We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome food and fun night!”
Review of TJ's Restaurant

TJ's Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 183 Restaurants in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We pride ourselves on having a unique combination of menus; with our Tapas style menu consisting of over 25 smaller portion dishes that can be ordered individually as a starter or in multiples to provide a complete meal - a very social and interactive style of dining, promoting lively debate between couples, families or groups until a compromise is reached concluding everyones preferences. This runs alongside our 'Chefs One Plates Menu', vastly different in content, these main courses always including a succulent Steak. These frequently changing dishes focus on our chef's culinary and artistic skills creating thoughtfully flavoured and beautifully presented meals. Lovingly prepared to order, using, as often as possible locally sourced fresh seafood, meat and vegetables.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome food and fun night!”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We were at the restaurant for a birthday party and did not know what to expect but we were amazed at the great food on offer. We also had a local singer playing guitar which really made they evening go with a bang. Although it's not a huge place, the setting was lovely overlooking the harbourside. They had a good selection of drinks and the service was outstanding. Definitely worth a return trip!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Darrensale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    829
    101
    27
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Awesome food and evening once again.”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This is a totally superb dining experience. The tapas style menu is varied, tasty and totally amazing both in taste and presentation.

We had some king prawns in garlic butter (amazing), battered calamari with lemon mayo, moules mariniere (stunning) and scallops wrapped in bacon.

Followed by their amazing home made puddings.....tiramisu with clotted cream - my fiancee had not had clotted cream as she's on her first visit to the UK from Las Vegas and apple crumble with clotted cream.

Service as ever is friendly and attentive and the view across the harbour and the bay to Torquay - where you can currently see The Wheel all lit up is stunning.

We visited on a Wed evening and they were almost full....which seems to be the case everytime I go regardless of the day or time of the year.

I've yet to try the wonderful looking a la carte menu - the December one looks especially wonderful - as the tapas dishes are just so flavoursome and varied.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Asharak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous place!”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We visited with family on a Saturday night and had a great evening. The atmosphere was good, the staff couldn't have been more helpful and the food was amazing! Something for everyone on the menu. We had a selection of tapas, at one point I thought we might have needed another table to fit it all on! So good we've booked our Chrsitmas 'do' here. Not much more to say really apart from you need to book - that speaks for itself! :0)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jody W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stunning location, stunning meal”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We felt welcomed here from the moment we walked in. Staff very friendly and although the restaurant offers high class and unusual food there is nothing stuffy or pretentious about it or the personnel. We were well out of the high season but all tables were taken by the time we finished and left. We did not go for the tapas but had a fabulous varied selection of fish to share for our starter which included prawns and mussels but in original sauces and presented beautifully. Our mains were also fish and again very different from the norm. The situation overlooking the sea and bay is the icing on the cake. Which brings me to the pudding - much too full really but shared (at their suggestion) an incredible sticky toffee pudding. Will definitely go back on our next visit to the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheJsRedditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good but room for improvement”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My wife and I visited last week for our anniversary, overall very good and we will probably return but there is room for improvement.
We wanted to eat tapas and ordered a couple of dishes as starters and some more as 'mains' this was made clear on ordering and the 2 dishes we ordered as starters duly arrived. We were thoroughly enjoying them when low and behold the staff arrived with our main course and started rearranging the table to make room for the dishes. Now call me old fashioned but I like to finish my starters before the mains arrive, as the food was all hot we (probably wrongly) said nothing and carried on with what had turned from an enjoyable evening into some form of speed eating.
I should have sent the mains back as we clearly weren't ready for them but then they would probably have spoiled. The rump steak dish was not the best, the largest strip being chewy and unedible.
Having said that the rest of the meal was very enjoyable and of good quality. We probably will return but if the service is rushed next time I will certainly speak up. As it was what was meant to be a leisurely evening was all over within an hour of entering which is why I have only given an average rating, it should and could be much better

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Indysassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TJ's Restaurant also viewed

Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Been to TJ's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing