We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent Stay”
Review of Minerva

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paignton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Minerva
Ranked #76 of 97 Paignton B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This was our 4th stay in the Minerva and, as before, had an excellent time with a very clean, well equipped bedroom and superb (and large) breakfasts.

Dave & Rachel are excellent hosts and the advice they give re local amenities and restaurants can't be faulted.

Looking forward to returning when they have their Steakhouse open.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 15 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

Having stayed in the Minerva the previous week and enjoying an excellent stay we needed help when the Guest House my daughter had booked in Paignton was far below the standard that anyone would call acceptable (shared bathrom and toilet, family room on the third floor and bare plaster on the walls!). I turned to Rachael and Dave for help purely because they put the guests before profit and nothing is too much trouble.

Our daughters family can now stay somewhere which is clean, safe and friendly.

Would reccomend this lovely little place to anyone.....

Room Tip: Room 9 is very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed for four nights this week and were very impressed - spotlessly clean and well run - breakfast was perfect and we would definitely stay there again! Well done Rachel and Dave and we hope we see you in our part of the country soon :0)

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Debby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Have just returned from a two night stay and will definitely be returning, very friendly owners spotlessly clean modern room and great breakfast! Close to the sea front and shops, overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

wonderful welcome very clean room very friendly staff and a brilliant breakfast we have stayed 6 times and i love these guys Dave Rachael and her mum. are without doubt the most helpful people we have come accross in the b and b trade.

Room Tip: all rooms we have had in the past are clean clean clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

My daughter and i just spent 4 nights at the Minerva, we thought it was lovely and exceptionally clean and Rachael, Dave and Joan were really friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them, the Breakfast was superb with plenty of choice, you could have as little or as much as you liked. The hotel is ideally situated, close to the sea front by also near the shops and railway station. We had a fantastic time despite the rain!! We would definetely go back to Paignton and the Minerva again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

just spent the weekend at the Minerva,had room 10. The room was a spacious double with en-suit and very clean, this is the top room so there are 2 flights of stairs. They do have a stairlift to the first floor which is a great idea.
The beach is at one end of the road and round the corner from the shops at the other end. The breakfast was superb with plenty of choice, nothing was too much trouble. The only downside is parking only for 3 cars, you can park on the road but have to pay. I would definately stay there again and cannot fault the place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunseekers195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.6 mi away
Rosslyn Hotel
Rosslyn Hotel
#14 of 17 in Paignton
76 reviews
0.4 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
354 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Berry Hotel
Berry Hotel
#12 of 17 in Paignton
21 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.9 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#10 of 17 in Paignton
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minerva

Address: 3 Adelphi Road, Paignton TQ4 6AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range: $28 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Minerva is a 4star guest house as verified by visit Britain and is full of luxury.A beautifully newly decorated guest house, we feel is one of the best in Paignton Devon.It has comfortable bedrooms with all the amenities you would expect, individually decorated, with many extras to add to your enjoyment. All our rooms have en-suites, digital flat screen TVs with free view, DVD Players,Wifi, hairdryer, tea, coffee, biscuits, full central heating and a collection of complementary bathroom accessories .If you're like most of our guests, you will enjoy a full, hearty, English breakfast served with all the trimmings. Also toast, jams, marmalade, cereals, Tea, Coffee and fruit juices which are served in our spacious and newly decorated dining room. We are a non-smoking guest house but have a designated smoking area outside.Our en-suite rooms are Modern, and make for a comfortable and relaxing place to stay.We Love to have families to stay, we even have a dedicated family room, also on offer is a stair lift for our guests who struggle with stairs ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Minerva Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing