
the rooms are clean and cozy, but do not expect the sea view or anything similar=) it's fun to stay in real English house if you are a foreigner, so go for it.
and don't worry about having something to read - they got all Agatha Christie's novels waiting for you in the living room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zirf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyron-Joanne, Owner at Trentham Guest House, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are glad you had a positive experience. Unfortunately we do not have rooms with a sea view. As you now know, we are just one street from the sea front but in a lovely quiet little cul-de-sac which we chose very carefully when we were buying, so we are close to everything without all the busy traffic and unaffected by pubs and clubs at closing time. You are quite correct when you say we will cook anything to order and I remember that you went for a vegetarian option, most of which were tinned varieties rather than fresh which you could have selected and I remember you asking if the hash browns were home-made. Unfortunately this is just not practical in a five-bedroom guest house so we do go for the frozen ones, but if you were to stay with us again then I'm willing to have a go at home cooked hash browns - anything to make you happy. Glad also that you were impressed by the Agatha Christie collection, we are close now to the full set and lots of our guests now bring along second-hand copies to add to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for an affordable, friendly, clean guest house near the beach then this is the one. All of the above plus the friendliest hosts, Joanne & Tyrone who went out of their way to make our stay memorable. Breakfasts were cooked to perfection and served with a smile. The family room was comfortable with bunk beds for the kids and lots of extra touches such as shampoo & conditioner, tea & coffee, bottled water, sweets and a cuddly toy for the kids. Joanne & Tyrone also arranged free parking for the duration of our stay. All in all a great guest house and one we would definitely choose again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyron-Joanne, Owner at Trentham Guest House, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thanks Peter for your review. You have a lovely family - it was a pleasure to meet you all and to try to entertain the children. We very much hope you can stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

From the moment we arrived Tyron and Joanne made us feel relaxed and were very welcoming. Throughout the whole of the stay they were very friendly and couldn't do enough for us - nothing was a problem. The room was lovely and homely, with plenty of refreshments available and very clean. The weather was fantastic, the location was ideal as it is only a small walk to the front of Paignton and the breakfast certainly will set you up for the day. Tyron's sense of humour had us in stitches!! We enjoyed this break so much that we have already booked for October. See you soon Tyron and Joanne :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LornaRuncorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyron-Joanne, Owner at Trentham Guest House, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hi Lorna, thanks for writing a review. We had a great time with you and Robbie, along with Ian & Ali from Barnsley. It's always nice to make new friends and I think we all just 'clicked' straight away. See you in October and hopefully everybody can come for the same week again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

we've just stayed at the guest for 7 nights. got to say fantastic hosts, we were met outside on arrival, ty and jo the hosts took our bags to our room. the room was lovely and clean, comfortable with tea, coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits, and bottled water. the breakfast was well presented, delicious and very adequate. there were fresh fruit, cereal or a full English breakfast to choose from. the guest house is within 5 minutes of walking to the beech and town centre shopping. will be definitely booking for next year. would recommend trentham to anyone. warm friendly and very comfortable. thanks ty and jo for a fantastic week, see u both real soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iwatkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyron-Joanne, Owner at Trentham Guest House, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thanks Ian & Ali for your review, but more importantly for your company. I think we enjoyed your stay with us as much as you did and we are looking forward to your next visit. GREAT FUN!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights July 5-7, so close to the sea and town centre, lovely welcome by Tyron and Joanne upon arrival. Room lovely, clean, comfortable with tea/coffee/hot chocolate/bottled water and biscuits. Cooked breakfast every morning was delicious, plenty of other choices for anyone not wanting a cooked breakfast. Cant wait to go again, next time for a week, I certainly would recommend Trentham to anyone wishing a relaxed, friendly, comfortable place to stay in Paignton.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyron-Joanne, Owner at Trentham Guest House, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you both for your wonderful reviews (including the one on Booking.com). It was lovely to meet you both and we hope you can make that week-long break next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#4 of 18 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 18 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Waters Lodge
Blue Waters Lodge
#2 of 100 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Merritt House
Merritt House
#6 of 100 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.6 mi away
Two Beaches
Two Beaches
#1 of 100 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.6 mi away
Easton Court Guesthouse
Easton Court Guesthouse
#16 of 100 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trentham Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trentham Guest House

Property: Trentham Guest House
Address: 6 Norman Road, Paignton TQ3 2BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Trentham Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run bed and breakfast. Small and friendly, we do our best to make your holiday enjoyable. Double and twin en-suite rooms. Close to seafront, beach, shops, pubs etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trentham Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trentham Guest House Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing