We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Hospitality !”
Review of The Cherwood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cherwood
Ranked #25 of 96 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Port Glasgow
Level Contributor
122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 405 helpful votes
“Outstanding Hospitality !”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

stayed here whilst down in Paignton for a family wedding over the weekend, 8th-11th August and I must say This is a real gem of a Hotel. The owners Chris and Lisa, take customer care to a new level, making sure you never have to ask for anything because its already there for you ! Nothing is ever too much trouble, The rooms are spotless and spacious, comfortable beds, power shower, the lot. Superb range of Breakfast in the mornings and lots of it!.And frree wi-fi.
We would definitely say give the Cherwood a try if you plan to visit Paignton and the surrounding area, you wont regret it. Centrally situated absolutely ideal.
We would, and will, stay here again, many thanks !

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hoops-Morton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    20
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
54
76
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Street, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2014

A Fantastic Hotel , me and my 7 year old son went for 3 nights , Lisa and Chris were excellent hosts, fantastic room , so clean and tidy . My son had his own little side room with his own tv , which he was pleased about .the breakfast was excellent , we would definitely book again ,would highly recommend this hotel to family and Friends. Thankyou Lisa and Chris.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J02006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2014

A really great place to stay with lots to do and so close to the seafront. Chris and Lisa made us feel very welcome, the room was great and very comfortable. We will definitely book again and hopefully they will have the room for us. Even the kids enjoyed themselves

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leeod01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield Notts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Thank you to Chris and Lisa for accommodating us at their hotel. Our room was clean and very comfortable and the breakfast was very good. We were made welcome and the bonus of being able to park nearby was good. Nothing was too much trouble and we felt very relaxed. The fridge is a plus as was the tea and coffee making facilities. Good idea with the ceiling fan. The shower/toilet could do with more space. The position is spot on for town or beach. Will stay again, and tell our friends

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank britabroad01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Located nearby the Bling Bling of Torbay road, but also nestled close to Victoria Park & the Esplanade! Room was comfortable, well appointed and above average for your guest house expectations. I-Pod docking station, refrigerator, hairdryer, but no bottled water which was a shame. Bed was maybe Queen size (5'ft) at best when maybe more was expected? However, I did reserve at short notice so fair enough. Service friendly and accommodating and clearly the proprietors take a great deal of pride and care in their business.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Concierge001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed here for one night when my husband ran Torbay half marathon. Lisa welcomed us and made us feel that nothing was too much trouble. The room was spotless, comfortable and well equipped. The breakfast was fab and Lisa was the perfect hostess. Highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoBazSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

From the moment we arrived Lisa & Chris made us welcome, both our spotless rooms were ready before check in time, the hotel has a small and friendly can attitude to every thing, would not hesitate to recommend or stay again. Don't miss the fantastic breakfast!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.3 mi away
Wulfruna Hotel
Wulfruna Hotel
#14 of 17 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Torland Hotel
The Torland Hotel
#15 of 17 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.1 mi away
Berry Hotel
Berry Hotel
#17 of 17 in Paignton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rosslyn Hotel
Rosslyn Hotel
#12 of 17 in Paignton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.0 mi away
Devon House Guest House
Devon House Guest House
#15 of 96 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cherwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cherwood

Property: The Cherwood
Address: 26 Garfield Road, Paignton TQ4 6AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cherwood 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please phone us for the best rates....All rooms with en-suite shower room, guest house offering quality throughout. Free Wi-fi, Fridges and fans available on request,Hair Dryers,Ironing Facilities on request, LCD TVs, Parking Nearby at a cost of £4 for 24 hours,Children very welcome, 2 mins from the beach,5 mins from train/coach station. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Cherwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherwood Hotel Paignton
The Cherwood Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing