We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't stop raving about this place!”
Review of TJ's Restaurant

TJ's Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 183 Restaurants in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We pride ourselves on having a unique combination of menus; with our Tapas style menu consisting of over 25 smaller portion dishes that can be ordered individually as a starter or in multiples to provide a complete meal - a very social and interactive style of dining, promoting lively debate between couples, families or groups until a compromise is reached concluding everyones preferences. This runs alongside our 'Chefs One Plates Menu', vastly different in content, these main courses always including a succulent Steak. These frequently changing dishes focus on our chef's culinary and artistic skills creating thoughtfully flavoured and beautifully presented meals. Lovingly prepared to order, using, as often as possible locally sourced fresh seafood, meat and vegetables.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Can't stop raving about this place!”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Went to TJ's as they ranked so highly on TR and was not disappointed. Tucked away overlooking Paignton Harbour, it's a small, relaxed restaurant with a lovely balcony area which is perfect for a sunny meal (have a part covered area as well if you don't want to risk the English weather). We had booked our table on a Sunday evening and they were turning people away from about 8pm onwards as they were so busy. We had a lovely greeting and a hand written card on the table welcoming us there.

We had a steak and tapas for our mains and both were mouth watering. I ordered 3 tapas dishes which would have actually fed both of us - if you don't like wasting food I suggest just order 2 dishes ans then decide if you need more. The steak came with the largest onions rings I have ever seen and was beautifully presented.

Only negatives - service is slow (took over two hours for us to have a 2 course meal) but if you are not starving or in a rush then the view can keep you amused whilst you wait. Also whilst the main courses are good value we found the extra's price (think my Irish coffee was £5-6 which was almost as much as a dessert).

Overall excellent, they could probably just be slicker/more efficient (watching from our table we were both itching to get them organised!) but then that may take away from the homely charm.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    827
    100
    27
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paignton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent night with friends, superb service and great food”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

On Saturday night, we had the perfect evening, dinner with our best friends, great service, not rushed by the owners and excellent food. Probably the best venue of its type in Torbay.
The food is first class, would recommend to anyone wanting a great meal and a superb evening.
Mike Bryant

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank devonvilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous in every way, food, service, atmosphere ... All first class!”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

This is the 3rd year we've chosen to celebrate my husbands birthday at TJ's and every year seems to get better. The birthday banner, the friendliness, the atmosphere & view from the balcony, and the superb food, great choice and quality of all the dishes. The tapas selection is wonderful and adds a different dimension to normal restaurants. The best restaurant in Paignton! Would highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnitaMarriott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“anniversary celebration surprise”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

What a truely lovely evening! thankyou for the little extras such as the 'happy anniversary' decorations and the individualised note upon arrival.I had the sirloin...cooked to perfection and the chef accomodated my request to change the chip option...thankyou. Hubby had the seafood platter....always nervous when he does this as he is very opinionated about this dish as it varies so much between establishmnets. Suffice to say, he gave it 10/10...Phew! Sat outside, beautiful location on a warm early evening. Thankyou everyone for making it a special one.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1heather2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovley meal”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Me ,my mrs and 2 boys booked into tjs whilst holidaying in paignton after reading some great reviews on here.from the moment i phoned upto book, till the minute we left.It was a pleasureable experience which i would encourage anyone to try out.From the friendly accomodating service to the high standard of food it was truly a wonderfull meal.our boys loved it as we were sitting on the balcony area which overlooked the harbour.we had the tapas menu which i would recommend to anyone.its not a cheap and cheerful place but we dont mind paying for good food.very family friendly and we were made to feel most welcome.Many thanks tjs from myself and my family.

Helpful?
Thank Leeroy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TJ's Restaurant also viewed

Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Been to TJ's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing